Posted by: bellissimanh | September 13, 2008

Does God Love Satan?

This is the question posed to me by my 8-year-old son the other night as I tucked him into bed. I wish I could tell you that I rattled off a brilliant answer and Noah was speechless in the face of my wisdom.

Yeah, right. I thought for a minute and said, “That’s a very good question. I’m going to have to find an answer for you!”

Noah reasoned that since Satan is evil, and God hates sin, He must not love him. At the same time, he knows that God loves everyone… hence the confusion.

Maybe this is a no brainer for some of you, but I really had to consider this before coming up with an answer. I didn’t want to just give Noah a pat response and be done with it… I wanted to be sure that the answer I gave him was based on Scripture, and not just my own thoughts.

Here’s what I came up with.  Satan is often referred to as the enemy.

“Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8-9)

And in Matthew 13, when Jesus explained the parable of the tares, he implicitly stated, “The enemy who sowed them is the devil…”

So what did Jesus have to say about enemies? He told us to love them, didn’t He?

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet your brethren only, what do you do more than others? Do not even the tax collectors do so? Therefore you shall be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect.”

So we’re called to love our enemies. Got it. But does God love Satan? Does that fall into the same realm?

“The Lord is good to all, and His tender mercies are over all His works.” Psalm 145:9

Satan is a created being, so my guess is that he’s included in the verse above.  I’m confident in knowing that my Heavenly Father does not cease to love me when I sin. I’m forever in awe of that. I’m not deserving of it, but His mercy and love abound in my life, in spite of who I am. 

God’s love is not dependent on the behavior of creation. It’s not dependent on what He gets out of the relationship. It just is. His love is one that is eternal and never faltering.

So the conclusion we drew together is that God does indeed love Satan. He doesn’t love what he stands for, or the evil he commits… but God, who is so much wiser than I am, is able to separate the evil from the beloved.

What are your thoughts? Noah and I would love to hear them! 🙂

Responses

  1. Nope. I think you covered it just fine. Now I have an answer when my kids ask that question!!

    Xandra

  2. Oof – I’m glad YOU had to answer that and not me!!! But I like your reasoning 🙂

  3. The clearest, most concise answer to this question that i’ve read so far! Thank you! At last an answer I can understand and with quotes from Scripture!

  4. Have you read Psalm 5:5? G-d does indeed hate Lucifer and his minions. It would be blasphemous, even hurtful for us humans to think G-d loves them still, even when they still roam free and rule the earth and even afflict us. For the Almighty to love them still is like mixing light with darkness, it ain’t right. Jesus was talking about human beings, made in G-d’s image, angels are different.


Leave a Reply

Categories

