Posted by: bellissimanh | December 1, 2008

Memory Monday

 

Continuing on with Psalm 119… up to 16 verses from memory! I can hardly believe it! 🙂

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, those who walk in the law of the Lord.

Blessed are those who keep His commandments, who seek Him with the whole heart.

They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.

You have commanded us to keep Your precepts diligently.

Oh that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes!

Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all Your commandments.

I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments.

I will keep Your statutes; oh, do not forsake me utterly!

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your Word.

With my whole heart I have sought You. Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments.

I have hidden Your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against You.

Blessed are You, O LORD! Teach me Your statutes.

With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth.

I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies as in all riches.

I will meditate on Your statutes and contemplate Your ways.

I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word.

 

Today as I was meditating on these verses, especially the last four (they were this week’s challenge), I took spiritual inventory.

I’m quick to praise the Lord and give Him credit for the wonderful things He does in my life… but I had to wonder… how often do my lips declare His righteous judgments to the world around me? It’s much easier to point to the graciousness of God, and neglect to tell also of His justice and righteous judgment. Am I fearful of turning people off? Maybe… but to dwell only on the grace and neglect mentioning the fact that He is just kind of negates the fact that we are all sinners standing in need of a Savior, doesn’t it? Food for thought.

As I recited verse 15 in the car (yes, aloud), I stopped short. Until I began this adventure of truly committing to memorizing Scripture, I read my Bible everyday, but I’m not sure that meditating on it would be an accurate description of my time and attention to the Word. Often a quick glimpse and devotional reading followed by a period of focused prayer summed up my quiet time. But meditate? That implies lingering over the text… reading it over several times… soaking up the Word and consciously thinking about how it applies to my life… specifically. Drinking it in deep enough to hold me through the day… to influence my thoughts and attitudes and actions. Honestly… until I gave God’s Word the time it takes in order for me to get it branded in my brain… I don’t think the term “meditate” applied to my treatment of this gift the Lord has given me in His Word.

As I finished up this week’s assignment with “I will not forget Your Word,” I can think of this in two senses. In one way, when I promise not to forget His Word, I am revocalizing my commitment to hide His Word in my heart… yet it can have a much broader sense as well.

 

When I feel overwhelmed by circumstances beyond my control, I will not forget Your Word.

When ministry presents challenges and difficulties, I will not forget Your Word.

When the world tries to blur the lines between right and wrong, I will not forget Your Word.

When I struggle with priorities, I will not forget Your Word.

When as a mother I worry about my children, I will not forget Your Word.

When I feel alone, I will not forget Your Word.

When I am faced with ethical dilemmas in the workplace, I will not forget Your Word.

When I am trying to figure out what the next step should be, I will not forget Your Word.

When I am staring down the barrel of gun loaded with temptation, I will not forget Your Word.

When I am confronted with life’s challenges, instead of leaning on my own understanding, I will not forget Your Word.

 

I will not forget Your Word.

Responses

  1. My son is in preschool at our church, and every time they learn a new letter, they learn a new Bible verse. It has been great for me too, because as I work with him on remembering his verses, I am memorizing them as well. It is so helpful keeping the Word close to my heart!

  2. God’s word is so precious and sometimes we do take it for granted especially here in the West. Memorizing scripture and meditating on it is a must for getting a good firm grip on the WORD of God.

    I’m reading a classic right now “Tortured For Christ” in which the Church in Communist Countries have to go underground. Sometimes they get caught and jailed for their faith. During these perilous times for the Christian they would give anything for just one page of scripture in their dark gray cells. Sometimes they are in there so long they forget the scriptures and long to read them again, but they never forget the one who gave the WORD to us.

    Thanks Heather for bringing this to the forefront in a day and time when the bible is mocked and trampled upon.

  3. Great job on memorizing 15 verses!!

  4. What a beautiful meditation on that passage. I have always wanted to memorize that Psalm. Maybe this summer when I have a break from the verses I am memorizing with the girls. Well spoken!


Leave a Reply

Categories

