Posted by: bellissimanh | January 7, 2009

I love a good shampoo.

Seriously!

I just came from the salon and I’m convinced there is nothing quite like receiving a good shampoo. As I lean back in the chair to nestle my head into the bowl with the u-shaped cradle for my neck (which, incidentally, feels like it’s made just for ME), I can feel myself start to relax. The sound of the water combined with the gentle pressure and rythm of it’s beads lulls me into such a comfortable place. I breathe in deeply the fragrant minty scent of the soap as my friend (and hair magician) Nikki begins to work it into my blonde tresses. She massages my head, sometimes gently in soothing strokes and other times with more force and speed, scrubbing the scalp as she works the shampoo into a lather.

Then comes the rinse. It’s almost as if I can feel the stress of the day swooshing down the drain with the soap. She makes arcs on my head with the sprayer, and I can feel the soap leave the section she has the nozzle focused on, and move further down my head. Once in a while she has to lift my head, to rinse the hair underneath at the nape of my neck. This is the only part of the experience that I don’t enjoy. Something in me can’t seem to just let her lift my head and neck. Instead I strain away from her hand and try to hold it up on my own, causing incredible tension in my neck muscles. In a second, she’s done with the underneath and I relax once more. As she continues to rinse more and more, the suds continue to make their way down to the ends of my hair, until finally, all is rinsed away. A final wringing of the hair and she wraps a warm towel around my head and sits me up.

As I was experiencing this washing today, this scripture kept running through my head:

“Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish.” (Ephesians 5:25-27)

and this from Jesus’ famous prayer in John 17…

“Sanctify them by Your truth; Your word is truth.” (John 17:17)

How valuable is His Word! By it we are sanctified, cleansed, washed!  There are times when I open myself up to His Word and experience such renewal… such refreshing! As I expose myself to the water of His Word, it’s almost as if I can feel the cares of this life — the worries, the insecurities, the fears — being rinsed right out of me. I breathe in deeply and inhale the fragrance of His knowledge (2 Cor. 2:14). As His peace washes over me, I can feel the tension begin to leave my body and my muscles start to relax.

But there are other times. Times when His Word brings conviction and correction… reproof and rebuke. Those times are not so comfortable. I tense up as I strain against the lifting of my head. Although He has proven to me over and over that He can be trusted with my very life, there’s still some small part of me that feels the need to be in control… to be the lifter of my own head. And so in vain I resist Him.

But not for long.

Because I know that once this time of brief discomfort is finished… once we’ve gotten to the root of my sin and exposed it in all it’s ugliness… then we can move on. His Word will have had it’s way with me and I will be washed… cleansed…

Which leads me to a verse I’ve memorized in recent weeks:

“How can a young man cleanse His way? By taking heed according to Your Word.” (Psalm 119:9)

Oh, yes. I love a good shampoo.

Responses

  1. girl, you can get a lesson out of anything can’tcha!.. I just love you soooooo!

  2. That’s awesome! I was just reading a blog on why we should pray God’s word. And John 17:17 was one of them! I was thinking to myself, I need to read and memorize more, but what are the tangible results of this? And isn’t it just like God to answer those questions that pop up in our minds, before we can even really think about them? Thanks for being my confirmation:)

  3. H, you brought me right to my salon’s shampoo chair as well! Your anology is pretty good!

  4. Beautiful! (Now I want a shampoo.)

  5. What a great analogy! I love analogies. Your words made me feel like I was right there with you. It does seem as if the cares of this world are being washed away when I read His word.

  6. I think I need to go to my hairdresser now! The next time I’m there, I’ll think about your application. It gives it a whole new spin!

  7. Golly, where do I start? Your analogy of the shampoo is for me the analogy of new snow. When I look out my window and see all the dirty snow I cannot wait until it snows again. It makes me think of how God took are sins and made them white as snow. And if we confess our sins even now we get that cleansing. It is just a wonderful reminder to me when I look and see everything so clean and white. Thanks for sharing,

  8. I love finding truth in everyday activities, and giving God all the glory for every good things He bestows upon His people!

    Thanks for your words.

    -Sol
    http://www.calebandsol.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

