Posted by: bellissimanh | November 14, 2008

Praying the Passage

I mentioned some of the tips I use for memorizing over here. One of the things I love to do is pray God’s Word back to Him. It helps me to really digest what He’s saying to me, and also to make it personal… to seriously reflect on the words and concepts and make real life application.

Besides…

“For the Word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

There is such power in speaking the Word of God, and in praying it back to Him!

My passage for this week’s Memory Monday is Psalm 119. I did verses 1-3 for last week, and moved on to verses 4-8 for this week.

 

“Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord.”

Father, help me to live a holy life… set apart and sanctified for You. Help me to behave in ways that honor You and bring You glory. How I desire to walk in Your law, Lord… to know what You require and to be obedient to that. Forgive me for times this week when I have failed to live up to the standard set by Your Word. Forgive me for allowing my selfishness to dictate how I responded to others instead of seeing situations through Your eyes.

 

“Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with the whole heart.”

Give me an undivided heart, Lord! Be my one pure and holy passion… be the center of it all. Help me to testify of what You have done in my life, as well as what is revealed in Your written Word. I truly do come before You tonight seeking You with my whole heart, Lord. Reveal Yourself to me. Take me deeper into Your character. Show me Your will for me. Give me a better understanding of who You are and who You want me to be.

 

“They also do no iniquity; they walk in His ways.”

Oh, Father… I want to be characterized as someone who walks in Your ways! I want others to look at me and see Jesus. I’m tired of walking in my ways, Lord… of trying to figure things out on my own and supplying my own solutions. Give me courage to just trust You, and to follow the path You’ve laid out for me.

 

“You have commanded us to keep Your precepts diligently. Oh that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes!”

Direct me, Father. Keep watch over my heart and nudge me in the direction of holiness as I seek to follow You. Help me to know Your precepts… really know them. Diligence seems to be a recurring theme for me this week, Lord. That word keeps cropping up all over the place. Teach me diligence. Give me the discipline to be diligent when it comes to my walk with You. I want to obey… I truly do. Take me out of the way so I can serve You better, Lord.

 

“Then I would not be ashamed when I look into all Your commandments.”

It can be overwhelming to read about all You have commanded. I look at that Proverbs 31 woman and I sometimes cringe, Lord, because I fear I will never measure up. Help me to remember that because of Jesus, I have been forgiven and I AM holy… yet at the same time, don’t let me ever use that as an excuse to be slack in doing the things I know You want me to do. I know that in following the directives You’ve outlined in Your Word, I will find joy, peace, and rest… that they have been designed for my benefit. Help me to watch every word that passes my lips… even to examine my thought patterns… to be sure that I am not giving the enemy a foothold. I want to be able to look into Your commandments without shame, Lord.

 

“I will praise You with uprightness of heart when I learn Your righteous judgments. I will keep Your statutes. Oh, do not forsake me utterly!”

What a joy it is to learn Your what You want from me and to walk in it, Father. There is such peace in knowing that I am in the center of Your will. I do praise You with a righteous heart when You convict me of an area that I need to work on. It’s like a light goes on and suddenly I see… I see my sin, I see the ways I’ve let You down… but I also see what You want from me, and I am encouraged to know that by the power of Your Spirit, we can do this! I CAN be transformed by the renewing of my mind… I CAN. Thank You for sending this wondrous gift of the Holy Spirit, Who teaches me all things… Who reminds me of what You have said… Who gives me the ability to do all things. Thank You for promising never to leave me or forsake me. I cling to that precious promise… there is not a man on earth that will NOT fail me in some way or fashion… but You, Lord… You are perfect and faithful. You love me with an everlasting love and I am basking in it this evening. I feel Your presence… Your warmth… Your strength. Thank You for adopting me and giving me everything due a princess of the King… the King of Kings. I love You, Lord. I will keep Your statutes!

 

Responses

  1. Thanks and God Bless

  2. Hebrews 4:12 was one of the first verses I committed to memory when I decided several years ago to start a memorization campaign. This is one of the best things we can do as believers…

    Xandra

  3. The Psalm 119 passage made me think of a download available online of Psalm 119 set to music. I have begun memorizing it and it is amazing how much it helps to have it set to music! It has also helped my sunday school students memorize the first passage. Here’s the link:
    http://www.pursuinglife.com/scripture-songs.php


Leave a Reply

Categories

