Posted by: bellissimanh | March 9, 2009

Memory Monday

Want to learn more? Click HERE.

I’m going to start with the 5th stanza, because that seems to be where my memory begins to lose it… 🙂

Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end. Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law. Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart. Make me walk the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it. Incine my heart to Your testimonies, and not to covetousness.

Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things and revive me in Your way. Establish Your word to Your servant who is devoted to fearing You. Turn away my reproach, which I dread, for Your judgments are good. Behold I long for Your precepts. Revive me in Your righteousness.

Let Your mercies come also to me, O Lord, Your salvation according to Your word. So shall I have an answer for him who reproaches me, for I trust in Your word. And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth, for I have hoped in Your ordinances. So shall I keep Your law continually, forever and ever.

(insert brain freeze right here – I always have a hard time getting from here to the next verse for some reason)

And I will walk at liberty, for I seek Your precepts. I shall speak of Your testimonies also before kings and will not be ashamed. And I will delight myself in Your commandments, which I love. My hands also shall I lift up to Your commandments, which I love, and will meditate on Your statutes.

(also struggle getting from there to HERE:   )

Remember Your word to Your servant upon which You have caused me to hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life. The proud have me in great derision, yet I do not turn aside from Your law. I remembered Your judgments of old, O Lord, and have comforted myself.

Indignation has taken hold of me, because of the wicked who forsake Your law. Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage. I remember Your name in the night, O Lord, and I keep Your law. This has become mine, because I have kept Your precepts.

You are my portion, O Lord. I have said that I would keep Your word. I entreated Your favor with my whole heart; be merciful to me according to Your Word. I thought about my ways and turned my feet to Your testimonies. I made haste and did not delay to keep Your commandments.

(Psalm 119:33-60)

For whatever reason, there’s one line in particular above that I have a hard time remembering… “This has become mine, because I kept Your precepts.” I was thinking today that maybe the reason it’s so hard for me to remember is that I don’t really understand it. So I decided to look a bit deeper this afternoon.

I guess the big question for me is what does “this” refer to? What has become mine as a result of keeping His precepts?

There seem to be two schools of thought. The first says this “this” refers back to the verses prior… that it means comfort in affliction, life, the ability to sing songs of worship, the knack for remembering the name of the Lord when times get dark. I love that, don’t you? By keeping His Word, we can experience all of that and more!

Matthew Henry has kind of been my “go-to” guy with this particular Psalm. He agrees with the above, but adds a bit more stating, “Note, God’s work is its own wages. A heart to obey the will of God is a most valuable reward of obedience; and the more we do the more we may do, and shall do, in the service of God; the branch that bears fruit is made more fruitful, Jn. 15:2. 8. ” Love that too. 🙂

In keeping His precepts is found great delight.  I know it to be true from my own experience. When the Lord lays out a guideline, I can trust that He has done it for a purpose… and that He has my best in mind.

Ok… I just had to smile. I started “The Maker’s Diet” today and while I can’t follow it exactly (who can afford to buy all organic food?), I’m incorporating as much of it as is possible into my life. And it just makes SENSE. When God directed the Israelites to eat certain foods and stay away from others, He wasn’t just trying to be restrictive or test them to see if they would obey. He had specific reasons for setting out the boundaries that He did. He still does… not just for eating, but for everything else in life as well.

Is there a line that He’s asking you not to cross today? A situation in which He has spelled out some specific rules for you, or pointed you to a verse that gives instruction or a warning? Listen to Him!

And then you can say with the Psalmist, “This has become mine, because I kept Your precepts.”

Here’s what has become mine…

“After these things, the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision, saying, “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your exceedingly great reward.”  (Gen. 15:1)

He Himself is my exceedingly great reward. Though my faithless heart is prone to desire other things from time to time… He is all I need. My exceedingly great reward!

Here are my verses for next week:

“The cords of the wicked have bound me, but I have not forgotten Your law. At midnight I will rise to give thanks to You, because of Your righteous judgments. I am a companion of all who fear You, and of those who keep Your precepts. The earth, O LORD, is full of Your mercy; Teach me Your statutes.” (Psalm 119:61-64)

I hope that part about the wicked having me bound isn’t prophetic for me! 🙂

What are you memorizing? How is God using it in your life?

 

 

Responses

  1. You are so much like me. I have a hard time remembering verses if I don’t fully understand them. So out come the Greek and Hebrew reference books and several commentaries. This is the best way I’ve found to really dig in.

    Xandra


Leave a Reply

Categories

