Posted by: bellissimanh | February 10, 2009

Sister Scriptures

My study of Ephesians has provided me with SO MUCH to chew on!  I could spend WEEKS studying verse 18 of Chapter 5 alone (Sailing Anyone?)!

I came across an interesting comparison that I thought was very cool. It’s a side by side reading of Ephesians 5:18-20 with Colossians 3:16-17.  Check this out!

ephesians-colossians

Notice that the main variable in these passages is the Holy Spirit vs. the holy Word of God. Everything that follows that command to be filled with the Spirit is basically a description of what a Spirit filled life will look like. The same is true of one who is filled with God’s Word (that whole “let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly thing? That’s a command too). 

The Lord gave us His holy Word AND His Holy Spirit… because He knew that we would need them both! I think that the parallel these passages point out makes it clear that a key to being filled with the Spirit, is also being filled with the Word.

My memory verses for last week (don’t you love the way God puts these pieces together for us?)

“Let Your mercies come also to me, Your salvation according to Your Word. So shall I have an answer for him who reproaches me, For I trust in Your Word. And take not the Word of truth utterly out of my mouth, for I have hoped in Your ordinances. So shall I keep Your law continually, Forever and ever.” (Psalm 119:41-44)

Responses

  1. Thank You Heather! This is great stuff!
    Blessings – Lisa

  2. That is very cool!

  3. I love how God’s word is just coming ALIVE to me more and more, oh how I praise His Name.

    Thank you Heather, good stuff!

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda


Leave a Reply

Categories

