Posted by: bellissimanh | March 17, 2009

Basking in the Son

My desk at work is on the north-east side of the office. That means that all the nice afternoon sunshine comes in the windows on the opposite side of the building from me.

This afternoon I had to discuss something with my boss for a bit, so I entered his office with Patches at my heels (typical). I sat in a leather wingback chair and she found a spot of carpet where the sun was just as warm and inviting as could be.

As I waited for Dave to check over some information I’d brought in for him to look at, I watched Patches. She tentatively worked herself in circles, trying to find the spot where she would get optimum sunshine. Then she laid down, her head resting on her front paws. Before long, she was stretching a bit, and then I could just watch the tension leave her body. With a deep sigh of contentment, her eyes closed and she rested in the sun. Basking.

I wanted to curl up next to her and sprawl out myself, but I’m guessing that such an action would not be on Dale Carnegie’s plan of “How to Win Friends and Influence People”… and my boss probably wouldn’t have been impressed.

Thankfully, I can always bask in the Son. 😉

When I open up His Word, I sometimes find myself circling. Maybe I read the same passage over and over, trying to wrap my head around its meaning. Other times I jump from place to place, as if trying to find just the right spot. Eventually I reach a place where I can lay my head down and rest at His feet, drinking in the Sonshine. It may require stretching… taking a little bit of extra effort to dig deeper and get at the meat of what His Word has to say to me, but it’s always worth it. And then… as I meditate on the Truth… on things that are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, of good report, virtuous and praiseworthy… His peace floods my spirit and soul. My heart is warmed by the personal touch of the Son, and I am content. Deeply content.

Spend some time basking in the Son today. You’ll love it!

“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.  The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:8-9

“This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” 1 John 1:5-7

“Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”” John 8:12

Responses

  1. I love this! When I see our cat looking for a patch of sun, I’llbe remided of soaking in the “son”.

  2. My do Toby does the same thing. Now each time I see him do that my mind will be drawn to the question of whether I’ll join him in basking.
    Blessings – Lisa

  3. Great tie-in between Patches and your relationship with the Son-drenched Word. Thanks.

    Blessings,

    Jim

  4. […] the day I went into the bathroom and took a brush to my hair. I glanced out the door and noticed Patches sitting there staring at me expectantly, her tail wagging to beat the band. I laughed, knowing […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

