Posted by: bellissimanh | January 5, 2009

Memory Monday – Psalm 119:1-28

 

Want to learn more? Click HERE.

I mentioned earlier that I love routine. I am so glad to be back into a normal schedule (well… as normal as our life gets!) There’s security in established patterns, I think. For me, anyway.

The same is true of my memorization journey. You might recall that I had a tough couple of weeks in this department and didn’t get all of my promised verses learned.  Well let me just borrow a few words from my son… “It is ON!”  I am so ready to return to this beautiful Psalm in earnest (a synonym for “diligence” don’t ya know!) So without further ado…

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord. Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.

You have commanded us to keep Your precepts diligently. Oh that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes! Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all Your commandments. I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments. I will keep Your statutes; do not forsake me utterly.

How can a young man cleanse His way? By taking heed according to Your Word. I have sought You with my whole heart; do not let me wander from Your commandments. I have hidden Your word in my heart that I might not sin against You. Blessed are You, O Lord. Teach me Your statutes!

With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Your precepts and contemplate Your ways. I will also delight myself  in Your statutes. I will not forget Your word.

Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your word. Open my eyes that I may see wondrous things from Your law. I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me. My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times.

You rebuke the proud, the cursed who stray from Your commandments.  Remove from me reproach and contempt, for I have kept Your testimonies. Princes also sit and speak against me, but Your servant meditates on Your word. Your testimonies also are my delight and my counselors.

My soul clings to the dust; revive me according to Your word. I have declared my ways and You have answered me. Make me to understand the way of Your precepts, so shall I meditate on Your wonderful works. My soul melts from heaviness; strengthen me according to Your word.

Psalm 119:1-28

I’ve underlined the phrases that really stand out to me at this point. It’s all good stuff… but these are the places where, as I’m reciting, emotion takes over and my voice takes on a deeper dimension. Does that make sense?  They speak to me… loudly. *s*

For this week, I’ll add the next four verses:

29 Remove from me the way of lying,
         And grant me Your law graciously.
 30 I have chosen the way of truth;
         Your judgments I have laid before me.
 31 I cling to Your testimonies;
         O LORD, do not put me to shame!
 32 I will run the course of Your commandments,
         For You shall enlarge my heart. 
         

 I think these are going to require deeper examination than just a surface reading. What does it really mean to cling to His testimonies? What does that look like? And that last verse… I can’t wait to mine that one! 🙂

Go ahead and post your verse(s) for this week below. And if God has used your memory passage to speak to you this week… please share! 🙂  God bless!

 

Responses

  1. It looks like we’re on a similar path! I’ve been doing some memorizing myself. Again. A few years ago I memorized Romans 12. It took me a while but I did it. But I quit recalling it and now I can’t say it anymore. So, I’m back to memorizing it once again. What I found is that it speaks to me differently now than it did a few years ago. I see it through older, and hopefully wiser, eyes, and I understand parts of it that didn’t make sense before. I wasn’t expecting that blessing from re-memorizing a chapter of Scripture. I’ll let you know when I get it done.

    BTW, don’t think memorizing a chapter is a big deal. When I was in Bible college, we had a guest speaker who recited the entire book of Mark!!

  2. This is one of my goals for the coming year…to be more diligent in memorizing scripture.

    Xandra

  3. There’s so much richness in such a short section! How to fully grab hold of it all?
    You are doing very well! Keep it up!!
    I agree – now that a routine is back, it hopefully will be easier!! (do you find it easier to quote verbally than to write? I do!)

    ok… here goes…

    II Timothy 1:1-12

    Paul an apostle according to the promise of life which is in Christ Jesus.
    to Timothy my dearly beloved son. Grace, mercy, and peace from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord.
    I thank my God whom I serve from my forefathers with a pure conscience, that without ceasing I have remembrance of you in my prayers night and day,
    Greatly desiring to see you, being mindful of your tears, that I may be filled with joy
    When I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in you, which first dwelt in your grandmother Lois, and in your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded that in you also.
    Wherefore, I put you in remembrance that you stir up the gift of God which is in you by the laying on of my hands,
    for God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power and love and of a sound mind.
    Be not therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but be a partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God,
    who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our own works, but according to his own purpose and grace which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began.
    which has now been made manifest by the appearing of our Savior Jesus Christ who has abolished death and has brought light and immortality through the gospel
    whereunto I am appointed a preacher and an apostle and a teacher of the Gentiles
    For the which cause I also suffer these things, nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto him against that day.

    oh, dear.. in checking through I see I memorized wrongly – he has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel… and yes I have trouble getting started on the next verse after about verse 9 on… have to work on that (too many wherefores, whereuntos, but, for, who…. which goes where???? ;p )

  4. ok… what have I learned?

    briefly – Paul served God with a pure conscience – I don’t know – I studied it out some, but maybe not enough…. but I thought about – you know, he used to kill people, and he did that thinking he was doing what God wanted him to do. But when God showed him that was not his plan, Paul must have fully grasped the complete cleansing that he received by believing in Jesus.

    Another thing, “unfeigned faith” – I looked at that for awhile – anupokritos – firm, persuasion or conviction, surrender to the truth… and then there is evidence in your life b/c of that trust. It made me stop and think – do I REALLY believe what God says? or do I only say that I do? Does my life show that I am REALLY trusting Him to take care of everything? Well, I hope I’m at least heading in that directions sometimes.

    It’s hard to want to carry on before I get a good grip on that… but I do want to look up more about stirring up the gift, and putting in remembrance…. eventually!!

  5. Okay I am seriously going to do this with you. I am trying to memorize Psalm 37. Here’s 1-3:

    Fret not yourself because of evildoers,
    nor be envious of wrongdoers.

    For they shall soon fade as the grass,
    and wither as the green herb.

    Trust in the Lord and do good.
    Delight thyself in Him and befriend faithfulness.

    Okay, now I have to check and see if I was right:) I am glad you’re doing this. I have wanted to memorize Scripture and haven’t made myself do it. So thank you for the inspiration!

    Okay I was off, it’s dwell in the land, not delight thyself in Him (that’s the next verse) AH! I will get better I hope:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

