Posted by: bellissimanh | March 17, 2009

Living Well

Confession Time.. I did NOT learn my verses for this week. 😦 I generally work on them in the car and for one reason or another, I didn’t get them onto the ring with my memory work, so it didn’t happen. I’ll work on the same verses again for next week.

This has been one of those weeks, I guess. Joel and I began The Maker’s Diet last Monday, and it’s been a challenge! I’m loving it, but at the same time, it takes a lot more thought and preparation than just eating whatever’s in front of me. I’m trusting that once we get used to it, it will become easier. I hope so anyway.

I’m learning so much. Sometimes it feels as though my mind is on information overload. I’m soaking it all up like a sponge, and I can only pray that as needed, I’ll be able to squeeze and have the knowledge flow to the surface and be wrung out as I need it. 🙂

For the first time in a long time, I’m committed. Not to the Lord… thankfully that hasn’t waned over the past year… but committed to treating this temple He’s given me with more respect. I’ve been pushing aside promptings to gain some self-control. I would begin to exercise restraint in regards to my eating habits, and then would give up. I had every excuse in the book, but the bottom line is that I just didn’t want to change. I think a huge part of the problem is that the promises I kept making were to myself, and not to the Lord.

At this point, I’ve covenanted with HIM to take better care of this earthly shell He’s given me. If I break my promise now, I’m not just letting myself down — I’m letting the Lord down. Adonai. My Master. It gives the journey so much more significance and importance.

It should have been my attitude all along.

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all as unto the Lord, giving thanks to the God the Father through Him.”  Col. 3:17

I’m all for living well. How about you?

Responses

  1. Cheering you on, Heather!! I know you will do this and do it well.

    Leah

  2. You CAN do it! I’ve been on a mission to a healthier “me” since the beginning of the year. It has been slow..but steady and I have made some serious lifestyle changes related to my eating habits. It was hard..but now, a few months in, I feel like I have changed. I no longer am mourning the loss of the food that I loved so much…and I am also seeing the lbs melt away.

    Kristin

  3. Oh! Hurray! I am so happy for you. It makes a huge difference when we do it for Christ, and not ourselves. I think God is really dealing with His people about this issue – the issue of health and being good stewards of what we’re given… in all areas. It will get easier! You won’t even want that “fake food” after a while; it will seem gross to you and you will be able to tell a difference in how you feel. Lots of lovin to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

