Posted by: bellissimanh | January 30, 2009

Taking it In – Personalizing Scripture

A recent post by my sweet friend Tina over at Hope Springs Eternal reminded me of a practice I once had years ago. In an effort to take God’s Word and truly make it part of me and apply it to my life, I began to personalize Scripture. Have you ever done that?

Here’s my pattern. I would break the verse(s) down into phrases, and meditate on each phrase. As I prayed the Word back to the Lord, I would reflect on how He had proven it true in my life… or what He had promised me through it… what I needed to change or give to Him… what He was trying to tell me.

It’s been years since I did this, but Tina’s post reminded me how very important it is to not only read the Word, but to digest it as Jeremiah did…

“Your words were found, and I ate them,
      And Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart;
      For I am called by Your name,
      O LORD God of hosts. ” (Jeremiah 15:16)

I think it’s time to take the practice back up again, so from time to time, you’ll find my personalized verses here.

Like this one. It was written when I was pregnant with Noah (has it really been over 8 years since I’ve done this?) and we were in the middle of seeing Jasmine through her recovery.  It’s precious to me, not only because it reveals where my heart was during that time and the Lord’s faithfulness to me, but also because this particular passage happens to be Noah’s favorite right now.

Philippians 4:6-7

 

Be anxious for nothing – don’t worry yourself about anything… not what will happen in the future with Jasmine… not the birth of this new baby or how you will handle labor…  not financial difficulties… not managing time when life gets hectic…  these things are self-centered and counterproductive…

 

but in everything – in all things… regardless of what the circumstances…

 

by prayer – prayer and anxiety are opposing forces in Christian experience… I would do much better to pray, alleviating worry and anxiety than to stress about things I really can’t control…

 

and petition – I will ask of the Lord… I will come before Him and make known to Him verbally the desires of my heart… I will lay my burdens at His feet…

 

with thanksgiving – this is the antidote to worry and I will ever be grateful for all the Lord has done for me, and has yet to do in my life…

 

present – give, bestow upon, place at His feet…

 

your requests – what it is that is eating me… those things that He has told me not to handle on my own… realizing that there is no request too small or insignificant for Him… I can come to Him with anything and know that He hears my voice and is hearkening unto my cry…

 

to God – My Heavenly Father who cares for me and loves me like no other… the keeper of the stars as well as my heart… my Savior and my King…

 

And the peace of God – peace not as the world gives, but an everlasting peace… one that surpasses any I’ve ever known… a peace that can calm the soul and still the raging storms in my heart…  from the author of the words, “Peace, be still”…

 

Which transcends all understanding – this peace that even the most intellectual of human minds cannot fathom… that eludes the most insightful and comprehensive men of our time…

 

Will guard – it will keep watch over… it will act as a fortress for me against life’s storms… it will be a safe tower…

 

Your hearts – the deepest part of me that aches with longing for tranquility…

 

And minds – the part of me that questions endlessly things that it’s not my place to know… the part of me that thinks too much… trying to take care of things by myself… the part of me that causes me so much trouble when I let it become MY mind instead of the mind of Christ…

 

In Christ Jesus – all of this is possible through my Redeemer Jesus… in the power of the risen Lord who is coming again someday to take me home… my Savior and the Love of my life… I will forever adore Him for what He’s done for me and for who He is…

 

It still holds true today… 8 years later. How I love Him!

How about you? C’mon… pick a verse and “break it down, now!” Leave it in the comments section… or on your own blog. 🙂

Responses

  1. I haven’t done this for awhile and I need to do it again. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I like what you wrote here: “In an effort to take God’s Word and truly make it part of me and apply it to my life, I began to personalize Scripture.”

    So, I have a question for you.

    What are your thoughts about my blog entry about Yeshua HaMashiach?

    http://777denny.wordpress.com/2009/01/09/grapejuice-evangelicalism-versus-jesus-christ-the-gift-of-eternal-life/

    Thank you,
    777denny

    James 2:1-13
    1 Timothy 4:16
    Luke 15:4
    1 Timothy 1:3-7
    Titus 1:9

  3. Great idea!! Thanks for sharing!

    Leah

  4. I love this approach. I sometimes write things like this in the margins of my bible for a passage that really speaks to me. Thanks dear friend!
    Blessings – Lisa

  5. I like this approach. I’ve seen it before but never really internalized it; something I need to start doing if I want to deepen my relationship with Christ.

    Oh, and I just read your daughter’s story for the first time and…WOW. God is amazing.

  6. Thank you. I’m printing this for my Sunday school
    class. This was today’s memory verse. And we talked about how to pray to God. This will be a good example for my kiddos’s.

    Love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

