Posted by: bellissimanh | January 15, 2009

Just Been One of Those Days…

It was bitterly cold this morning. Jonalie told me it was twenty below zero at her house this morning! That was at 6am. I had warmed up considerably by the time I got in the car at 11am. 6 Degrees.

(All together now… *shiver*)

And yet the sun was brilliant! When I let the dog (Patches) out to do her thing this morning, the snow was sparkling. Truly. It was acting like a prism and catching the light of the sun. It was almost like someone has sprinkled glitter all over it… or fairy dust… or… something. I grabbed my camera and snapped a few shots, sure that the sparkle wouldn’t show up in the pictures (camera’s not that great, nor is the photographer). It’s not as beautiful and sparkly as the real thing, but I was pleased that it does at least give a glimpse of the beauty that I witnessed this morning, if you look closely. Just above and to the left of the branches. It probably would have been more spectacular if I wasn’t trying to crop the dog poop out of the picture.  ROFL

Can you see the sparkles? It really doesn’t come close to doing it justice… they were pink, blue, green, yellow, red, and purple… and maybe even more colors. Here they just look like tiny blips… but it was like a wonderland this morning!

And off I went into the day. I was running late and as I was leaving, a gentleman stopped to pick up his computer. I rushed back to the house to get his machine and held the door for him as he left. He mentioned something about warming up the car first but who has time for that? I wish I’d heeded his advice. It was FREEZING… and I don’t know if all Nissan’s are like this, but mine definitely likes to have her juices flowing before attempting to move… she kind of moaned a bit, and by the time we got to Fryeburg, she was warmed up. My toes took a little longer!

Time for another snapshot.

Whats wrong with this picture?

What's wrong with this picture?

 

 

 Do you see the problem there?  How about now?

Oh, yes.   I did indeed leave the house today wearing two completely different shoes! I didn’t even notice until it was time to LEAVE my friends house and I went to grab my shoes to put them back on. Here’s my thought progression:

“Hey… someone has a pair of black shoes just like mine!”

“Hmmm… wonder where my other brown shoe is?”

“Wait a minute… did I?”

*hysterical laughter* “YES, I DID!”

It was just one of those days. Incongruent, I guess. My shoes were just a vivid illustration of the contrasts of my day.

We had a sweet, sweet time of fellowship at the study. We had three new girls and so enjoyed having each of them there. We spent an awesome time looking at the Word and discussing how the Lord had spoken to each of us through our studies this week. We watched a wonderful video by our “teacher”, Jennifer Rothschild (more of her thoughts to come in a later post). We had a time of sharing prayer concerns and praises and then praying with one another. It was as beautiful as the sparkly snow this morning.

And then I came home to discover that Patches was not feeling well at all. Jasmine had just finished cleaning up after her and to say that she had “bloody stool” would not give you an accurate picture of the state of her digestive system.  I took her out (which produced more of the same) and then called Joel who, as I suspected he would, encouraged me to get her to the vets. As I called the vet, I could literally hear her stomach churning from across the room… gurgling, etc. While I was on the phone with the receptionist, I also did a quick search on the internet for “blood in my dog’s stool” and quickly decided that seeking a diagnosis that way was going to do nothing but send me into an anxiety attack. I shut the computer off and headed for the door. I got halfway down the walk and remembered to go back and change one of my shoes. 🙂

As I sat in the waiting room, alone with my girl, I kept patting her speaking soft soothing words in her ear. I thought back over the past few months and realized just how attached I’ve become to this sweet little pooch. We’ve had her less than four months, and yet here I was, panicking (and crying) at the thought of all these things that could be wrong with her.

They moved us from the waiting room into an exam room and we waited some more. I had her sitting up on the exam table and she was trembling. I wrapped my arms around her and held her tightly (all 14 pounds of her). She just sat there, her face close to mine — watching me, and  shaking. I wanted so badly to help her feel better… to take away the fear and anxiety for her… but I just held her. She clearly wanted out of there, and yet I couldn’t just let her escape. She needed to stay. There was a purpose in our being there.

I wonder how many times I have searched out the Lord’s face, wanting Him to take me away… to help me escape. Yet often when I most want Him to change my circumstances, His word to me is “Stay… you need to be here. There’s a purpose in this. Trust me.” And rather than remove me from the situation, He wraps His loving arms around me and He holds me close.

