Posted by: bellissimanh | June 20, 2008

Everything I Need to Know I Learned at T-Ball…

One of my highlights of the Spring was attending Noah’s T-ball games each week. No matter what else was going on in the world, the one thing I could count on was Monday and Wednesday afternoons. I will be the first to tell you that I am NOT a PTA mom by any stretch of the imagination. I hate school politics and (dare I say it?) chaperoning noisy field trips and fundraising and and all that goes with that stuff. I know… poor excuse for a parent, but there you have it.

What I find curiously funny is that I absolutely LOVE being a “soccer-mom” (or T-ball mom, if you will)! I love hauling my chair from the trunk, bathing in bugspray and settling down to watch my 7-year-old learn the basics of the game. When he gets frustrated, I feel it and empathize. When he gets ecstatic over making it on base, I’m jumping up and down in my chair and screaming, “Yeah! Noah!! Wooooooot Woooooot!!” When he suddenly grasps one of the fundamentals of the game and I can see the recognition cross his face, my heart swells with pride and satisfaction that he has been rewarded for sticking it out, even when it was tough and confusing (first year player, ya know).

In going through photos from Noah’s last T-ball game, I thought it might be fun to chronicle the adventure with the famous mantra, so here it is… Enjoy!

All I Really Need to Know, I Learned at T-Ball….

 

1. Suit up – Make Sure Ya Got the Right Gear!

“Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another and forgiving one naother, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection.” Col. 3:12-14

 

2. Keep Your Eye on the Ball

 

“Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin that so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Heb. 12:1-2

 

3. Don’t Be Afraid to Look Goofy

“Let no one deceive himself. If anyone among you seems to be wise in this age, let him become a fool that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God. For it is written, ‘He catches the wise in their own craftiness.'” 1 Corinthians 3:18-19

 

4. Time With the Coach is Important!

“Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my meditation. Give heed to the voice of my cry, my King and my God. For to You I will pray. My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning I will direct it to You, and I will look up.” Psalm 5:1-3

 

5. Our Foe Can Be Aggressive!

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.” 1Peter 5:8

 

6. Life is Full of Close Calls

 

“Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit’; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. Instead you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.'” James 4:13-15

 

7. Don’t Forget to Celebrate

“But let the righteous be glad; Let them rejoice before God; Yes, let them rejoice exceedingly. Sing to God, sing praises to His name; Extol Him who rides on the clouds, by His name YAH, and rejoice before Him.” Ps. 68:3-4

8. Life Comes At Ya Fast!

“My brethren, sount it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.” James 1:2-4

 

9. Relish Crossing Home Plate!

“For I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayer and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, according to my earnest expectation and hope that in nothing shall I be ashamed, but with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” Philippians 1:19-21

  

10. Keep Smiling!

“I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart; I will tell of all Your marvelous works. I will be glad and rejoice in You; I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.” Psalm 9:1-2

 

Noah – I have so much fun watching you learn and grow! I never cease to be amazed at your determination and spunk, and the way you grab hold of new adventures and give it your best. You love life and you love Jesus – with everything you’ve got. I’m so proud of you, son… and I love you!

Mama

Responses

  1. Speak The Word

    Jesus defeated satan in the wilderness by speaking the Word of God, He said, “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God”. Don’t forget Jesus was very weak and hungry; He was at His lowest, that is when satan comes to you saying it is hopeless, you are finished, it is all over. My friend the devil is a liar. David the shepherd boy said,” God delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear, surely He will deliver me from this uncircumcised Philistine {Goliath}.
    Surely God will deliver you from your problem, so, shout it out “SURELY GOD WILL DELIVER ME” The Bible says,” “Call upon me in the day of trouble and I will deliver you”.

    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. Great photos! It’s nice to see Noah growing up, he’s a mature 7 year old with a bright future (maybe as a baseball player?). Please keep taking photos.

    Take care,
    Doug & Donna

  3. Beautiful! THis is a great scrapbook page for his keepsake album. I love it!!

  4. What a great post! Cute pictures, too. I have to say my love of being a soccer/tball Mom has taken me by surprise as well, but it is so fun! I grew up with three sisters so this whole boy/sports thing is new to me, but I’m loving it!

  5. I love being a “soccer mom” too! This is such a well thought out post. Thanks for putting so much into it and sharing pics of your sweet little boy!

  6. Hey! I found you through Alana and I loved this post. I just got home from our t-ball tournament – we won tonight – play again Thursday – Go Yankees! Anyway, I can really relate to this post.

  7. What an AWESOME POST!!!! Inspired, even! It really blessed me to put visuals with those fab. verses. AND the enemy had to be a girl, huh?
    Hee hee!

    WONDERFUL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

