Posted by: bellissimanh | March 2, 2009

Finder of Lost Things

A while back, I wrote a post about the story of the Prodigal. I mentioned then that there were more things that the Lord had placed on my heart that would wait for another day. I guess that’s today. 🙂

The story is found in Luke 15. I shared with you that I have been both of the sons this passage speaks of. I’ve been the Prodigal, but I’ve also been the judgmental older brother who couldn’t get past his own pride and self-centeredness to join in the celebration. That was an emotional post for me… one steeped in personal application — but aren’t they the best? 🙂

I love so  much about this parable. I love that the father loves the younger son back into the fold, not because he has earned that position, but simply because of grace. The father loves BOTH sons, whether they have served him or not. God loves me no more or less now that I am serving Him, than He did during those reckless years when I lived in “asotia“. It frees me from the guilt of the past, and keeps me humble regarding the life I live in the present.

“Now his older son was in the field. And as he came and drew near to the house, he heard the music and the dancing. So he called one of the servants and asked what these things meant. And he said to him, ‘Your brother has come, and because he has received himsafe and sound, your father has killed the fatted calf.’

“But he was angry and would not go in. Therefore his father came out and pleaded with him. So he answered and said to his father, ‘Lo, these many years I have been serving you; I never transgressed your commandment at any time; and yet you never gave me a young goat, that I might make merry with my friends. But as soon as this son of yours came, who has devoured your livelihood with harlots, you killed the fatted calf for him.’

“And he said to him, ‘Son, you are always with me, and all that I have is yours. It was right that we should make merry and be glad, for your brother was dead and is alive again, and was lost and is found.’” (Luke 15:25-32)

I talked quite a bit about the older son before, but recently picked up on this… Notice how the older brother refers to the younger? “As soon as this son of yours came…”  And the father’s gentle reply, “for your brother was dead, and is alive again…”  

I chuckled a bit at this, remembering all the times I have jokingly told Joel, “YOUR son” did such and such… but in this case, it isn’t a joke. It’s sad. The older son doesn’t even want to lay claim to his brother. And yet the father provides a gentle reminder… “Your brother.” I love that.

I remember hearing a sermon preached on this passage once and I learned something that I found fascinating. When the son “came to himself” and returned to his father, the father bestowed gifts on the son: a robe, a ring, and sandals for his feet. Here’s the significance…

1. “The Best Robe” – This was a sign of dignity and honor. I’m reminded of Joseph and his coat of many colors (Genesis 37:3) and his being clothed in fine linen by Pharoah (Gen. 41:42). Tamar was also given a robe of many colors, as was fitting for the daughter of a King (2 Samuel 13:18).

My Father has given me dignity and honor by clothing me in a robe of righteousness.

“I will greatly rejoice in the LORD, my soul shall be joyful in my God; For He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself with ornaments.” (Isaiah 61:10)

2. “A Ring” – The ring signifies authority. In Genesis 41:42, Joseph was given a ring, denoting the fact that he was second in command only to Pharoah.

Jesus has given believers authority, and one day we will reign with Him:

“And they sang a new song, saying, ‘You are worthy to take the scroll, adn to open its seals; For You were slain, and have redeemed us to God by Your Blood out of every tribe and tongue and nation, and have made us kings and priests to our God; and we shall reign on the earth.” (Rev. 5:9-10)

3. “Sandals” – Slaves didn’t wear shoes. The sandals indicated that the son was not a hired hand, but was a free man.

My sweet friends… we are FREE!

“No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his Master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” (John 15:15)

And this treasure from John 8:34:

“Jesus answered them, ‘Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.”

Can I get a hallelujah? HALLELUJAH!

Luke 15 is known as the Chaper of Lost Things. The lost sheep… the lost coin…. the lost son. I am so grateful that this chapter is etched in the pages of Scripture. I was SO lost… yet Jesus is the Finder of Lost Things.

“For the Son of Man came to seek and to save that which was lost.” (Matthew 18:11)

Thank You, Jesus!

***********************************************

Here are my verses for next week’s Memory Monday challenge:

“You are my portion, O LORD; I have said that I would keep Your words. I entreated Your favor with my whole heart; Be merciful to me according to Your word. I thought about my ways, and turned my feet to Your testimonies. I made hast and did not dely to keep Your commandments.” (Psalm 119:57-60)

***************************************

I had asked you to pray for my bff Lisa’s Dad recently. Thank you for your intercession. Walter went home to be with Jesus early Sunday morning. His passing from this life to the next was extremely peaceful. Please continue to pray for his family. Thank you.

Responses

  1. You might enjoy a wonderful book called The Prodigal God, by Timothy Keller. It’s great!

    Thanks for your post. Blessings…

  2. Beautiful post!! I love this parable. I am so very much the prodigal’s sister!!

    Leah

  3. At a time like this, thanks for this on the Prodical Son. I loved the study that out church did on this and it pointed out a lot of things to me. I too am a Prodical daughter and have been the “older brother”, forgetting I was once “slopping the pigs” We all need these reminders now and then that we really are no better than someone else. When you do one sin it is just as bad as all of them. No one sin is worse then the other.

  4. I’ve always liked that parable. There are so many things to learn from it.
    Last night I finished a book that was a historical novel. It takes place in Chicago shortly after the great fire and there are quite a few mentions of D.L. Moody. It said one of his favorite messages to give was on the Prodigal Son.

  5. This is so beautiful…the prodigal son is one of my favorite parables, and I never thought about the older brother not even wanting to claim the younger brother. Good thoughts.

  6. Amen sister! What a great post! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.

    I’m Melissa. I saw that you won the random drawing this month for Home Sanctuary and thought I’d stop in to say hello. Glad I stopped by. This is a great blog you have here. I will defininitely be visiting again! : )

    Blessings,
    -Melissa


Leave a Reply

Categories

