Posted by: bellissimanh | April 24, 2008

Come Away With Me, My Love

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” 2 Peter 1:3

Isn’t that an amazing snippet of truth? Isn’t it reassuring in the face of a world that is changing rapidly and often seems out of control? 

How do we get that knowledge of Him but by feasting upon His Word?

David certainly knew the importance of being in the Word, didn’t he? Even these few verses from Psalm 119 speak to his hunger for it…

89 Forever, O LORD,
         Your word is settled in heaven.
 90 Your faithfulness endures to all generations;
         You established the earth, and it abides.
 91 They continue this day according to Your ordinances,
         For all are Your servants.
 92 Unless Your law had been my delight,
         I would then have perished in my affliction.
 93 I will never forget Your precepts,
         For by them You have given me life.

97 Oh, how I love Your law!
         It is my meditation all the day.
 98 You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies;
         For they are ever with me.
 99 I have more understanding than all my teachers,
         For Your testimonies are my meditation.
 100 I understand more than the ancients,
         Because I keep Your precepts.
 101 I have restrained my feet from every evil way,
         That I may keep Your word.
 102 I have not departed from Your judgments,
         For You Yourself have taught me.
 103 How sweet are Your words to my taste,
         Sweeter than honey to my mouth!

 129 Your testimonies are wonderful;
         Therefore my soul keeps them.
 130 The entrance of Your words gives light;
         It gives understanding to the simple.
 131 I opened my mouth and panted,
         For I longed for Your commandments.
 132 Look upon me and be merciful to me,
         As Your custom is toward those who love Your name.

How about us? Do we love His Word that much? I don’t know about you, but for me… I think it depends on the day. My lips will talk about how I love it all day long… and yet if you were to measure what I say by what I do, although I do believe my life is characterized by spending time with Him fairly consistently, there are some days when my actions would contradict my claims. Oh, I find every excuse in the book to try and justify or explain it away, but the proof is in the pudding, so to speak. It’s so silly, really, because I KNOW what a blessing spending that time with Him is. I know that it sets the tone to my entire day. I know that when I begin my day by meditating on His Word and talking with Him, my soul is sensitive to what He’s doing in my life, and I experience the riches of His favor in a much deeper way. I know all this. And yet still there are days when I hear Him gently calling, “Come away with me, My love” and still I choose to hit the snooze button, or fold laundry instead.

So here’s to a new day… and His mercies that are new every morning. It’s my prayer that as I spend more and more time with Him, it will become more and more difficult to resist His tender voice calling out to me… and the more sweet fellowship I experience with Him, the more I will come to look like Him. And that would be a beautiful thing, Amen?

Ssssssssssssh… listen! Do you hear that? That gentle voice whispering your name?

“My Beloved… Come Away With Me!”

(I couldn’t figure out how to load a GodTube video in here, so you’ll have to click the link above – sorry about that!)

Responses

  1. Reading this gives me encouragement to renew my commitment to a more consisten quite time with the Lord. Beautiful scrupture….

    Xandra

  2. I’ve been enjoying some sweet fellowship with Him as of late by spending time in His word. It is hard to make the time, but it is always well worth it!

  3. You are such a blessing to me. I’m up in the middle of the night rollin’ through my bloggy friends list to catch up and here you are. Inspiring as ever!! I am with you – I’m inconsistent at best, but always the first to say how much I love and need His word. I will say that those early mornings when I choose to unload the dishwasher or fold laundry instead…turning on Klove is a great way to start my day and meditate on His word through song. 🙂 Or I pop on my praise and worship loaded up iPod.

    Miss you!

  4. I am the queen of justification…
    bleh. I don’t know why! What a royal invitation that is…

  5. where has your blog gone?
    😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

