Posted by: bellissimanh | January 8, 2009

A Day of Intercession

Ever had one of those? A day where the Lord just keeps placing people before you and asking you to be the one to stand in the gap for them?

Today has been one of those days for me. It began with an email from a friend. Her sister, who doesn’t know the Lord, was involved in a serious car accident Saturday evening. It doesn’t look good. I don’t even know this woman, and yet because I love my friend, the Lord moved me to bring her before the throne in a serious way. A phonecall this morning revealed small improvement, but overall, the Lord is going to have to work a miracle in this situation. I pray He will… but mostly I pray for the salvation of this family — the woman herself, her husband and daughter, her siblings, her mother. Pray with me for Joanie and her family, won’t you?

While on the phone with my friend, the phone beeped with another friend’s number. I let it go to voicemail, thinking I’d call her back later. No sooner had the beeping on my home phone quit than the cell started ringing. Again, I let it go. I finished my conversation with the first friend, and then checked my messages. Friend #2 had left a tearful message – her day had begun with a horrible  nightmare (you know the kind… the ones it takes DAYS to shake), continued with learning that the school district was eliminating her daughter’s bus stop, and then she learned that one of her favorite patients had passed away. It was all too much for her and she had been hoping I would pray for her, but figured God must want her to get on her own knees, so she did. I called her back and got HER voicemail, leaving a prayer in place of a message. She did call back and we did talk… and she’s better now, but man… rough day. If you have a moment, please lift my friend Jodi before the throneroom today.

I attended my weekly Bible Study today and while we always share requests and begin our gatherings with a time of prayer, it seemed as though today each of us was burdened with something particular.  It was a sweet time of fellowship and intercession. Health issues… financial issues… relationship issues… determining His will issues.  So many needs… but such a great God!

My husband is half of a two-person team that handles our church treasury stuff. It’s been a challenge because this has been a year of transition for our church. Our Pastor retired last year, and our treasurer moved to a different state as well. Joel and Norma have done a great job of picking up the responsibilities and doing their best to help things continue running smoothly… but when you go from one accounting system to another (with a whole new chart of accounts), it’s very challenging. This afternoon he had a meeting with the elders to present the year-end report. Knowing that he was a bit apprenhensive about it, I called the office to leave a prayer on HIS machine. Instead he answered the phone, and so I told him that I was praying for him. And I have been. If you think of it, send up a prayer for Joel, that together they will all be able to bring things together and put it in a format that the fellowship will understand, and that the Lord will answer NOW any questions that people might have regarding the bookkeeping end of things.

I came home to learn that another friend had a rough day. She has an estranged relationship with her son and his wife, and because of that is missing out on being part of her only grandchildren’s lives. Today was tough. She did get to see the granchildren (the first time in a LONG time) at a family function, but the son and his wife were very cold and distant. We serve a God of reconciliation, and we know that He can heal this relationship for her, but right now… in the waiting… it’s so difficult. Please pray with me that the Lord would comfort Tracy, and that He will use all of this to deepen her faith and to reveal more of Himself to her. Please pray that as she waits on Him, her strength would be renewed and she would be able to soar with eagles, in spite of her pain. My sweet friend is such a woman after God’s heart… and right now her own heart is broken. I pray that one day her family will be greatly used by our Father to minister to others who are dealing with fractured familial relationships. And I will be the first to give Him praise for it!

I don’t know what’s next, but I won’t be surprised if I run across someone else before this evening is through that needs a friend to sit and pray with. It’s just been one of those days, ya know? What an awesome privilege and wonderful gift the Lord has given us  in asking us to bear one another’s burdens!

“As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the LORD by failing to pray for you.” (1 Samuel 12:23)

“Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions and giving of thanks be given for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverance.” (1 Timothy 2:1-2)

“Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. (James 5:16)

“Bear one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ.” (Galatians 6:2)

Intercession can be heart-wrenching. As you identify closely with those you pray for, your own heart can become bruised and broken… and yet it’s what we’re called to do.

And the benefits are wonderful!

* We get to love on our brothers and sisters in Christ and deepen our relationships with them. As we come to know their struggles on a more intimate level, we interact differently with them.

* We get to participate in Kingdom business. We begin to see others through Jesus’ eyes.

* We get to see prayer answered before our very eyes

* We are reminded of our need for Christ

* We become more like Jesus

* We are encouraged in our faith

* We experience the sovereignty of God first hand as we release petitions into His hands and trust Him with the results

The list could go on and on… but you get the picture. Who is it the Lord is asking you to intercede for today? If you’d like to share, I’ll be happy to join you in bathing them in prayer. Then we can praise Him together as we watch Him work.

************************************************

On a totally different note… Tina pointed me in the direction of this awesome giveaway over at A Flower For You! Adorable, isn’t it? Check it out!

Responses

  1. Intercession IS a costly sacrifice. One of my dear friends is struggling and it’s a long process… walking the road with her and interceding for her is hard and wearying – and sometimes confusing. But it is also a privilege and it is challenging me to BELIEVE…

    Love that word. 🙂

  2. Wow – what a list. Isn’t it wonderful that our God doesn’t tire of listening to us, doesn’t make us wait in line to talk to him and cares for each of these requests? I’m writing these names down on my prayer list.

  3. Yes, me too. I will be praying the Lord will bring comfort, healing, wisdom, confidence, peace, reconciliation and restoration. The Lord specializes in every area of our lives, what a mighty God we serve!

  4. I’m so glad that God led me to your blog. He’s used it today to remind me that I need to spend some time in the throne room of Heaven today on behalf of others. Blessings! -Lisa

  5. i loved the contrasts of this post, a good example for me of the depths and heart cries we have and the simple joys he gives to refresh us…it didn’t seem like a clash at all, rather a union of all things life…thanks for blogging and for the encouragement, kind comments, and prayers lately.

    you are valued.


Leave a Reply

Categories

