Posted by: bellissimanh | January 15, 2008

I Sing a New Song!

 “Then I looked and behold, A Lamb standing on Mount Zion, and with Him one hundred and forty-four thousand, having His Father’s name written on their foreheads. And I heard a voice from heaven, like the voice of many waters, and like the voice of loud thunder. And I heard the sound of harpists playing their harps. They sang as it were a new song before the throne, before the four living creatures, and the elders; and no one could learn that song except the hundred and forty-four thousand who were redeemed from the earth.  Rev. 14:1-3 

In studying Revelation this week, I read this passage and wept.  Something deep inside me resonated with the words as they leapt from the page into my heart. These saints, having experienced the Lord’s deliverance and redemption in a very personal way, were singing a song that only they could sing.

When the Lord brings us through great trials and tribulations, there is born a song in our heart that no one else can sing. It is a song He gives to us alone. The melody results from going through the fire with Him, from experiencing His hand in our life in a way that is totally unique to us. Only the one who has felt the gentle touch of the Father in the midst of tribulation can truly understand the song that celebrates the victory experienced when the Lord graces her life with His mercy and deliverance.

 I waited patiently for the LORD; He turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire;
He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.

Psalm 40:1-3  

The Lord has brought me through many different seasons in my life. Some have been wonderful; some have been tough. There have been times when I have walked away from mountaintop experiences, shouting His praises at the top of my lungs. There have been times that I have felt so battered and weak that I could barely find a voice. In every circumstance, the Lord has drawn me close and brought me into deeper relationship with Himself. Whether in good times or bad, He has been faithful to reveal more of Himself to me, and to put a new song in my mouth. He is worthy of all my praise – all the time!

 I am so thankful that we have a very personal God, and that He teaches us to sing. I love that He relates to each one of us in the way that He knows will reach us. He knows exactly what we need and is faithful to deliver. He has walked with me through some very trying times, and as difficult as they may have been, I wouldn’t trade one of them. It’s in those times that I am forced to rely completely on Him. In the dark days, I can remember that He is my light and my salvation; of whom shall I be afraid? (Ps. 23:4) 

And best of all… I sing a new song. A song that celebrates a Redeemer who would look on me with compassion and offer living water to my parched soul. A song born of knowing deliverance through the intimate touch of my Savior’s love. A song sung from a heart that has learned to trust the Maestro of my life. A song He has given only to me. What a precious gift!

  

 Oh, sing to the LORD a new song! For He has done marvelous things;
         His right hand and His holy arm have gained Him the victory.

Psalm 98:1

  

He desires to give each one of us a new song. Oh, that we would wrap our minds around that thought and hold on to it with all of our being! The Hebrew word for “new” in this verse is “chadash”, and it literally means “fresh.” Interestingly, it’s the same word used in Lamentations 3:23…

 Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23

There is a song the Lord wishes to put in your mouth. It is a song of praise and deliverance. It is a song that can only be learned by you, and it is a good and perfect gift from the Father. Can you hear it? It may be a loud aria, sung with all your might… it may be as soft as a lullaby, barely a whisper from a heart that is clinging to hope. Whatever the song He has given you… let it ring from your heart today. Let the glad refrain rise from your lips to His ears, a fragrant offering to the ultimate Composer…

 Sing!
 

Responses

  1. Good morning, friend!

    I love to come here in the mornings to see if you have blessed us with your words!!

    I love this post. I was just doing a word search the other day because I was thinking about our “new song” and wondering what “old songs” we have to stop singing in order to starting singing the new.

    That will probably have to be a post later this week or something! Because you know how we are — if God teaches us anything we have to get it out on “paper!”

    Have a great day, friend!!
    Dori

  2. I’ve been thinking about this some, too. I like your comment, Dori, on giving up the old songs. It’s true! It’s something how our experiences -which are hard, yet we’d never give up -cause us to loosen the grip on the old songs and turn our hearts to praise him as we see his love and faithfulness bringing us through. I love the song He is writing for me now! Thank you Father! Jonalie

  3. What a glorious thought that only those who have been saved by the grace of God will be able to sing that song at the foot of the throne! Not the angels, not the seraphim….only the elect of God.

    It gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. I imagine the very best worship service, with my very favorite hymns, being sung in exactly the right key and I just multiply that by the largest number my brain can conceive, and that’s the joy we will have at the foot of the throne of God.

    AMEN!

  4. I can only imagine. But even then I am so limited. My mind cannot comprehend just how magnificent it will be.

  5. Thank God for a new song… the old ones sure were downers:) I appreciate the hope you have reminded us of in your post:) Love you!

  6. I love your triumphant…

    Sing!

    at the end of that post. Love it!

  7. Wow! What an awesome post…God bless you!

  8. Amen. Please tell me that picture isnt your backyard. We havent had but a few flurries. Are you reading your Bible backwards this year? Beginning with Revelation? 🙂 would be a good idea probably! all goes back to the garden, right? I have never read it through and am determined to do so this year. -S

  9. LOL, Sarah… the picture isn’t my backyard, but it is New England. We’ve gotten a ton of snow this year! The depth right now is 20″… with 6 and a half coming this past Monday. The total for the year has been close to 60 inches if you were to put it all together. It’s great.. we NEED this (tourism economy)!

    We are moving through Revelation in our morning worship services right now. I expect it will take us the better part of 2008 to finish. LOL. We’re in chapter 14 right now… good stuff!

  10. […] I love some of the lessons I have taken with me. I have previously shared one that touched me deeply (I Sing a New Song!). […]

  11. On 22 April 2009, I was anointed in the Holy Spirit for 3 hours from 6:15pm to 9:15pm. At the last part of the anointing my soul started singing (humming) from deep within. I didn’t know what it was that I was humming as the holy spirit danced with me (picture a parent dancing with a child swaying your arms from side to side). After that my soul hummed (you raise me up-Josh Groban) as I was literally being pulled up, and up, and up to heaven as the windows above me opened and the bright light shone through. The holy spirit was lifting me up and dancing with me. I then I sang out loud these words “shine Jesus shine” and the holy spirit placed me back on the lounge floor. So, yes, considering I had no idea and still don’t know the first first song I sang in the Holy Spirit, I believe it was “a new song” that only God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit and I know. I give praise to God always. My redeemer lives!!!!

  12. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Categories

