Posted by: bellissimanh | January 21, 2009

God’s Will

We’ve been studying Ephesians in our morning worship service for several months now. We’ve made it up to chapter five, and recently looked at these verses:

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise,  redeeming the time, because the days are evil.  Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Ephesians 5:15-17)

There is so much truth packed into this little section, but for the sake of keeping it brief, I just want to touch on one thing that really spoke to me in my study of these verses.

The word for “will” in verse 17 is “thelema” and its definition is this: “a desire which proceeds from one’s heart or emotions.” It primarily expresses emotion instead of volition. So God’s will for me is not so much His intention as it is His heart’s desire for me.

This definition really casts it in a whole new light. Following God’s will for my life doesn’t just mean obeying some course that He’s laid out for me. His will for me comes straight from His heart, from His emotions. It is rooted in the love He has for me. It is not as a demand, but as an inclination of pleasure towards that which is liked, which pleases and creates joy. This rendering of the word makes sense, especially when you look back to verse 10 of this same chapter which instructs us to find out what is pleasing to the Lord. How I want to please Him and bring Him joy!

God’s will is best discerned from His Word. I truly believe that we often worry needlessly about finding out what God’s specific will for us is. There are many things He has told us in His Word are His will for us. I believe that so long as we desire His will for us, and concentrate on doing the things that He has specifically stated in Scripture are His will, the rest will fall into place.

I love knowing that His will for me is not just a set of rules or guidelines that He’s set up for me… but that it stems from His heart’s desire – and that He lovingly crafted His design for my life out of His feelings for me.

If that doesn’t make you feel special, what will?

Responses

  1. I love hearing about these little things that further explain something in the Bible. So often there are words that lose a little bit of their meaning with translation. I know what God wants for me is really what’s best for me, but hearing it explained this way is really cool. Thanks!

  2. Beautifully said! Thanks for sharing!
    – Lisa

  3. Thank you, Heather. ack – I want to say more, but can’t put it into words, so, I’ll just say it adds an extra sweetness to knowing Him! Thank you!!

  4. Wow…who wouldn’t want to feel special? I DO I DO!

    What a blessing and treasure this afternoon.

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda


Leave a Reply

Categories

