Posted by: bellissimanh | November 13, 2008

Memory Mondays

  “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.” Colossians 3:16

Many thanks to Joanne over at The Simple Wife for this wonderful idea!

Ok… here’s the deal! The Bible tells us over and over again how important it is to hide God’s Word in our heart, so here’s hoping that repetition and accountability will help us to do just that!

Each Monday pick a passage of Scripture that you will commit to memorize. It can be as large or as small as you like. One week can build upon the next, or you can choose a different selection each week. It’s up to you!

Take the week and work on your verse(s). Then come here on Mondays and post your selection (from memory) in the comments section of most recent Memory Monday. After that, put in the passage you’ll work on for the next week. It’s that simple!

Often I’ve found that the Lord will have me memorizing a particular section of Scripture, and then He uses it in a special way throughout my week. I’d love to hear if He does that for you! As iron sharpens iron, right? 🙂

So what are you waiting for?  Jump on in… the water’s fine!

*******************************************

Tips for memorizing God’s Word…

1. I write the verses out on index cards and take with me. I work on one verse until I’ve got it, then add the next and repeat them both together.

2. Pray the verses as I meditate on them.

3. Have the kids quiz me – this helps me, but also gives them an extra does of God’s Word at the same time.

4. If I’m having a particularly hard time, I’ll try to set the words to music. Having a tune to go along with the Word often helps me remember it better.

5. Writing out the verse several times by hand helps to cement it in my mind.

6. Review, review, REVIEW!

 

And if you still want help… check out this Scripture Memory Mini-Tutorial over at Beth Moore’s Living Proof Ministries Blog. \

Feel ambitious? Jump on board for her Scripture Memorization Challenge! Exciting stuff!

Responses

  1. […] Memory Monday For the official low-down on Memory Mondays, go here. […]

  2. […] Memory Monday here. […]

  3. […] Want to learn more?   Click HERE. […]

  4. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]

  5. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]

  6. […] word (Word?) keeps popping up all over the place… in the music I listen to, in my weekly memorization of Psalm 119, in my personal quiet time, in the various studies I attend, in conversations with […]

  7. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]

  8. […] my last couple of posts (aside from Memory Monday) have been pretty heavy (and lengthy, too!) I thought I’d share with you four of my favorite […]

  9. […] leads me to a verse I’ve memorized in recent […]

  10. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]

  11. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]

  12. […] Want to learn more? Click HERE. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

