Posted by: bellissimanh | January 28, 2009

Puzzle Pieces

puzzle20pieces

The Lord has me studying in a few different places lately, and it never ceases to amaze me how they all tend to tie in with one another. I love to think of the Bible like a huge jigsaw puzzle… all the pieces fit together perfectly. When you first dump the whole thing out of the box and onto the table, it’s hard to know what goes where. Sometimes it seems as though you just can’t match any of it up, and other times it’s as if you get on a roll and discover a whole section completed and the picture starts to emerge from what was once a chaotic mess.

I love it when pieces come together!

I wrote a little about the passage on the Prodigal son last week. Later, when I was studying Ephesians, I came across this tidbit:

“And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit…” (Ephesians 5:18)

There is so much I could tell you about what I learned, just in this one verse, and maybe I will share some of that later… but for now, I just want to look at the way it ties in with the prodigal.

The word for “dissipation” in this verse is “asotia”. It’s a combination of two things — “a”, which equals a negative, and “sotia”, which means “save.” Basically, the idea is that of something devoid of saving quality.  It is the picture of having no hope of safety, then describing the act of one who has abandoned himself to such reckless behavior. Asotia conveys the idea of waste that is irretrievable.

And it’s the same word used in Luke 15:13:

“And not many days after, the younger son gathered all together, journeyed to a far country, and there wasted his possessions with prodigal living.”

While I was still mulling over the lessons for me in the prodigal’s story, the Lord brought this word, “asotia” to the forefront again, in a totally different (and seemingly unrelated) portion of Scripture. Cool, no?

An asotos or prodigal is one who spends too much, who slides easily under the fatal influence of flatterers and the temptations with which she has surrounded herself into spending freely on her own lusts and appetites. It describes behavior which shows a lack of concern or thought for the consequences of an action as seen with senseless or reckless deeds.

I don’t know about you, but I want to avoid this!

The antidote? It’s found in the same verse. “…but be filled with the Spirit.” Now there’s a topic and a half! The bottom line is this… what controls you? Is it your own selfish desires? Or is it the Holy Spirit living in you?

These are some serious questions I’m pondering…

Who or what am I controlled by?

Is there any behavior in my life that shows a lack of concern or thought for the consequences of my actions? How about my speech? Do I really think about how the things I say are going to affect those who receive them?

Is there an attitude in my heart that is devoid of saving quality? Something that isn’t consistent with the holiness of my Father?

Am I living completely filled with the Spirit, or am I too busy to notice that there could be so much more abundance in this life I live in Christ? (and I’m not talking material abundance, but of the spiritual riches that are mine in Him)

We all received the Holy Spirit on the day we gave our hearts and lives to the Lord… and yet Paul is commanding us here to be filled with the Spirit — literally, to “keep being filled.” What does that look like?

I’ve found three different ways to describe what it means to be filled with the Spirit. I can’t wait to share them with you tomorrow!

Responses

  1. That is one of my daily prayers…that I would be filled with the Holy Spirit and that my actions would reflect His presence.

    Xandra

  2. Wonderful post!! So much of what you shared is in my “Legacy” message that I gave this past weekend in Florida. It is a message that the Lord beat me half to death with for many years before it ever became something to speak forth to others.

    I so long to leave a godly legacy and the things you wrote about are part of our legacies.

    Leah

  3. Excellent post…I want this for my life. Thank you for all the research as well

  4. […] or less now that I am serving Him, than He did during those reckless years when I lived in “asotia“. It frees me from the guilt of the past, and keeps me humble regarding the life I live in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

