Posted by: bellissimanh | April 5, 2008

Amnesia

I recently wrote a blog entry about the new gameshow “Moment of Truth,” and my intense dislike of the program.

 

The other night, I happened to catch an episode of a new show, hosted by Dennis Miller: Amnesia. In Miller’s words, it’s “This is Your Life” meets “Jeopardy”… and in my words, “It’s fantastic!”

 

 

Now this is the only episode of this show I’ve seen, so I can’t vouch for any of the other airdates, but this one in particular… I LOVED!  I like Dennis Miller anyway, but the whole concept, and the fact that the questions didn’t ask anything that could be damaging to either the contestant OR his loved ones sitting nearby… I loved it!

 

If you’ve not had a chance to catch it, Amnesia airs on NBC – Fridays at 9pm. Good clean fun… with no nasty side effects.

 

Not remembering trivial details like “What dress did I wear to my dad’s retirement party ten years ago?” and “What was the name of my sister’s favorite stuffed animal in kindergarten?” are kind of comical. The answers don’t really matter… the history, while entertaining and nostalgic, are not a matter of life and death.

 

This, however, can be.

 

“I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word… Remember the word to Your servant, upon which You have caused me to hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life.” (Psalm 119:16, 49-50)
 

“And you shall remember the LORD your God, for it is He who gives you power to get wealth, that He may establish His covenant which He swore to your fathers, as it is this day. Then it shall be, if you by any means forget the LORD your God, and follow other gods, and serve them and worship them, I testify against you this day that you shall surely perish. As the nations which the LORD destroys before you, so you shall perish, because you would not be obedient to the voice of the LORD your God.” (Dt. 8:18-20)

Your Word is Life to Me
by Travis Cottrell

I am a stranger in this place;
This world is not my home.
I want more than it can give.
I am a desert needing rain;
I’m thirsty for your voice.

The very reason that I live–
You are the Word, my one desire,
An all consuming holy fire,
The very breath that I am longing for.

My heart is desperate for Your ways.
Refine me in your holy blaze,
If that is what it takes to know
You more.

You are the Truth that sets me free;
Your word is life to me.
Only the power of Your Word
Can melt away these chains
That have held me far too long.

So light my fire and let it burn
These shackles and restraints,
And I will sing this freedom song.

You are the Word, my one desire…
You are the Truth that sets me free.
Your word is life to me!

 

 

Responses

  1. I, too, love Dennis Miller. I’ll have to check this one out! Thanks!

    Xandra

  2. Good, clean fun? On network TV? That is rare and something I will check out.

    Thanks for the recommendation!


Leave a Reply

Categories

