Posted by: bellissimanh | January 15, 2009

With All Due Diligence

As I mentioned in a previous post, the Lord has really been impressing on me the idea of “diligence.” It has become sort of my theme for the coming year… this desire to be more diligent, in all aspects of my life. If you missed the post, please check it out here… it will help future references to “diligence” make much more sense. 🙂

I began my quest for more information by using the concordance in my Geneva Study Bible.  I was surprised that there weren’t as many references to diligence as I thought.

Basically, I found two references that I thought were noteworthy (not that all of scripture isn’t noteworthy, but these stood out to me).

“For godly sorrow produces repentance leading to salvation, not to be regretted; but the sorrow of the world produces death. For observe this very thing, that you sorrowed in a godly manner: What diligence it produced in you, what a clearing of yourselves, what indignation, what fear, what vehement desire, what zeal, what vindication! In all things you proved yourselves to be clear in this matter.” (2 Cor. 7:10-11)

“Therefore, brethren, be even more diligent to make your call and election sure, for if you do these things you will never stumble…” (2 Peter 1:10)

Again, there were a few other references (not many) but these two jumped off the page at me. Although they are two slightly different words in the Greek, they both come from the root word “speudo.” It has two meanings.

1. To haste, make haste

2. To desire earnestly

So what does this tell me? First, if I will accept the Lord’s correction in my life (something I alluded to here), and I experience godly sorrow for my sin, I will not take my time getting back on track. I will “make haste” to do as the Lord has commanded me… to do away with whatever it is He’s asking me to cut out of my life. I will not make excuses and procrastinate when it comes to obedience. I will quickly walk forward in His will for me. Not only will I waste no time, I will have an earnest desire to comply. This is not obedience stemming from fear of punishment, this is a desire — a WANT — to please my Lord and Savior.

And the verse from 2 Peter? Assurance of God’s call on my life comes through the evidence of the Holy Spirit’s work in my life. I have His presence living inside me! What an amazing thought! Holy God, the Creator of the universe, dwells with me. As His Spirit testifies to me, He continues to make it abundantly clear that the Lord has chosen me to be His child. As my calling and election becomes more sure, there should be more evidence of that in my life. I should be making haste to examine my heart and search out this evidence. And I do earnestly desire to find that.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties…” (Psalm 139:23)

I had a telephone conversation with a very confused girl the other day. She lives in constant fear that she has committed the unpardonable sin and has lost her salvation. No matter how many times I try to reassure her that no one can snatch her out of Jesus’ hand, we always return to the same place. How sad it must be to live life like that! How I wish I could take the truth of 2 Peter 1:10 and make it a reality for her!

The enemy would like nothing more than to cast doubt on our position in Christ. When he can cause us to question our salvation, he can get us to question everything. He can bring us to a place of being able to focus on nothing but our failures, our missteps, our moments of weakness. When that happens, we become paralyzed… unable to even think clearly, let alone be of use for the Kingdom.  No, he can’t take away our salvation, but he can sure make mincemeat of our effectiveness for the Lord.

So let’s make haste and earnestly seek to make our call and election sure! Find assurances from the Word that you are who HE says you are, and not who the devil would have you think you are. Remind yourself often that you are a child of God, dearly loved and cherished by your Heavenly Father.

Already, this study on the topic of diligence has taken me much further than what I’ve even written here. Once I left the limited concordance in my study Bible and began exploring a number of other resources, I have a HUGE list of verses that talk about diligence… but in case it’s not nearly as interesting for any of you as it is for me… I’ll stop here for now.

No… wait. One more before I go (can’t resist!) This is my favorite by far…

“But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must  believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.” (Heb. 11:6)

Responses

  1. Wonderful post…my heart breaks for the girl you mentioned who thinks she is unforgivable


Leave a Reply

Categories

