Posted by: bellissimanh | December 11, 2008

Mary Did You Know?

 Luke 2:22-35

 22 Now when the days of her purification according to the law of Moses were completed, they brought Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord 23 (as it is written in the law of the Lord, “Every male who opens the womb shall be called holy to the LORD”),[b] 24 and to offer a sacrifice according to what is said in the law of the Lord, “A pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons.”[c]

   
25 And behold, there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon, and this man was just and devout, waiting for the Consolation of Israel, and the Holy Spirit was upon him. 26 And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. 27 So he came by the Spirit into the temple. And when the parents brought in the Child Jesus, to do for Him according to the custom of the law, 28 he took Him up in his arms and blessed God and said:
       29 “ Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace,
      According to Your word;
       30 For my eyes have seen Your salvation
       31 Which You have prepared before the face of all peoples,
       32 A light to bring revelation to the Gentiles,
      And the glory of Your people Israel.”

33 And Joseph and His mother[d] marveled at those things which were spoken of Him. 34 Then Simeon blessed them, and said to Mary His mother, “Behold, this Child is destined for the fall and rising of many in Israel, and for a sign which will be spoken against 35 (yes, a sword will pierce through your own soul also), that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”

 

One part of Simeon’s story that gets me every time is that statement made to Mary. The end of verse 35 reads, “And a sword will pierce your own soul too.” I’ve always wondered how much Mary knew. She knew that her baby was the Messiah, but did she understand what that meant? Or did she, like the disciples, think that He had come to save the Jews through some military victory? Did she assume He was here to overthrow Rome, or did she realize that He was going to overthrow sin and death? When the three wise men brought her their gifts, how her heart must have thrilled at the gold – a gift fit for royalty! As she lifted the flask of frankincense to her face and breathed in the scent did a smile come to her face as she recognized as the aroma so frequently associated with worship? But myrrh… that was a spice used to prepare a body for burial. Did her heart jump to her throat when she saw this gift, or was she simply puzzled… intrigued?

Although we picture them at the manger, the wise men actually didn’t appear until about three years after Jesus’ birth. When presented with that gift of Myrrh… I’ve always wondered if Mary remembered Simeon’s words to her in the temple that day, “And a sword will pierce your own soul too.” I can’t think of anything more difficult than losing a child. Did she put it together? The gift of the burial spice and Simeon’s comment about her own grief in relation to her baby boy? Yet she knew… she knew that God had a plan and she trusted in it. In Him.

Give me her faith and trusting heart, Lord. Help me to walk forward in obedience to You, even when I don’t fully understand. I may not know what tomorrow holds, but I do know that it is held safely in Your hands… help me to rest in Your love for me and Your perfect provision. You always know what’s best, Lord. You provide me with exactly what I need, whether finanacially, emotionally, or spiritually. You have my best interests at heart, more than anyone else, and You have promised that You’re working all things together for my good and Your glory. You’re using it all to shape me into the woman You’ve created me to be. Father, bring us a deeper understanding of this today… as we focus on the birth of Jesus, help us to remember that the baby in the manger is only part of Your plan. He grew up to give His life for ours. And even now, Your plan continues on… not just in the huge scheme of things — our salvation — but also in the other things of our lives… the things we’re tempted to think are too insignificant for You to concern Yourself with. But I know that the One who knows the exact number of hairs on my head must care about everything that concerns me… big or small. Bless my sisters today, Lord. Give us all a fresh glimpse of Your glory. Where there are hurting hearts, bring comfort. Where there is physical ailment, bring healing. Where there is anxiety, bring peace. Where there is anger, bring forgiveness. Where there is fear, bring faith. Where there is complacency, replace it with a fervent passion for more of You. Father, restore the joy… I love You, Lord. I ask all of this in the name of the Lover of our souls… Jesus. Amen.

Responses

  1. I think she knew enough to say “Yes,” but not everything that would happen. It is her “Yes” that bothers me (see my blog called “Mary’s ‘Yes'”), for often we know/don’t know just what we are getting ourselves into. I suppose that is why we call it “faith.”

  2. Thank you for stopping by my blog..
    I will be coming back to you visit you often..

    Merry Christmas.

    Debbie

  3. You never fail to make me think gf.. thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories