Posted by: bellissimanh | March 21, 2008

Moment of Truth

Have you seen it?

This is the  new gameshow on Fox that asks contestants extremely personal questions, daring them to tell the truth. They have answered the questions while hooked up to a lie detector. As the contestant answers each question truthfully, they advance to the next. The questions begin with things as simple as, “Have you ever lied to get a job?” and move on to more personal questions… questions that could potentially destroy reputations, friendships, marriages.

“Do you think you’re a better mother to your children than your mother was to you?”

“Have you ever cheated on your husband?”

“Do you have any secrets that, if known, could destroy your marriage?”

In other circumstances, these people might (probably would) lie about these things… but when faced with the prospect of earning up to $500,000… they seem to have no problem telling the truth, even when it could cost them everything.

How tragic. I listened to about ten minutes of this show the other night as I was working at the computer with the TV on in the background.  That is until Noah, who had already gone to bed, piped up from his room around the corner. 

“They shouldn’t make that show, Mom. It could ruin families!”

He had been listening to the questions, and the effect the answers were having on the family and friends gathered around the contestant… and his assessment of the show was dead on. I shut it off immediately. 

It really made me think, though. It’s so easy for people to lie. Often we will do almost anything to avoid telling the truth.  We have great excuses…

“I don’t want to hurt her feelings.”

“It’s not that big a deal.”

“It was only a little white lie.”

“I’m not hurting anyone.”

We live in a world where truth-telling is nearly extinct. We rationalize, we justify, we even convince ourselves that it’s in someone else’s best interests that we keep the truth to ourselves.  Even in the church, we hate confrontation and will seek out ways to avoid living out Jesus’ words in Matthew 18.

“If your brother sins against you, go and show him his fault, just between the two of you. If he listens to you, you have won your brother over.” (Matthew 18:15)

So often throughout the scriptures God has commanded that we stand for truth, and there is no mistaking the value He places on honesty…

“He who works deceit shall not dwell within My house; He who tells lies shall not continue in My presence.” (Psalm 101:7

“Lying lips are an abomination to the LORD, but those who deal truthfully are His delight. (Prov. 12:22)

“These are the things you shall do: Speak each man the truth to his neighbor; give judgment in your gates for truth, justice, and peace…” (Zech. 8:16)

“Therefore, putting away lying, ‘Let each one of you speak truth with his neighbor,’ for we are members of one another.” (Eph. 4:25)

“I have not written to you because you do not know the truth, but because you know it, and that no lie is of the truth.” (1 John 2:21)

Why do we make it so complicated? Why are we constantly seeking the loophole? And why is it that given the right (or wrong) circumstances –material gain — telling the truth suddenly becomes so easy?

Maybe it’s because we have lost sight of the Truth… capital T.

Jesus began by telling the Jews who believed in Him, “…you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (John 8:32)

He later explained it further: “Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.'” (John 14:6)

Telling the truth really isn’t so difficult. Uncomfortable sometimes? Maybe…. but isn’t it worth it?

“LORD, who may abide in Your tabernacle? Who may dwell in Your holy hill? He who walks uprightly, and works righteousness, and speaks the truth in his heart…” (Psalm 15:1-2)

“…if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.” (John 8:36)

So how about it? Are you ready for your “moment of truth”? Is there a situation in your life in which the Lord is calling you to be truthful and you’ve been putting it off?

Maybe this is the first time you’ve been faced with the Truth — that Jesus is the only way to God. If so, could it be that He is calling you to trust in Him today? That today is your ultimate moment of Truth?

A.W. Tozer had this to say:

“Truth is a glorious but hard mistress. She never consults, bargains or compromises.”

and

“Truth engages the citadel of the human heart and is not satisfied until it has conquered everything there.”

Fill me with Your truth, Lord. Saturate me with it. Teach me to be brutally honest, not just with others, but with myself as well. Expose the areas in which I am hiding behind excuses… those where I am avoiding truth-telling. As I drink from the water of Your Word, strengthen my spirit and ignite a fire in me that burns to see Your truth lived out in my life. Be exalted in me, Lord… whatever it takes.

Responses

  1. Great post, Heather! We have struggled with this recently in a very personal way. It’s so much easier to leave things unsaid and to not deal with unpleasant situations that come up between Christian brothers and sisters.

    Xandra

  2. I love this post Heather! Glad you’re back in the world of blogging! 🙂

  3. Noah sounds so cute, so matter of fact. and so right. I love Tozer’s quote. Truth never compromises. Help us Lord to not compromise. He didnt. When I see things like that, (i never saw that particular show before) it just makes me a little sick. People so caught up in the minute, so out of harmony with the life God intended for them, that they are missing it! Its so grievous. Game shows are sort of like pimps, making money off of people selling themselves. Selling their lives. You know what I mean? So blunt, but thats just how I see it. Great thought provoking blog, as always. I just love your point of view. Keep it coming, sister. Stay on fire for Him… only Him. love, Sarah

  4. Happy Easter, Heather. I enjoyed this post. I’ve missed you in blog world. I hope you are well!

  5. Awesome post!! If you don’t mind I would love to quote some of the points that you made in an article I am writing for a college class.

  6. Quote away, MandyRose 🙂 God bless!

  7. […] I recently wrote a blog entry about the new gameshow “Moment of Truth,” and my intense dislike of the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

