Posted by: bellissimanh | January 17, 2009

Quote for the Weekend…

“Love is doing what will enthrall the beloved with the greatest and longest joy. What will enthrall the beloved this way is the glory of God. Love means doing all we can, at whatever cost to ourselves, to help people be enthralled with the glory of God. When they are, they are satisfied and God is glorified. Therefore loving people and glorifying God are one.” 

~John Piper

 

Have I mentioned how much I have learned from John Piper? I’m very excited to have signed up for the latest edition of Lisa’s bookclub. We’re reading the book “Spectacular Sins” by John Piper. If you’re interested in joining us, go here for more details. So far we’ve read the introduction and I have to tell you… it was SO hard to refrain from going on! My book is already filled with underlining, exclamation points, and comments… and that’s just the intro! My heart was stirred up by the things he has to say, and I am ready for my view of God to be significantly enlarged. Basically, the premise is that God is sovereign, even over evil, and we need to have a much bigger view of Him. If all we know of the Lord is that He is tender and compassionate (which He is), then what will we do when things happen that we feel don’t line up with His character? We will be shattered. Persecution is coming… and we need to be prepared with an accurate picture of this wonderful God we serve — one that includes His justice as well as His mercy. Ok. Enough on that. I’m PUMPED! 🙂

 

I love the quote above. One of John’s most famous quotes is this: “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.” I guess that’s the readers digest condensed version of the one I’ve written above.  Oh how I want others to see Jesus in me! I want to be the hands and feet of Jesus to this world around me!

 

I read one time that one way of looking at “glory” is that it is to present for others an accurate representation of the thing being glorified. 2 Corinthians 3:18 reinforces this idea:

 

“And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”

 

Others need to see in us the glory God has revealed to us. They need for us to be an accurate representation of Him, so that in us, they would see a picture of our God. When I am completely satisfied with Him alone, that brings Him glory.

 

Just something to think about… 🙂

Responses

  1. I so long to glorify Him in everything I do. Thanks for such a wonderful post full of great quotes. I love quotes and collect them for use in my writing and speaking and these are some I’ll borrow!!

    Leah

  2. I can’t wait to start this study! I just love John Piper (and RC Sproul, and Al Mohler and JI Packer), and I always enjoy reading his books. One of my favorites was The Dangerous Duty of Delight.

    Xandra

  3. ok… now I have to ck this out. I really like Piper, so this ought to be good:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

