Posted by: bellissimanh | December 3, 2008

She’s a Mad Woman

That has GOT to be what a certain gentleman was thinking of me one recent morning.

Our choir is in the midst of practicing for our Christmas Cantata, which means that I am in the midst of practicing conducting our Christmas Cantata. I am not an educated musician by any means. I know enough piano to get by. I can read the treble clef, but not the base (so I have the notes all pencilled in by letter over each part). I have a feel for music, but not a very good technical working knowledge. I love to sing, but it comes more from my heart than from any trained vocal background. Our choir is made up of similar “musicians”… although we do have a couple who are more experienced. 🙂

All of that said, you understand now my need to “practice” conducting. So I do. All the time. Mostly in my car as I drive. I stick that CD in the player and sing — loudly — as my hands flail through the air, attempting to keep rhythm. The places where the time signature changes are challenging, as are those pesky little “ritards”. But I don’t want to let the choir down, and so I rehearse. I have this fear of bringing them in at the wrong time and feeling awful. Truly. Like a bad dream you can’t wake up from, ya know?

Anyway, one recent Sunday morning as I was making my way to church, I found myself at a red light. The music hit a very dramatic point and I was singing away and conducting with my right hand. As the music reached a crescendo, so did my movements. Thanks to the red light, I was even able to use both hands! I’m telling you, I was filled with passion. My voice was strong and my movements matched the fevered emotion of my singing.

At that moment, the nicest thing happened. A quick glance in the mirror revealed a gentle face smiling and waving at me. I thought to myself, “Hmmm. Who’s that?” I smiled and waved back, thinking that although I didn’t recognize him, we had shared a nice moment and it was a great way to start a morning filled with worship.

I realized then that the light had turned green. He wasn’t smiling and waving because he knew me… he was waiting to move through the intersection and I was holding things up. I still consider the exchange a gift from above though, because he was very sweet about it! The smile seemed genuine, and I count it a blessing that there was not even a hint of road range or even irritation.

Maybe he was just a very nice man. More probably he was scared of me.

“She’s a mad woman!” That thought HAD to have crossed his mind! ROFL

I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that I laughed solidly the whole way to church that morning. Even as I think about it now, it just cracks me UP! No one can tell me that my Father doesn’t have a GREAT sense of humor! I’m thankful the gentleman (don’t you agree that is such an accurate description of this man?) in the car behind me had one too.

On a more serious note, I’m happy to be a fool for Christ. 🙂

“For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness.” (1 Corinthians 3:19)

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:18)

“For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe.” (1 Corinthians 1:21)

Granted, my actions that Sunday morning could be seen to brand me as a fool, but so too could my stand for the gospel. According to the world’s standards, so much of what I believe to be true doesn’t make sense. Yet I will stand firm in my conviction, and I will do my best to be all things to all people, that some might be won to the Lord.

Even if it means acting like a mad woman, conducting an invisible symphony in my car. 🙂

Responses

  1. Oh, this is a funny post. I think I may burst into spontaneous giggles over the next few days as this comes to mind. And you are right, gentleman is certainly an apt description.

    Kate

  2. Haaaaaa!.. I love you sooooooo!

  3. That is too funny! As someone who comes from a musical family, watching my dad direct the music coming from the radio is something that I saw frequently. He isn’t even aware that he was doing it. I’m sure that he received his share of strange looks, but probably none of the reactions were as nice as the one you received.

    Xandra

  4. OH MY GOSH!!!! I’m rolling here! That is the funniest thing ever. (and something that would SO happen to me!) Oh goodness….I can just see you being caught up in the Spirit!!! So funny…

    Have a great weekend!

    steph.


Leave a Reply

Categories

