Posted by: bellissimanh | February 13, 2008

White as Snow

Ok… I’ve always said that if you don’t like snow, you have no business living in NH. People who move here and then complain about the cold or refuse to leave the house if there’s a flake of snow in the air should probably have selected a more timid climate in which to make their nest. New England is NOT for the faint of heart, or for those who whimper when faced with inclement weather.

That said, enough is enough! Even this die-hard Northerner is SICK of snow. At this rate the kids will be going to school through the Fourth of July, and my darling husband is weary to the bone of snowblowing and shoveling rooves and walkways. Today’s storm brought not only 10 inches of snow, but freezing rain on top of it. Ugh.

 img_3094.jpg

 img_3095.jpg

We’re seriously going to pay someone with a bucketloader $100 an hour to come in and remove snow from our driveway. It’s no longer wide enough to be home for all three vehicles.

Our mailbox is gone. Whether it’s been buried by snow or wiped out by the plow, we’re not sure. All we know is we are now having to drive to the post office each day to retrieve the mail.

Today the roof of a daycare center collapsed under the weight of the snow. Thankfully, they had evacuated the building before the cave in.

Our Wednesday evening Pioneer Clubs gathering has been cancelled two weeks in a row due to icy roads. Our ladies’ Bible Study for tomorrow is unable to meet at the church because of snow removal operations.

Much as I love this part of the country, today I found myself grumbling and tired of this white commodity (before you laugh at my characterization of it, try living in ski country, with an economy that depends on the fluffy stuff – *s*)

But I must confess, the snowscape does make for a beautiful picture.

img_1039.jpg

img_1041.jpg

No… not those pictures. This one:

“Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.” Psalm 51:7

“‘Come now, and let us reason together,’ says the Lord, ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow…'” Isaiah 1:18a

I could have worn so many different scarlet letters. D for drug abuser. P for promiscuous. L for liar. S for slanderer. A for arrogance.  Trust me, that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

Oh, but that crimson flood! The river red that flowed from my beautiful Savior’s broken body… it has washed me clean! Have you ever tried to cover up a scarlet stain and make the fabric appear white again? Never by my own efforts… nothing but the blood of Jesus could take away the stain of my sin. I will ever be thankful for this gift of righteousness, and for now… this evening… I will also CHOOSE to be thankful for the gift of snow outside my window that reminds me of what the Lord has done in my life…

 Crimson to white

Responses

  1. Oh, Heather…
    I feel like such a WIMP!! Our kids were out of school today and for what? A little dusting of snow blowing across the road and a wee bit of ice!! We crazy southerners!!!

    Thanks for a great post because I had many letters I could wear, too!!! Praise Him for rolling away our reproach!!

    Blessings, friend!
    Dori

  2. Oh my goodness, that snow! Whoa!!!! We’ve had some bad weather, snow and ice, but NOTHING like that. Yikes!

    “Whiter than snow, yes, whiter than snow,
    Now wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.”

  3. absolutely gorgeous—-so much snow, we only got a little and it seem wow to us
    (by the way, this is my first visit here)
    Cindy

  4. YIKES GF!… I don’t know how you do it.. *shakes head*.. I could NEVER live in that climate..

    **smoooooches**.. Hope you get dug out soon!

  5. GREAT blog, Heather!! I loved it so much. i could have worn an entire alphabet probably of scarlet letters as well, what an application of the stain. I could shout it out but only to see it reappear in the dryer. Praise Him for his cleansing, healing flow. On calvary. I have pics on my flickr that I am going to post, check them out. Its our blizzard of 2008, dont laugh. LOL I want some snow!! Just a little? Sorry you cant find your mailbox, I was dying reading your line, cant find it or it got wiped out by the snowplow. roflol. A sense of humor is probably a good thing for you to have right now. Hope it starts to melt soon. Sending some warm Tennessee air your way.

  6. What a beautiful analogy! There are so many letters that I could wear as well…I’m so grateful for the blood. Thank you for your honesty and thoughtfulness.

    Xandra

  7. I love snow as well, but was having trouble shoveling while slipping on ice and trying to throw the snow on top of the already ridiculously HIGH snowbanks. But then to describe the true purpose of snow, a reminder of how pure Christ has made us. Wow. Thanks.
    Diane

  8. I assume those were pictures taken at your home! WOW! Makes our little winter storm seem pretty tame!

    I love the analogies you share. God is in everything if you’re looking for Him!

  9. Beautiful pictures, even more beautiful word picture. Our God loves us so much. I love His reminders of the love in our day to day life.

  10. THAT is a lot of snow. Man o man! What a beautiful reminder of God’s saving grace!

  11. That was beautiful, Heather. Both the pictures (I know, sometimes too much snow really is awful. I know.) and your word picture of God’s grace given to us abundantly. Thanks for that reminder today!

  12. Awesome! He who is forgiven of much, loves much. That is my story, too.

    I can’t believe the snow you all got!!!!
    GEEEEEEEEz. And I thought our winter was bad… you guys take the cake. Love you!!!!

  13. woooooooooooow,

    dat a whole lota snow

  14. You have a lot of snow at your house! Can’t believe your mailbox has gone missing. We are going to teach Gracie to make snow angels this morning. We just got snow too!

    We love you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

