Posted by: bellissimanh | November 24, 2008

Memory Monday

 

Because I want to make sure that the Word I’ve memorized is fully planted in my mind and heart, I’m going to keep posting this passage as I build on it… until I can’t. 🙂 That way I’ll get to review the verses from the previous weeks in addition to learning the new sections.

So…. here we go…

******************************

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, those who walk in the way of the Lord. Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.

You have commanded us to keep Your precepts diligently. Oh, that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes! Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all Your commandments. I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments. I will keep Your statutes. Oh, do not forsake me utterly!

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your Word. With my whole heart I have sought You; oh let me not wander from Your commandments! I have hidden Your Word in my heart that I might not sin against You. Blessed are You, Oh LORD. Teach me Your statutes.

Psalm 119:1-12

*****************************

It’s really been easier than I thought it would be! I love that the Lord is faithful to honor our efforts when we seek to do as He’s commanded us. My drive to and from work has become my memorization time. I carry my verses on index cards in the car and prop them on the console as I drive. I spend the drive reciting the verses from memory. One of my favorite parts is that as they become more familiar to me, I say them with conviction! Because I’m not stumbling over remembering the words, I’m able to speak them aloud to the Lord, with inflection and emotion. This Psalm is becoming a prayer for me… straight from my heart to the Lord’s ears. There is power in praying the Word, Amen? 🙂

Here’s my set of verses for next week…

“With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word.” (Psalm 119:13-16)

So how about you? Is there a passage the Lord is prompting you to memorize this week? What are you waiting for? Jump on in… the water (of the Word) isn’t just fine… it’s life giving!

 

Click here for more details:  Memory Mondays – All you need to know!

Responses

  1. hey, it’s not Monday – can I stop by anyway! 😉

    My mom said there’s a 97 year old man and a probably early 50 something lady who recite to each other verses that they’ve memorized that week -every Sunday! I guess if I want to do that when I’m 97 I should start now!! (if I live to be that old! LOL)

    II Timothy 1:1-4
    Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ, according to the promise of life that is in Christ Jesus.

    To Timothy, my dearly beloved son, whom I love in the truth. Grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father and from Jesus Christ our Lord.

    I thank God whom I serve from my forefathers with a pure conscious that I have rememberance of you in my prayers night and day,

    greatly desiring to see you, being mindful of your tears, that I may be filled with joy.

    ha… now that I try this I see it’s not as solid as I’d like it to be! 🙂 I’ll keep trying!

    I’m encouraged by your desire to keep memorizing!! 🙂 Have a great day. Love ya.


Leave a Reply

Categories

