Posted by: bellissimanh | February 29, 2008

Bit of this… bit of that.

I know, I know. I’ve really been slacking in my blogging duties as of late. I blame a couple of different factors (because I can). LOL.

1. We’ve been very busy!

We’re getting ready for our Easter Program at church and things have been extremely busy! Our choir has passed the 40 member mark and we are all working hard to pull things together. It’s been awesome to see how the Lord is prompting different people to step forward and serve in various ways! What a blessing it has been to watch as these brothers and sisters step in and really invest in this presentation of the gospel to our valley! There is an energy and excitement about the work that can’t help but bring a smile to my lips… I pray it is doing the same for our Savior! 🙂

2. We’ve been very sick.

Last Thursday Jas and Noah came down with a fever. By Saturday I was in bed with it. A visit to the doctor’s office on Monday revealed that I have bronchitis and probably a sinus infection to boot. She gave me some good antibiotics and cough syrup with codeine. On Tuesday Joel and the kids headed to the doc’s and got similar prescriptions. By yesterday they all felt much better.

I’m still icky. 😦  They took Z-packs; I had amoxycillin. I’m guessing that might be the difference. Ugh. I can’t remember the last time I felt this sick. 😦 I’m waiting for a call from the doc’s to see if she can give me something else.

ODDS & ENDS…

I got a new car! Well, not brand new, but new to me. I’ve been driving the Subaru since Jasmine was 4. That’s over 8 years. With 181,000 miles on it, I’d say it gave us our money’s worth, wouldn’t you? I am so thankful for that car!

I’m also thankful for THIS car!

Don’t let the picture fool you. This is not a cute little car! It has 18″ alloy tires and 110 cubic feet of passenger seating. Think “sports car like SUV”. I love, love, love it! It’s a 2003 Nissan Murano SL. I’m a happy girl. 🙂

I’ve just finished designing a brochure for work. I work as the marketing director for a local insurance agency. The last brochure we had done cost us $3000 in design fees to a local PR firm. This time around I asked the boss if I could take a shot at putting this one together (we’re in the process of looking for a new PR agency). He said yes, I did it, and he liked it! 🙂 The proofs returned from the printer yesterday and they are sitting on my desk at work as I type this. I’ve not seen it yet thanks to this lovely illness… but I can’t wait to check it out! It was exciting for me to be given the opportunity to take a stab at it, and then to have the boss actually like it. One of the many reasons I love my job… 🙂

I started a new Beth Moore study with my Thursday group this week. So far we’ve tackled “David: A Heart Like His” and “John, the Beloved Disciple.” This time we’re going to do “Breaking Free.” I know this one has been around for a long time, but we’ve never done it (with the exception of one lady who said she’d LOVE to do it again) so this is our next adventure.  We only watched the introductory video this week, but already the Lord is speaking to me through this wonderful resource.

We were looking at Gideon in Judges 6-7.  You know the story.  God calls unlikely Gideon to lead His people against the Midianites. The task in itself must have seemed nearly impossible to Gideon, but then the Lord cuts his army down to 300.  Now we’re talking a whole mess of Midianites to go up against here… even the camels were too many to number! Can you imagine what must have been running through Gideon’s mind?

I can. 

I mentioned above that we are preparing for our Easter Cantata. It’s a pretty large production with many pieces needing to be put in place. Over the last two weeks sickness has gripped our church. We had a rehearsal Sunday with perhaps 50% of our crew. As I have spent time in bed this week, my mind has wandered over the many things that still need to be done. I have worried that so many are down with the flu and various other illnesses. How on earth is it all going to come together, Lord?

His answer? On earth, it’s not. It’s going to take divine participation.

The Lord’s words to Gideon have been echoing through my heart for the past two days. “The people who are with you are too many for Me to give the Midianites into their hands, lest Israel claim glory for itself against Me, saying, ‘My own hand has saved me.'” (Judges 7:2)

I’m not saying that God caused people to be sick in our fellowship just so His glory could be revealed, but I do believe that He may be using this current situation to remind us that He is in control… that He is the One who brings all things together, even church passion plays. 🙂  With so many details left to finish, so many servants sick, so little time… it’s going to HAVE to be the Lord that pulls this off!  God forbid anyone should say, “Look at what Valley Christian Church has done!” The refrain that will delight me most is “Look at what God has done!” He deserves all of the credit, and I thank Him for giving me fresh perspective on that this week.

And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure.  Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:7-10

 

Responses

  1. Loved catching up with you, friend!!

    Love the car.
    Hate that your sick.
    Love that the brochure is wonderful.
    Hate that your sick.
    LOVE ME SOME BREAKING FREE!!
    Hate that I’m not there to take it with you!

    Have a great weekend!!

    Blessings,
    Dori

  2. P.S. Yes, I know I should have typed “you’re” instead of “your” but I hit submit too quick for a proofread!!! 🙂

  3. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Allen Taylor

  4. Glad to see you back on the bloglines. I love the new care. We are big fans of Nissan.

    Hope you are back to 100% health wise really soon!

  5. Welcome back, Heather. I am sorry that you are so sick. I hope you are back to normal soon.

    Love your new car!

  6. My brother has a Murano and he loves it. I just love getting a new car!

    Glad to hear that you guys are feeling better. It’s always hard to be sick when there is so much to do. I will be praying that everything comes together for the cantata.

    Xandra

  7. Hope you feel better soon!
    The car is adorable.

    Blessings,
    Sue

  8. oh breaking free! get ready for a ride… whew

  9. Oh, tis the season. EVERYWHERE. People dropping like flies. Hope you all bounce back soon and are back to normal just in time for spring!

  10. Nice car:) You really ought to break that baby in by going on a road trip over here… you know you’re welcome for dinner here anytime:)

  11. What is it with the illness all over the place? Us too! Seems everyone is getting it. UGH. I hate Feb…glad it is over and hoping March will be better.

    Enjoy that car!

    Loved your reminder – God is in the midst and intervening for HIS glory!

  12. well done, brother


Leave a Reply

Categories

