Posted by: bellissimanh | January 20, 2009

What Does Your Scents of Style Say About You?

 What’s your scents of style? (Written 1/16/09 – You’ll see why this is significant further down)

 

scent

Does this describe you?

“Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place. For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. To the one we are the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other the aroma of life leading to life. And who is sufficient for these things? For we are not, as so many, peddling the word of God; but as of sincerity, but as from God, we speak in the sight of God in Christ.” (2 Corinthians 2:14-17)

How I want my life to be a sweet aroma to the Lord! I want to spread the fragrance of His knowledge around this world. It will be a pleasant scent to some – for believers will recognize it as the fragrance of Christ. To others, the scent will not be pleasing at all. To those who are perishing, it will be a bitter odor in their nostrils, warning them that they are unprepared for day of Christ’s return. Oh how I pray that they will get a holy whiff of Jesus and be drawn to Him before it’s too late.

The aroma of Christ should hang in the air where believers have been. Does it permeate our lives to that extent? Are the exchanges we have with people so filled with the fragrance of Jesus that they linger with them, even after we’re gone? Do people leave our presence refreshed because we have been the hands and feet of Jesus to them and they have inhaled the aroma of Christ?

I love this quote by Patrick Odum: “When we noisily celebrate what God has already done, while waiting with anticipation for what He will do, the heady fragrance of the kingdom of God disperses the noxious, choking odors of the world’s preoccupation with now and more.”

Yeah. I want THAT scents of style!

Can you think of a time when someone inhaled the fragrance of Christ because they smelled Him on you? Or maybe a time when you got a good whiff of Him on someone else? Please share!

 

*******************************************************

 

GOD THING (Written 1/17/09 – here’s the significance):     OK… so you are not going to believe this. I can hardly believe it myself! One of my sweet friends (Marilyn) called tonight. Through the course of our conversation, she said that she had read a verse that morning that made her think of me. She wanted to read it to me. As she did, my head was ready to explode! The passage she quoted was the one above!

Now I would love to tell you that she said I’m such a great Jesus dispenser that His fragrance lingers everwhere I’ve been. But that wouldn’t be accurate. What she did mention is that I wear this certain perfume, and when I hug her, some of the scent ends up on her clothes. Even after I’m gone, she’s reminded of me because of the fragrance. She said, “Wouldn’t it be wonderful if Christ were so powerful in us that even after we’ve left a place, people are left thinking of Him because they have been with us?”

Ooooooooooooooooooooooh, man. I love it when God confirms something like that! Marilyn and I have not spoken since she was here at Thanksgiving. She had absolutely NO way of knowing I had written the post above. Yet our Father graciously brought the exact same passage of Scripture to our minds – even with the same application — and then orchestrated it so that we would get to share that with one another. I’m still sitting here stunned… and loving my Father (and the loved ones He has placed in my life) more than ever. I’m blown away by His touch on my life… in the big ways and in the small ways… usually unexpected and yet received with complete thanksgiving! Don’t ever let anyone tell you that He is not intimately concerned with the things you think about, dream about, hope about, wonder about… He is so INTO you, my friends!

Responses

  1. I wrote a sermon with a similar theme, only I called it, “What Do You Smell Like?” Part of the sermon involved the High Priest in the Tabernacle of Moses. In the Holy Place there were three items: the Lampstand, the Table of Presence, and the Altar of Incense. All three involved unique incense and aromas. After spending a bit of time in the Holy Place, the priest would exit and the people, without ever seeing him come out, could tell where he’d been just by the scent on his body. My question is: “Can people tell we’ve been in the presence of God by the aroma of our actions, spirit, talk, attitude, etc.?” What we smell like will mirror the places we’ve spent the most time in. Do we smell like Christ or Hollywood; like sacrifice or MTV; like life or the Wall Street despair of death? It all depends where we’ve spent the most time.

    Thanks for your blog.

    Jim

  2. I love those verses, too… I was just thinking this weekend how amazing the words are:
    “we are the aroma of Christ to God…”

    yeah, pretty amazing.

  3. I echo Marilyn – one reason I love to be hugged by you b/c I can still smell you after you’ve gone….and I can tell when you walk behind me! 😉

    I don’t know – it’s my heart’s desire that the fragrance of Christ go from me…

    There’s several friends that I can say this of…
    Friends from Bolivia –
    Judy Day, who I prayed with and I could always sense His love in her;
    Judy Gill, who was always spreading God’s love wherever she went;
    Anna Foster – after I had been with her there was always a desire in me to go get my Bible and spend time in it and in prayer;
    And here…
    Bev Bedell – there’s a gentle sweetness about her that leaves that scent
    Leslie, Lisa, – ah… it’s hard to list everyone
    but there is also my husband – he has definitely left a sweet scent behind when he leaves for work quite often;
    and you, too, Heather…. I especially think of when I was at your house knitting and you showed me how to cast on a different way and ‘unknitted’ a row for me… that whole day – but many other times, too.

    thank you Jim Thornber for your comment – I have studied some about the priest and the tabernacle and so on – and I really like that – it’s a good reminder – being in God’s presence leaves a sweet scent. That’s really the only place it comes from, isn’t it?

  4. Oh gosh Heather, I want to be a Jesus-dispenser!!! What a great phrase!

    Leah

  5. I’ve been teaching this very thing to the kids in recent days…how God often lays a thought, verse, word on your heart and then reaffirm it through events in your life. You prove it here.

    Kate

  6. Your post was great, but the followup was AWESOME!!!!

    Xandra


Leave a Reply

Categories

