Posted by: bellissimanh | August 8, 2008

Pierce My Ear

Thursday, August 07, 2008

Now!

Day-by-Day

Then another of His disciples said to Him, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” (Matthew 8:21)

Often our struggle as Christians is not in deciding whether we should obey Christ but in obeying immediately. We may acknowledge our need to follow Christ and commit ourselves to do what He has told us. Yet when God reveals His will to us, that is the time to obey! God’s revelation of His will is His invitation to respond immediately.

Some would-be disciples pledged their willingness to follow Jesus, but they told Him they were not ready yet. In Jesus’ day, a Jewish man was expected to care for his elderly parents until they died. One man wanted to wait until his father died before going with Jesus. This would be an honorable delay. The man had to choose between this important responsibility and heeding a call from the Lord. Yet God knew this man, and He knew the man’s father. God would have taken care of the man’s father, if he only would have followed Jesus. This was an opportunity to walk with the Son of God, yet the concerns of this life were competing for priority with obedience to God.

Timing our obedience is crucial. Invitations from God come with a limited opportunity to respond. Some opportunities to serve Him, if not accepted immediately, will be lost. Occasions to minister to others may pass us by. When God invites us to intercede for someone, it may be critical that we stop what we are doing and immediately adjust our lives to what God is doing. Missing opportunities to serve the Lord can be tragic. When an invitation comes from God, the time to respond is now.

***********************************************
What a great reminder that delayed obedience is really disobedience. I love what Spurgeon had to say about obedience:
 
“Obedience is the grand object of the work of grace in the hearts of those who are chosen and called: they are to become obedient children, conformed to the image of the Elder Brother, with whom the Father is well pleased.”
 
What a difference it makes when obedience comes through faith, and is born out of  heart of love, rather than one of obligation. Oh, how I want my life to reflect that. I want to be a slave to Christ, but not one who is forced into manual labor. I love the roots of the word “bondservant.” The Greek word is “doulos.” It comes from the root word “deo”, meaning “to bind.”  As a bondservant of Christ, I am bound to Him! Because He has purchased me with His blood, I am now absolutely sold out to His will. I am willing to do whatever He wants me to do. I’m willing to say whatever He tells me to say… I’m willing to go wherever He leads me. I’ve made a choice to serve Him for all eternity, and I WANT to do that… not because I have to, but because my heart is so longing to please Him.
 
I want my will to be completely consumed in His. When that is my heart’s desire, obedience is so much easier! It’s an honor and a privilege to serve Him. I’m so blown away by the fact that He even uses me. I know where I’ve been, and I know who I used to be. What a gift it is that our merciful God chooses the foolish and weak things of this world to put the “wise” and “mighty” to shame, that no flesh should glory in His presence! (1 Cor. 1:27-29) On those days that I feel so weak and undeserving (don’t you have those days sometimes?), it is a comfort to remind myself that in my weakness, He proves Himself strong! It gives me strength and motivation to move forward in obedience because I know… I CAN do all things through Him who strengthens me! 
 
Israelites had slaves, and ordinances governing them. Look at Exodus 21…
 

 

 Book of Exodus
Chapter 21

21:1 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
“Now these are the ordinances which you are to set before them:
 

 

 

 

 

21:2 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
“If you buy a Hebrew slave, he shall serve for six years; but on the seventh he shall go out as a free man without payment.
 

 

 

 

 

21:3 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
“If he comes alone, he shall go out alone; if he is the husband of a wife, then his wife shall go out with him.
 

 

 

 

 

21:4 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
“If his master gives him a wife, and she bears him sons or daughters, the wife and her children shall belong to her master, and he shall go out alone.
 

 

 

 

 

21:5 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
“But if the slave plainly says, ‘I love my master, my wife and my children; I will not go out as a free man,’
 

 

 

 

 

21:6 – [In Context|Original Hebrew]
then his master shall bring him to God, then he shall bring him to the door or the doorpost. And his master shall pierce his ear with an awl; and he shall serve him permanently.
YES!  I love my Master… I will not go out as a free woman. Pierce me ear, Lord!
 

 

Pierce My Ear, Oh Lord, my God

Take me to Your door this day

I will serve no other god

Lord, I’m here to stay.

 

 

For you have paid the price for me

With your blood you ransomed me

I will serve you eternally

Your free one I long to be

 

 

So pierce my heart, oh Lamb of God

Like you did at Calvary

Love so great you died for me

Your servant I’ll always be

(Steve Croft)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 **************************************

We’re off to Searsport Shores. Have a GREAT week, y’all! God bless!

 Heather

Responses

  1. http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=86b0568b4d1bab07ca0f

    i love this song and always have loved the teaching of the ear pierced to the door-post. Pierce us, Lord. We are yours, we CHOOSE to serve you. YOU make us truly free. Who the son sets free is free indeed.

  2. […] on Thu 11-12-2008 China Travel – Site of Yangshao Village Saved by ziobrando on Wed 03-12-2008 Pierce My Ear Saved by dividebynought on Mon 01-12-2008 The expert points out: ⒆ emerges awl of an insect […]

  3. The words to the Steve Croft song “Pierce my ear”
    have been altered. The second verse ends: A free man I’ll never be.
    There is no 3rd verse.
    The changes alter the entire meaning.
    Many blessings,
    Lyn


Leave a Reply

Categories

