Posted by: bellissimanh | November 18, 2008

I’m Falling Apart…

I just spent the entire day on the road with the sole purpose of fixing my ailing body. Ugh. I hate getting old(er)! 🙂

After a quick stop at Dunkin’s for my coffee (hmm… that obsession could be part of the reason for my recent weight gain and subsequent exhaustion), and a swing through the bank drive-up window to make a deposit I headed to Portland to the eye doctor.

This has been a growing saga since the summer. Some kind of infection or irritation in my eyes. Initially it was diagnosed as conjunctivitis. Although I doubted that diagnosis (no pink eye or itchiness), I took the drops. It went away. It came back. I took the drops. It went away.

Two months of smooth sailing. Until a month ago. It came back. Symptoms: swollen lids, pain and tenderness, a bit of weeping, but not gunky stuff. My doctor then decided it was allergy related and prescribed patenol drops ($100 for the stinkin’ little bottle!), instructing me to take them until the symptoms cleared up. It was fine so long as I was taking the drops, but as soon as I stopped, the symptoms returned… with a vengeance.

I finally went to my opthamologist (did I spell that right? Too tired to go find out! LOL) and he said he thinks the culprit is my contacts. Because of course, I stopped wearing them Sunday night due to the throbbing, and my eyes have miraculously been fine since then. Go figure. He told me to leave the contacts out for the next week and a half and use regular eye drops (no expensive patenol – thank goodness!), and no makeup. Excuse me? Do you realize how many times in the next week and a half I’m going to hear, “You look so tired… are you feeling alright?” *sigh* But in the interest of having healthy eyes, I’ll submit. 🙂 

I go back to see him the first week in December and so long as my eyes are fine, we’ll look at ordering new (better) contacts and I can hopefully go back to makeup too. I’ll be thankful for that (along with everyone else that knows me). 🙂

From Portland I drove back home (just over an hour) and met with a massage therapist so she could work out the kinks in my back. I’ve been dealing with some pretty serious pain over the past week or so. Ice and advil have helped some, but not for long. Hopefully Jean’s fingers have worked some magic (along with my prayers) and I’ll be feeling better. In a day or two. Right now I feel as if my body has been sent through the wringer of an old fashioned washing machine and I’m so stiff I can barely move. Hmmm. Didn’t feel like this the last time she gave me an adjustment… I actually fell asleep that time! No… this was more like flinching in pain and trying hard not to hold my breath.

So I’m off to bed with my ice and my advil… feeling a bit sorry for myself as I realize that I am definitely growing older and falling apart a bit. But even in this, I’m thankful for my Savior, who — in spite of how I may be feeling at the moment — is holding all things together. 

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers. All things were created through Him and for Him. And He is before all things, and in Him all things consist. And He is the head of the body, the church, who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things He may have the preeminence.” Colossians 1:15-18

 

And this is the song that’s been in my head all day:

To Him who reigns upon the throne and to the Lamb

To the true and faithful King

Who created everything

To the glorious Son of God and Son of man

Who gave His body and His blood

To take away the sins of all the world.

 

All creation bows

Before Him now

All glory and honor and praise

Jesus, You are worthy!

Jesus, You are worthy!

All power and wisdom and strength

Jesus, all the glory belongs to Your name

So we worship You forever, Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. (((((((( HC )))))))))

    I love you gf and I’m praying for complete and total healing of your eyes and your muscles..

    )))))))))) getting old (((((((((((((

    Guess that’s whatcha get for teasing me for being old.. ROFL!… We all get there darlin

  2. Heather, you’re beautiful without your make-up! (I’m serious!) and in glasses. But, I do hope you get the eye situation cleared up! And the sore muscles. I love you. and am praying for you, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

