Posted by: bellissimanh | January 6, 2009

A Few of My Favorite Things

I know, I know. By now most people are running headlong into the New Year and have finished all their “reflective” posts on 2008. I’ve never been one to follow the crowd anyway. *grins*

“Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes…
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Moments So Dear…
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes…
How Do You Measure – Measure A Year?”

Years are not really made up of seconds, minutes and hours. They’re made up of moments. Special moments that bring a smile to your lips and a warmth to your heart. So if you had to choose just a few (four, to be exact) of your favorite moments from 2008, what would they include?

A special dinner with a friend? Seeing your oldest graduate college? Holding your newborn for the first time?

Since my last couple of posts (aside from Memory Monday) have been pretty heavy (and lengthy, too!) I thought I’d share with you four of my favorite moments from 2008.

 

MOMENT:  During our vacation, we spent a couple of days with my friend Mindy on her island. She has the most adorable cottage on this island in Casco Bay. One of my favorite moments of 2008 was having my morning devotions in one of the chairs below. With a cup of hot tea in my hand, and my Bible on my lap, it was perfect for meditating on the Word and listening as the Lord spoke to me from it.

Peaceful

Oh… and the view below didn’t hurt the atmosphere any either! 🙂

harbor

 

Moment: For the second year in a row, our church held “Praise in the Park.” This is an outreach event in our community. We hand out free hotdogs and water, have an evangelism booth set up, and our praise team plays for about two and a half hours. Something new we included this year were cardboard testimonies. If you’ve never seen this before, the idea is to write on a piece of cardboard — in a sentence or phrase — who you were before you met Christ. The opposite side of the cardboard explains who you are or how your life has changed since you met Him.  The cardboard below that reads, “Now I walk with Jesus” belongs to my daughter Jasmine. The opposite side of the cardboard said, “Doctors said I’d never walk.” She is our own walking miracle… what a beautiful thing to see how the Lord not only saved her physical life, but also saved her soul, and is creating such a beautiful young woman of God! Holding my own cardboard testimony up was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before. It left me feeling vulnerable (to tell everyone what my life consisted of before Christ), and humble… but also was a very powerful moment – to testify so boldly of what He has done in my life. To God be the glory!

cardboard

 

Moment: On December 31st (cutting it close, huh?) we hiked up to Diana’s Baths  to witness the marriage of our friends, Doug and Mindy (yes, from Moment #1). It was snowing lightly, leaving a beautiful white dusting over everything.  The world was sparkling and it was definitely one of the sweetest moments of 2008, and will always be a favorite memory for me (Yeah, Mindy probably won’t forget it either). The only thing more beautiful than the setting was my sweet friend, and the look on her face as she said “I do” to the love of her life. 

prescotts

 

 

Moment: Noah’s Baptism. One of the greatest moments a Mom can experience. Ever. Enough said.

baptism

 

 

Care to share your fave four (or even one?) from 2008? What stands out to you as memorable? Answer here, or better yet… create your own post! 🙂 I’d love to read about what you will never forget from 2008!

Many blessings for the coming year… may the beginning of 2010 find us looking back on a year filled with many memorable moments – times in which we have seen His hand at work and can trace His fingerprints through the days of our lives. 🙂

Happy New Year!

 

~Heather

Responses

  1. I just opened up my blog and the song “My Favorite Things” was just beginning to play when I read the title of your post in my sidebar! How funny. Your description of visiting your friend on her island and sitting in the chair looking at the beautiful view with a cup of hot tea and your bible. . . . I can’t think of anything better! I guess one of my favorite things from 2008 is discovering blogging and meeting so many new, wonderful people out there! Happy New Year

  2. As you know I had a pretty rough year in that 2008… I’m still having a hard time finding some favorite memories…. I do know that God saw me through it and will continue to be by my side as we head into this fresh new year…

    God did provide all of our “needs” in 2008.. He blessed me with a pt job that I love.. I have a husband who cherishes me.. What more should I want?

    Love you gf!

  3. What sweet memories! I’ll have to think about mine…

    Xandra

  4. “In God we make our boast all day long” – Psalm 44:8

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    -Sol
    http://www.calebandsol.com

  5. Sweet! and I LOVE that song 525,600 minutes. I have it on my playlist and listen to it often. And the cardboard testimonies. {tearing up!} Saw those on Youtube and would love to do one! Looks like you had a blessed year. Noah being baptised looked so amazing. Thank you for sharing with us!! I will be thinking of mine too and will post it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

