Posted by: bellissimanh | June 18, 2008

Butterfly or Bee?

I love the way the physical is so often a picture of the spiritual, don’t you? Not too long ago, I posted about my peonies (pictured below) and the lesson I felt God teaching me in finding the purpose behind the “ants” in my life.

Romans 8:28 assures me that He works all things together for my good, and I trust Him enough to take Him at His Word.

I am so thankful that I can sit and study this awesome love letter He has written – to me! – anytime, anywhere… without restriction or fear of persecution. When I think of Christians in other countries who have been forced underground… who daily live in fear of persecution if they are caught with the Scriptures… it makes me even more grateful that there are no such limitations on me. When I think of it.

The problem, I think, is that I don’t think of it often enough. I sometimes take for granted what a gift it is that I have this book in front of me – the Holy Word of God – and that I am free to open it up and pore over it’s pages at any moment.

I don’t memorize Scripture with the fervency of someone who wants it etched into her mind in case she should wake and find herself without the written Word at her fingertips.

“How can a young man clease his way? By taking heed according to Your word. With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments! Your Word have I hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You.  Blessed are You, O LORD! Teach me Your statutes, with my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways. I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.” Psalm 119:9-16

I don’t meditate on the Word nearly as often as I should.

“Oh, how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day.” Psalm 119:97

Let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.” Col. 3:16

I don’t study the Word the way I ought.

“Be diligent to present yourelf approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

“Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live and keep Your word. Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law. I am a stranger in the earth; do not hide Your commandments from me. My soul breaks with longing for Your judgments at all times.” Psalm 119:17-20

Does that truly and honestly describe the condition of my heart? My habits? My approach to God’s Word? My desire for the Word?

As I mulled this over in my mind, I was drawn back to the analogy from nature. I thought of my summer flowers and how beautiful they are right now. I thought of how you often see others of God’s creation attracted to them. It’s not unusual to see a bee or a butterfly stopping by to investigate. Have you noticed the difference between the two?

The butterfly kind of flits from here to there, never stopping too long. She is inclined to give more of a surface inspection, eager to move on to the rest the world has to offer her. So many flowers, so little time…

The bee, on the other hand, dives right in, practically disappearing as it sets its sights on the treasure. It gets right into the heart of the peony and uses its long tongue to lap up the nectar hidden deep within the flower. When it backs out, tiny bits of pollen are stuck to its body, evidence of its adventure into the blossom.

bee and butterfly

Are you seeing the picture with me? Oh, how I want my adventure into the Word to be like the bee, rather than the butterfly! I want to dive in… bury myself in it! And when I back out of it… how I pray that there will be little bits of truth still stuck to me, evidence of my own journey into the heart of God’s Word!

Father, give me a heart to know You and to love You. Give me a passion for Your Word. May my desire and determination to dig into Your living Word resemble that of the bee. I want to dive in and drink deeply of all You have for me… and to be overcome by the nectar of Your Spirit as You speak to me through Your living Word.

“How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalm 119:103

 

Responses

  1. What a wonderful analogy! Heather, you come up with the most awesome word pictures! I too want to be a bee! I know I don’t study nearly all that I can. Just today Aaron was showing me a German family whose parents are being put in prison because they homeschool their children out of the Christian beliefs. We are so blessed. So many suffering out there to hold on to what they know as the truth and walking accordingly… I too need to remind myself of the freedom we enjoy.

    Thank you for this beautifully inspiring post:) Love you lots and lots!!!

  2. Oh Heather, I have felt this way over and over again. Why don’t I seek after His word as my daily bread? I desire His truth, yet find myself “busy” with life instead of hiding it in my heart! Thanks you. Beautiful reminder.

  3. I am all too often a butterfly….although I strive to attain the status of a bee!

    Xandra

  4. Wow, such a beautiful analogy. I have several different kinds of flowers in my prayer garden, including peonies. Now, everytime I see the butterflies and the bees, I will be reminded to dig deeper as I spend time with God in His Word. Thank you, Heather, for this reminder.

    God’s Blessings,

    Kevin

  5. Heather, you never cease to amaze me.. You write so eloquently, yet it is always heartfelt and deeply rooted in God’s Word.. The word pictures you paint never fail to inspire me in some way.. I love you gf!

  6. I love your incredible illustrations! I wish I could write the way you do! Thanks for sharing another great post – I’m probably going to have to link this one up if you don’t mind. 🙂

  7. […] Posted on June 20, 2008 by touchofglory Heather, over at A Woman’s Worth, wrote this inspiring post yesterday.  I encourage you all to check it out and think about what you are and what you want to […]

  8. Oh, that’s great, Heather! What a perfect analogy, and one that will be easy to remember. I feel the same way.

  9. wow.
    and at first glance, i didn’t even notice the bee in the picture. it’s way down there, and blended in with the flower. i wish i blended in with the Word, too.

    this was a great post.
    thank you for sending me to it.

  10. Your blog is really interesting to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of blog owners are guilty of these five mistakes”. http://tinyurl.com/bn4kol9 You will be suprised how simple they are to fix.


Leave a Reply

Categories

