Posted by: bellissimanh | April 10, 2008

“He’s a Miracle…”

God is so awesome! I’ve been blown away by His hand at work in the life of one of my friends this week, and I just had to spread the excitement around!

As I share with you the following, please understand that I’m writing from what I’ve been told… so if you are intimately involved with this experience and I’ve related something not exactly the way it happened, I ask your forgiveness and will be grateful if you correct my rendering. Otherwise, realize that to the best of my knowledge, this is the story as it has happened.

A little over two weeks ago, my friend was devastated to learn that her nephew had had a cocaine overdose. Not just an overdose… but he got hold of a bad batch of cocaine. It was cut with something nasty. This particular batch has come from the southern part of the state and has already killed 4 (?) people.

He was found on the side of the road and taken to the hospital. They assumed he was the victim of a hit and run. In reality, he was pushed from a moving vehicle by a “friend” who was afraid of going back to jail if found with the drugs. The “friend” freaked out when the cocaine began wreaking havoc on the young man’s body. He opened the door, and booted him out of the moving vehicle.

The young man (21 years old) was picked up and taken to our local hospital where it was determined that he’d had a full on heart attack, and had two collapsed lungs. The hospital attempted to reinflate his lungs, and promptly stuck the tube right through them, puncturing both. He was rushed to a bigger hospital, where his family was told he most likely would die. Certainly, he would have suffered brain damage.

Friends and family began praying… earnestly. I began praying… fervently. For days the family watched, and waited, and prayed. And then through the fog of a drug induced coma, he began to respond to their voices. When asked if he was ok, he gave two thumbs up. No brain damage.

I am in total awe of our Lord as I relate to you the next part of this story. This young man is not only going to live… he has been discharged from the hospital and doesn’t even need cardiac rehab. The doctor himself called this a miracle. Holding two medical reports before the family he said, “Here is the report from two weeks ago. This is a diseased, badly damaged heart. These are damaged lungs.” He raised the second report and stated that it was that of a perfectly healthy 21-year-old heart… perfectly healthy. The lungs in the second report showed absolutely no sign of the trauma they had suffered just a week earlier. “There is no medical explanation for this. I’ve never seen it before. You’re totally healed. You are a miracle.

*tears* Yes, indeed. God is so good!

Please pray with me that this young man will continue to be healed… not of the physical damage, but of the addiction that he has battled for years. Please pray that God keep drawing him to Himself, and that he would put a hedge of protection around him… that He would isolate him from the influences that could drag him back into this deadly dance with cocaine… that He would open his eyes to how much he is loved by the God of creation… Abba Father.

“At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived
and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures.
We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another.
But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared,
He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy.
He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit,
whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior,
so that, having been justified by his grace,
we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.”
Titus 3:3-7 NIV

Pray with me that this young man will experience freedom from his bondage… and that the kindness and love of God will save him.

Thank you!

 

Oh, Father God… I am so thankful for the way you have worked in this young man’s life… and in my friend’s life. I thank You for reaching down, cupping her chin with Your mighty hand, and lifting her face to see Yours. I can just picture it, Lord… Your intimate touch. How this family needs You right now. Thank You for being El Roi – the God who Sees… and for being Jehovah Raphe – the God who heals. Won’t You also come and be their Prince of Peace? Come and be Yeshua to them, Lord. In Jesus’ name, I pray… Amen.

Responses

  1. Wow, Wow, Wow!!!!! Praise God!!!!!!

  2. OH Amen!! Praise you Jesus–thank You! What You do is Good. I pray for this one’s future journey–God has something wonderful to follow, I know.

    Thanks for blessing me by sharing this wonderful story, Heather!\holly

  3. “There is no medical explanation for this. I’ve never seen it before. You’re totally healed. You are a miracle.“

    i love when God brings the medical community to their knees. This is wonderful indeed, now for the addiction to be healed. So often, this kind of addiction laughs at death. Lets claim this boy for the Kingdom and KNOW God saved Him for a purpose. love, S

  4. Gracie sings a song she learned in church and I thought of it when I read this post:

    My God is so big
    So strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my God cannot do.

    The mountains are His,
    The valleys are His,
    The stars are His handiwork too.

    My God is so big
    So strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my God cannot do for you!

    We serve a mighty God, amen?

    Xandra

  5. Thank you so much, Heather, for your kind comment today. It was very encouraging!

    Wonderful story. Thanks for sharing something inspirational. Lets hope his life is changed because of it…

    Jen

  6. I’ll be praying for the bigger miracle…the one of spiritual rebirth and renewal. Not that this one doesn’t knock my socks off. Thanks for sharing it.

    Kate

  7. As a nurse, I tell people all the time that we as health care professionals don’t know everything, and when families and pastors are praying with patients before surgery (I do anesthesia) I take every opportunity to be there during the prayers. I need them too! I love this story – it’s amazing! I’ll be praying for continued healing for this young man since God has definitely given him a second chance!

  8. Thank God!! He is still in the healing business. What other physician can do what only God, the Great Physican can do? He must have work for this young man yet to do.

    This just shows we are not done here on earth until God says we’re finished.

    May this young man soon acknowledge the real healer behind his miracle.

  9. Praise God!!!!!
    Awesome testimony!!!!

    Our God is so good.
    Hugs,
    Sue


Leave a Reply

Categories

