Posted by: bellissimanh | February 19, 2009

A Cup of Comfort

My bff Lisa is sitting in a hospital this morning… waiting. Waiting for news of her father’s critical condition. Waiting for something to happen. Waiting for sense to be made of the turmoil her world is in right now.

My heart is breaking for her. It will always remain a mystery to me how the Lord can intertwine the hearts of his children so tightly that when one suffers, both feel the pain. And yet today, my heart is heavy and burdened for my friend, and I feel her pain.

I have cried tears of joy with my sweet friend in recent months over the work the Lord is doing in her brother’s heart. Today I will shed tears of sadness with her. Whatever the circumstances, the Lord has gifted me with this beautiful woman as my sister, my confidant, my accountability partner, my encourager — my friend.

Robert South once said, “a true friend is the gift of God, and He only who made hearts can unite them. ” The Lord has given me Christmas and my birthday all rolled into one in my precious Lisa. He has united my heart with hers in a unique way that I find difficult to describe. It is a special union that is not common in this life.

I am asking you to pray fervently for my girl today, and for her family. Her Dad has suffered a stroke and bleeding to the brain. He is in the Special Care Unit of Maine Medical Center, and is heavily sedated and intubated. Because they want to keep his brain from being stimulated right now (due to swelling, I think), they can barely even go in the room with Walter, or touch him, or speak to him. They won’t know the extent of any brain damage until they are able to bring him out of the drug induced coma. I think that not knowing is sometimes worse than having the facts, and so I ask you to pray for Walter, but also for the family during this time when everything is uncertain, and they don’t know what the future holds. Please pray for wisdom, comfort, and for the sweet peace of God to flood their souls.

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea.
-Psalm 46:1-2

The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.
-Psalm 28:8

Be merciful to me, O LORD, for I am in distress; my eyes grow weak with sorrow, my soul and my body with grief.
-Psalm 31:9

But you, O LORD, be not far off; O my Strength, come quickly to help me.
-Psalm 22:19

The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace.
-Psalm 29:11

O my Strength, I watch for you; you, O God, are my fortress.
-Psalm 59:9

Summon your power, O God; show us your strength, O God, as you have done before.
-Psalm 68:28

My hand will sustain him; surely my arm will strengthen him.
-Psalm 89:21

The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.
-Psalm 118:14

My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.
-Psalm 119:28

*********************************

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
-Psalm 73:26

Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear this about your friend’s Dad. I’ll pray for her and her family.

  2. What a treasure you have in Lisa. I’m so grateful that she has you, and you have her. I’m lifting you all up in prayer now.
    Blessings – Lisa

  3. I’m enjoying all of your verses on strength. Perfect reminders.

    Kate

  4. Heather, I will go right now and pray for your Girl and her Dad. Thy will and thy way Father. Cling to Nahum 1:7. Lovingly, Yolanda

  5. What an incredible blessing to have a friend like that. I will be praying…

  6. I will say a prayer for your friend right now.

    It is truly amazing how God can bind us on earth together in fellowship – to be the unbreakable cords! Beautiful verses and reminders.

  7. I am so sorry and I will take a few moments and lift her up now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

