Posted by: bellissimanh | January 12, 2009

Memory Monday – This is so COOL!

 

Want to learn more? Click HERE.

I am SO excited! God really brought the verses I was working on together for me this week! I told you I was gonna have to do some digging on the last verse of my four for this week… (“I will run the course of Your commandments, for You shall enlarge my heart.”) As near as I can understand, it’s a promise to follow the Lord’s will as He grants wisdom. Matthew Henry says, “God, by his Spirit, enlarges the hearts of his people when he gives them wisdom (for that is called largeness of heart, 1 Ki. 4:29), when he sheds abroad the love of God in the heart, and puts gladness there. The joy of our Lord should be wheels to our obedience.”

“…wheels to our obedience.”

I love that, because it ties in very nicely with what we’ve been studying in morning worship from Ephesians. As we look at how we have been made children of light, we realize that now we are commanded to live like it! Understanding that we have been chosen in Christ before the foundation of the world (Eph. 1:4) and grasping how wide and long and deep and high is the love of Christ (Eph. 3:18)… that should motivate us to walk “circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil” (Eph. 5:15-16).

OR

“I will run the course of Your commandments, for You have enlarged my heart”! Don’t you love it when the Lord puts pieces together like that?

Here’s the other thing that has me jazzed…

Psalm 119 is an acrostic of twenty-two stanzas, one for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet. I realized today that I am through four of them! Ok, ok… I know it’s not that huge, but I never would have thought that I could memorize 32 verses and repeat them verbatim without messing up the order! I am doing the happy dance today for His faithfulness to help me commit these verses to memory. One more stanza and I’ll be more than a quarter of the way through the longest chapter in the Bible! God is just amazing me! 🙂

Ok. Now that I’ve got THAT out of my system, here we go…

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord. Blessed are those who seek Him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.

You have commanded us to keep His precepts diligently. Oh that my ways were directed to keep your statutes! Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all Your commandments. I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments. I will keep Your statutes; do not forsake me utterly!

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word. With my whole heart I have sought You; oh let me not wander from Your commandments. I have hidden Your word in my heart, that I might not sin against You. Blessed are You, Oh LORD; teach me Your statutes!

With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Your precepts and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your word; Open my eyes that I may see wondrous things from Your law. I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me. My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times.

You rebuke the proud — the cursed who stray from Your commandments. Remove from me reproach and contempt, for I have kept Your word. Princes also sit and speak against me, but Your servant meditates on Your statutes. Your testimonies also are my delight and my counselors.

My soul clings to the dust; revive me according to Your word. I have declared my ways and You answered me. Make me to understand the way of Your precepts, so shall I meditate on all Your wonderful works. My soul melts from heaviness; strengthen me according to Your word.

Remove from me the way of lying, and grant me Your law graciously. I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me. I cling to Your testimonies; O LORD do not let me be put to shame. I will run the course of Your commandments, for You shall enlarge my heart.

Psalm 119:1-32

Here’s the section I’ll work on for next week:

Teach me, O LORD, the way of Your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end. Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law; Indeed I shall observe it with my whole heart. Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it. Incline my heart to Your testimonies, and not to covetousness.

What are you working on this week? 🙂

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for your encouragement, Heather… I appreciate it so much.

    Keep up the good work – that’s an awesome Scripture passage to learn. I grew up going to a small Christian school, and we had to memorize Scripture by the chapters! I’m very thankful for that, though – to this day I quote Scriptures in KJV because that’s how I learned it. 🙂 My kids laugh at me.

    But I have them learning Scripture, too, because I know the value of it when you age. It’s much harder to memorize now than it was then… and think of all the years I’ve been blessed to have verses in my mind to pull from. Not that I remember it all perfectly, but generally I know where to find stuff in:

    James
    many, many Psalms
    many, many Proverbs
    oh, about 6 chapters of Romans
    the entire book of Philippians
    the Beatitudes (that’s a hard one…)
    the 10 Commandments
    and the list goes on…

    isn’t that funny? My kids would think I was so mean if I made them do all that! But I gave the girls a book that is awesome – I think I have it listed on my blog, but I’m not sure. It is a handy memorizing tool with boxes to check and all that, and the catechism is included. yay rah for people who are organized AND published. 🙂 And for friends who tell you about those people. 🙂

    Have a great day.
    Jen

  2. This week I am committing to memory….

    Psalm 19:14 NIV

    May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

    Also working through week 1 homework of Esther.

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda

  3. Your enthusiasm is contagious!! 🙂 I’m excited, too, about this memorizing! Thank you so much for starting this – I’ve been wanting to for awhile, but it’s hard when there’s no one checking up on me…. so thank you!!

    ok, I was interested to hear what your thoughts would be about “I will run the course of your commandments, for you shall enlarge my heart.” and I’m glad you shared! I’m still just mulling it over in my mind.

    II Timothy

    Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ, according to the promise of life which is in Christ Jesus.

    To Timothy, my dearly beloved son, Grace, mercy, and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

    I thank God, whom I serve from my forefathers with a pure conscience, that without ceasing I have remembrance of you in my prayers both night and day.

    Greatly desiring to see you, being mindful of your tears, that I may be filled with joy

    when I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in you, which first dwelt in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded that in you also

    wherefore I put you in remembrance that you stir up the gift of God which is in you by the laying on of my hands,

    for God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power and love and of a sound mind.

    Do not be therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but be a partaker of the afflictions of the gospel, according to the power of God

    who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his purpose and grace which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began

    but is now made manifest by the appearing of our Savour Jesus Christ, who has abolished death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel

    whereunto I am appointed a preacher and an apostle and a teacher of the Gentiles

    for the which cause I also suffer these things, nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.

    Hold fast the form of sound words which you have heard of me in faith and love which is in Christ Jesus

    that good thing which was committed unto keep by the Holy Spirit which dwell in us

    this you know, that all they which are in Asia are turned against me, of whom are Phygellus and Hermogenes,

    but God grant mercy to the house of Onesiphorus, who oft refreshed me and was not ashamed of my chain,

    but when he was in Rome, he sought me out very diligently until he found me.

    … one more verse and the end of chapter 1! I admit the last bit is a little rough, though.

    I am thankful, too, that God is allowing and helping me to do this… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

