Posted by: bellissimanh | December 23, 2007

Christmas Creativity

Life is very very busy here. I’m happy to report that my shopping is done (and wrapped!) and I am now enjoying the season. Still lots of cooking to be done, but I’m relaxed and content. That’s a HUGE deal for me this time of the year! I’m so thankful that the Lord has brought me perspective and joy. He is truly a Wonderful Counselor and my Prince of Peace – in more ways than one!

Recently Joel and Jasmine went to Boston for a checkup at the Shriner’s hospital. The three-hour drive can be brutal… but this trip they passed the time writing.

 For your reading pleasure, here are there finished works. I was pretty impressed! 🙂

The Curve of the Bell

(Joel & Jasmine)

“Jingle,” rang the string of bells outlining the sleigh,

as Santa pulls his reindeer off, up, and away.

I stared down at a single bell lying in the snow,

Left behind from Santa’s sleigh, as into the night he goes.

The silver bell weighed no more than the sound of its delicate ring,

Icy cold and feather light, like a snow sparrow’s wing.

Images danced on the curve of the bell; white as the snow, black as a well,

Santa’s journey from city to town, from rooftops to tree tops, up chimneys and down.

A pristine picture comes into view, somehow I know these things will come true.

Small fists clutching a motherly dress, faces upturned – to their mother, they press.

As she turns from the stockings, a ribbon I see,

A small silver bell… that woman is me!

Through the eyes of this woman, I look down and see

my beautiful daughter gazing at me.

She’ll see her future as I have seen mine,

In the curve of the bell that Santa left behind.

My visions became truth, years upon years,

The bell passed to my daughter, stained with my tears.

A new ribbon adorns it, the old one too frayed;

Around my daughter’s neck it has stayed.

On the curve of the bell, soon she will see,

Just what I did… what she will be.

And my personal favorite… this one is Jasmine’s:

The Season

(Jasmine)

The Christmas season brings to mind

Images of every kind.

Of Christmas trees and Santa’s sleigh,

And opening presents on Christmas day.

But, it’s not about the gifts at all,

Or going shopping at the mall.

It’s all about the birth of a Child,

The son of God, so meek and mild.

He gave His life for us today,

So we can go to heaven someday.

His gift of love, both priceless and free,

Is what Christmas really means to me.

*sniff, sniff* Excuse me while I go grab a tissue. I am so glad she GETS it!Thank You, Lord!

Responses

  1. How Sweet! Merry Christmas!

  2. Precious! Have a Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year!

  3. You all are a talented family – everyone! I think you should print and frame the poems. Jasmine’s is certainly a treasured reminder of her growing faith.

  4. Just beautiful!!!!

    A most cherished gift!

  5. *tears*.. What a precious time for Joel and Jas to spend together.. Both poems are beautiful..

  6. Awwww…those are awesome! I think you have so much to be proud of and yes – she certainly seems to get it!! Happy New Year, my friend!!

  7. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and have a Happy New Year!
    Hugs,
    Sue


Leave a Reply

Categories

