Posted by: bellissimanh | December 8, 2008

Memory Monday

Want to learn more?   Click HERE.

Psalm 119:1-20

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord. Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.

You have commanded us to keep Your precepts diligently. Oh that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes! Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all your commandments. I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments. I will keep Your statutes; oh, do not forsake me utterly!

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your Word. With my whole heart I have sought You. Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments. Your Word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You. Blessed are You, O LORD! Teach me Your statutes!

With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Your precepts and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word.

Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I might live and keep Your Word.

Father, apart from Your mercy, I am nothing. But for Your grace, I wouldn’t even draw breath. My entire being rests in Your hands. Teach me to dwell in a place of complete and utter dependence on You.  I say it with my mouth, but let it be evident in my life, Lord… make it so true of me that others are amazed at the trust I have in You. Forgive me for acting as if it all depends upon me. You are everything, Lord.

Open my eyes that I may see wondrous things from Your law.

How I love that Your Word is alive! You can speak a fresh lesson through even the most familiar passage. As I meditate on Your Word, give me eyes to see and ears to hear what You have for me. You have promised that when I call on You, You will answer and tell me great and unsearchable things I do not know. I need Your truth, Lord. It would be easy to live by emotions, but it would be false. Your Word is a gauge that can measure my circumstances and balance my emotions. Let me live in light of Your word, rather than how I might feel about any given situation. Your Word is life to me, Lord. Thank You for this beautiful and powerful love letter You have given me. Help me to understand it by the power of Your Spirit.

I am a stranger to the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me.

Help me to remember that this world is not my home. Keep me from becoming comfortable here or complacent, Jesus.  Give me daily reminders that I am in this world, but not of it. Let me be different from those who don’t know You, Father… let me be light in this dark world and be used of You to draw others into Your glorious kingdom, that we might one day share eternity in Heaven with You.

You’ve made it abundantly clear what You expect of me, Lord. Your Word is not hidden from me, but is out there – ready for the taking. Help me to give Your Word the priority it deserves. Thank You for prompting me to begin this journey of memorization. Thank You for teaching me as we share sweet communion together, thank You for blessing me as I chew on Your law. Thank You for giving me in it everything I need for life and godliness. What a treasure I have in Your holy Scriptures! Let me never take it for granted, Lord!

My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times.

Give me a steadfastness in my pursuit of taking Your Word and making it part of me. The more time I spend in it and with You, the more I desire to linger. Give me a pure and holy passion to so familiarize myself with Your truth that it fills me up and comes out my pores. When I react to something, may it be the reaction You would have me give… may it flow from a heart that has so committed to obeying Your Word that any other avenue is just not an option. As desperate as I am for You now, give me an even deeper hunger and thirst for You, Lord. Like an addiction that cannot be denied, grant me a heart that seeks You alone. Your love for me is so pure… so vivid and consuming. Make mine likewise, Father. I love You… help me to love You more.

Responses

  1. how can I comment? I feel like I’m treading on holy ground. I know that God will grant you the desire of your heart.

    I didn’t comment on the one before – about when this or that happens – to God’s word I will go…. I really liked that – it’s been my goal lately. Whatever comes up – to look to his Word, for in it are my answers and life’s greatest treasures.

  2. ok… now I’ll try to see if I can remember what I’m trying to memorize!! 😉

    II Timothy

    Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ, according to the promise of life that is in Christ Jesus.

    To Timothy, my dearly beloved son. Grace, mercy, and peace from God our Father, and Jesus Christ our Lord.

    I thank God whom I serve from my forefathers with a pure conscience, that without ceasing I have remembrance of you in my prayers night and day,

    Greatly desiring to see you, being mindful of your tears, that I may be filled with joy,

    when I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in you, which first dwelt in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded that in you also,

    Wherefore, I put in you in remembrance, that you stir up the gift of God that is in you by the laying on of my hands,

    for God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power, and love, and of a sound mind.

    (ok, I had to peek twice… 😦 – hopefully better next time.)

    you’re doing great!!! keep it up!!!

  3. Great job, Jonalie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

