Posted by: bellissimanh | February 4, 2008

An instrument of His glory…

He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30 

I ran across this quote today and it spoke volumes to my soul.

“The harp-string gives out its note only on condition that, being touched, it vibrates, and ceases to be visible. Be you unseen, transparent, and the glory of the Lord shall shine through you.”  ~Maclaren

Go ahead. Read it again. Give it a moment or two to sink in.

This stirred up so many different thoughts in me. Being a musician, I loved the analogy of the harp.

“…being touched” – Oh, how I have been touched by the love of Christ! The way He reached down into my self-absorbed world and moved me with His mercy and compassion, when I knew without a doubt I deserved none of it… oh yes, I’m touched.

As His fingers played across my HEART-strings, something inside me woke up. Suddenly my life had new dimensions. The days of wandering aimlessly were replaced with steps of purpose; the hope that had died inside me sprang to life as He breathed life into my spirit.

“being touched, it vibrates…” Yes. “Vibrates” describes it perfectly! Humming with life… singing a new song!

The last part… now that’s where I am now. I want to become invisible. I want to decrease that He might increase. I want to fade away into nothing, so that He can become everything! May His glory shine through me! Make it so, Lord!

Responses

  1. What a great analogy! Thanks for sharing this morning…

    Xandra

  2. AMEN! Loved the visual – it’s so true. Thank God He is continually touching me; dealing with me; until I am that transparent follower, shining His light for all to be warmed by. Great toughts for today.

  3. He does! He shines through you, Heather!

  4. This is my first time to comment. Hope you don’t mind! I learned of your blog through Sarah.

    I really enjoyed reading this post! What a beautiful analogy. I’ve been having some of those same thoughts.

  5. Hey!
    We’re back and yes, I am 6 ft. under… but I wanted to pop in and say hi. Thanks for visiting while I was gone!
    We’ll catch up more later – for now, it’s time for bed!
    Jen


Leave a Reply

Categories