In our study today we learned of how the Lord uses the uncomfortable places in our lives to preserve us… to protect us… and often to position us for greater ministry. It is so important that we learn to let God’s character dictate our view of our circumstances. He is faithful. He is trustworthy. He is sovereign. And as BethAnne says, “He is FOR me!”

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:16-18)

The vet confirmed that Patches has Clostridium. We’re not sure exactly how she got it, but it generally stems from digesting something she shouldn’t — even too many treats. He explained that she needs to eat the same thing every day. Any sudden changes in her diet can cause problems. He told me that her system is designed for a specific pattern of eating, and departure from that routine is just too much for her too handle. Suddenly the bad bacteria in her body begins to destroy the good bacteria, which leads to Clostridium. He gave specific feeding instructions, along with medicine to take care of the infection.

I need to be careful what I digest as well.

“Your words were found, and I ate them,
      And Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart;
      For I am called by Your name,
      O LORD God of hosts. ” J(eremiah 15:16)

Too much deviation from this diet of solid food and I will find my system completely messed up – just like Patches. The Lord has prescribed for me a rich diet of scrumptious morsels straight from His table.  He has provided a feast in His Word and has told me that if I will fill myself with those things, I will be completely satisfied.

The problem is that, like Patches, I sometimes desire other things… things that in my mind are “treats”, but really hold absolutely no nutritional value for me at all. Even worse, they can really trash my system. And the prince of this world would like nothing more than to dish me up a heaping serving of junk food. He knows that if I fill up on the garbage, I won’t have much desire for the good stuff… the stuff that keeps me healthy and in balance.

“Ho! Everyone who thirsts,
      Come to the waters;
      And you who have no money,
      Come, buy and eat.
      Yes, come, buy wine and milk
      Without money and without price. 
       Why do you spend money for what is not bread,
      And your wages for what does not satisfy?
      Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good,
      And let your soul delight itself in abundance. 
       Incline your ear, and come to Me.
      Hear, and your soul shall live;
      And I will make an everlasting covenant with you-
      The sure mercies of David.” (Isaiah 55:1-3)

Now that’s a meal that will put anything the enemy tries to tempt me with to shame! The Lord is convicting me to be very careful what I feed my mind with. I mentioned the sin of tolerance the other day, and how it’s a constant battle… but through the power of the Holy Spirit and the self-control He provides, victory can be mine. I have been seated at the Master’s banqueting table, and His banner over me is love… why on earth would I settle for less?

One more photo…

All together now… “Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwww.”

Responses

  1. I went to a meeting at work one time only to find that I had two different shoes. You might as well laugh, right? I’m glad Patches is doing better and liked your application.

  2. Oh, I am praying for your pup!

    May I learn to consume things that will refresh me and feed my soul…not poison it. Amen!

    Thank YOU for your sweet notes to me. I am so very thankful for you and your encouragement!

    Love,
    Holly

  3. Aw!! This was just the godly medicine I needed. God is really testing my faith right now with our current situation… you would understand (we have similar testimonies:); I was just thinking, oh God, have you forgotten me? But He comes through time and time again, letting me know that He indeed loves me and is making all things work for my good. Even though I’d rather not go through the pain.

    Thanks for this post! I love your parallel stories:)

  4. Heather, As usual- you knock my socks off. Thank you for posting. I laughed and my heart moved with your day. So many great thoughts. I love that ending scripture, his banner over me is love. It describes my Lord perfectly. I once heard a preacher talk about twinkies. How they are good but if you ate them all the time you wouldnt have nutrition it takes to nourish you. That we need the proper food. Its so wonderful to have tangible things to relate with spiritually. Putting it certain ways, it makes sense! You have a gift of making things make sense like that. I hope your pup is ok, so sweet! and your shoes was too funny.

  5. Gina, we’re on at the same time! Hi!

  6. Beautifully said! The words from the screen are going straight to my soul. Words that I neeeded to hear!
    Blessings – Lisa

  7. Wow!! I went through the whole gamut of emotions in that post. I laughed (with you) at your boots. I marveled at the snow. I nearly bawled because of Patches (brought back many memories of our dog this past summer and having to put him down). I loved this post. I want to come back when I have more time. Rushing off to work now!!

    Bless you.

    Leah

  8. The snow is beautiful and the shoes were PRICELESS! Glad to hear the little one is feeling better, and I love the analogy…

    Xandra

  9. …and it was 40 below at our house this morning!! burrrr!!!

    I’ll be praying for you all and Patches….

    I thought it was funny that you had the presence of mind to change your shoes before you went to the vet! 😉

    Love ya.


Leave a Reply

Categories

