Posted by: bellissimanh | January 22, 2009

I’m a Snob.

I’ve mentioned before that my Thursday group is doing a Jennifer Rothschild Bible Study.  Now I’m going to admit something to you all.

I’m a spiritual snob. Ugh. I said it. I even turned my nose up at the first Women of Faith conference I attended because I was used to something much more… intense. I’m a student — always have been. I love to dig… deeply.

And I think that Beth Moore has completely spoiled me for other teachers! I love, love, LOVE me a Beth Moore study! I love the way she helps me tear the Word apart, as if mining for gold. I love that she gets to the Greek and Hebrew languages to extract the true meaning of the phrases we find in Scripture. I love that she “connects the dots” so well, as if putting pieces of a huge puzzle together… matching up Old Testament Scriptures with the New, and really pulling it int perfect harmony and unity (after she tears it apart!)

Our group did a series of Beth Moore studies, and then decided to try something different. We went through “He Speaks to Me” by Priscilla Shirer, and then we began this series by Jennifer Rothschild, “The Fingerprints of God.”

Now let me preface this by saying that I heard Jennifer speak at a Women of Faith conference one year and she blew me away. The Lord spoke so powerfully through her to this mother’s heart that I kid you not… I’ve not been the same since. I bought all of her books and LOVED them.

But the Bible study — it just wasn’t what I was used to, I guess. I was looking for meat and it felt like milk. I know that the other girls in my study were LOVING it, and so I prayed that the Lord would change my heart.

“I hate being such a snob, Lord. Why am I not enjoying this the way the others are? Father, it’s all Your Word. Take away my pride and speak to me through these materials… PLEASE!”

It’s as if the floodgates were opened and the Lord just poured out His blessing on my quiet times. This study went from being elementary and “fluffy” (yes – that’s the word I use to describe “light” stuff. Didn’t I tell you I was a snob?) to being a powerful tool in the hands of my Master. I alluded to something from the study in this post, and in this one as well.

Both of those things came from this study — the fluffy one — after I prayed and asked the Lord to make it come alive for me. He is so faithful!

The following is also something gleaned from that study. It’s a comparison that I’ve never once picked up on in Scripture before. It’s one of those puzzle piece moments in which the dots are connected. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

Jennifer had us taking a look in the book of Numbers, at the way God divided the Promised land. The Levites were given 48 towns, and of those 48, the Lord designated six of them to be cities of refuge. That’s the background. Now it’s time for the parallels.

 

1. Who had access to the cities?

“They shall be cities of refuge for you from the avenger, that the manslayer may not die until he stands before the congregation in judgment.” (Num. 35:12)

Now check this out… who has access to Jesus?

“All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will by no means cast out.” (John 6:37)

 

2. Who was the accuser?

“They shall be cities of refuge for you from the avenger, that the manslayer may not die until he stands before the congregation in judgment.” (Num. 35:12)

And who is our accuser?

“Then I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, “Now salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down.” (Rev. 12:10)

 

3. What hope did a person find when he fled to a city of refuge?

“Speak to the children of Israel, saying: ‘Appoint for yourselves cities of refuge, of which I spoke to you through Moses, that the slayer who kills a person accidentally or unintentionally may flee there; and they shall be your refuge from the avenger of blood.” (Josh 20:2-3)

What hope does a person find in fleeing to Christ?

“To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.” (Col. 1:27)

 

4. Ok. Here’s where it gets REALLY cool!  How long could the accused remain secure in the city?

“And he shall dwell in that city until he stands before the congregation for judgment, and until the death of the one who is high priest in those days. Then the slayer may return and come to his own city and his own house, to the city from which he fled.” (Josh. 20:6)

You can probably guess where this is going, but just in case you haven’t had your coffee yet, how long does our High Priest live?

“But He, because He continues forever, has an unchangeable priesthood.  Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.
For such a High Priest was fitting for us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and has become higher than the heavens;” (Heb. 7:24-26)

Over and over again through the pages of the Old Testament, the Lord has given us pictures of salvation. It shouldn’t surprise me to find it here, in the cities of refuge. I stand needy and accused… guilty. And He beckons me to come… to come and find eternal safety in Him.

“The eternal God is your refuge,
      And underneath are the everlasting arms;
      He will thrust out the enemy from before you,
      And will say, ‘Destroy!’” (Deuteronomy 33:27)

Oh thank You, Father, for changing my heart! Thank You for being faithful to speak through the pages of Your Word, and in such powerful ways! My deepest desire is to know You more… to grow to be more like You. I know that desire will be met by spending time in Your Word and in sweet communion with You. Thank You for being my Refuge, Lord! I can’t even wrap my mind around all that means for me. I have sought You with my whole heart and You have been found by me… and I by You. I love You, Lord. I will never be able to thank You enough for all that You are to me.

***************************

Lisa (My Passionate Pursuit) – For some reason I can’t comment on your blog. 😦 At least I don’t think it’s taking my comments. Do you have any advice? I’d like to be an encouragement to you, as you are to me… let me know if you have any ideas as to why it won’t let me comment, ok? Thanks!

Responses

  1. Spiritual pride, I too have stood guilty in those shoes and have learned (continue to learn) the lesson. I’ve found when our hearts are open and hungry, God is always willing to fill and feed.

    (Per your note above, I have no clue. Are you getting any sort of a message that I can send to customer support? You can email me at ldmaynard1@aol and I’ll forward the issue to them. In fact, You can email me there any time 🙂

  2. I often find that there is so much revelation in the simplest of passages, if we let the Lord open it up to us. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    ~Sumi

    http://www.sumijoti.wordpress.com

  3. I think we all get spoiled when someone touches our heart in a special way. We get used to their style. But isnt it just like the Lord to use someone we dont ‘like’ to give us a nugget of truth! Your prayer changed everything. He didnt change the ‘fluff’ he changed you! Praise God! Thanks for sharing this.
    Love, S

  4. My friend, I love that you are willing to admit to things like this. I struggle with this as well, and your prayer encouraged me.

    Xandra


Leave a Reply

Categories

