Posted by: bellissimanh | November 6, 2007

God Beholds

It’s finally happened. My firstborn not only has reached the legal age of adulthood, but I have watched an amazing transformation taking place before my eyes over the past few months, and she has truly transitioned into womanhood.

The change has been subtle. In fact, it probably happened months before I really drank it in and started to take notice myself. Somewhere along the line my daughter has gone from being a woman-child to being simply… woman. A young and tender woman… but a woman, no less.

This week she began her first “real” employment in the grown up world, at a bank. When asked how she liked her first day she informed us that while it seemed a bit monotonous, she would LEARN to like it, because it’s a great opportunity and decent money. That spoke to me of maturity.

“The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing; But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich.” Proverbs 13:4

There have been other signs as well… marks of maturity, if you will.

This Miss, who chaperones had to work like mad to keep separated from her boyfriend on a youth group trip last year, was this year (as was said boyfriend),  a chaperone. The youth leaders spoke to me Sunday about how proud they were of my girl and her boy, for being so responsible, so attentive to the children in their respective charges, and so concerned with the example they were setting for the younger ones. They said the change in these two was remarkable and wonderful. I agree and am very proud.

“Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.” 1 Timothy 4:12

This beloved child – no longer a child – who had to be reminded every Sunday to bring her Bible to church, is now taking that same Word and dispensing it to fifth and sixth graders with enthusiasm and relevance. She attacks her Sunday School curriculum with passion and each week is cultivating the hearts of these precious little ones, hoping to instill in them a love of the Savior and a desire to know Him more deeply. And I am sure her students consider her the best thing to happen to their class in quite some time. 🙂

“‘Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’ Amen.” Matthew 28:20

This Sunday tears welled up in my eyes as Jasmine expressed gratitude to her older sibling for taking the time to pray with her that God would make Himself real in her life. I found my thoughts drifting back to a time years ago when I had caught this burgeoning beauty – then the same age as Jasmine is now –  silently watching her grandpa in worship, with tears streaming down her face. When probed for the reason, she responded, “Why can’t it be like that for me? I want to feel that way about God too!” As I shared the story with Jasmine (yes, weeping as I did), I gave thanks to my Father, who has lovingly nurtured this child of mine to a point of being able to minister to her younger sister and encourage her that as her relationship with the Lord deepens, she too will begin to feel passionately about her God.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

I learned recently that the term “bless” is full of meaning… more than I ever realized. The Hebrew word “barak” includes the idea of bending the knee. It makes sense when you think about it. When a patriarch in the Old Testament would bestow a blessing upon His children, they were to kneel before him. Today, as I reflect on the blessing that is Jessica, I humbly bow the knee before the Lord who created her, and gave her to me, and I pray that she will do the same, for all her days.

I never knew this before, but the name “Jessica” is rooted in Hebrew. It is a derivative of the Hebrew word “yickah” and is from a word meaning, “to watch.” Another rendering of it is “God beholds.”

I can’t help but think that God is indeed beholding our beautiful daughter today… mine AND His… and smiling. I praise Him for His faithfulness and His hand in her life. I thank Him for giving me the honor and privilege of watching her grow from infant to woman, with all the stages in between. I thank Him for the precious gift of Jessica.

I love you, Jes.

“Every good and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” James 1:17

Responses

  1. Thanks Heather, very well written and your words are straight from the heart. It’s funny how kids will sometimes surprise us (and themselves) just as I and my siblings surprised our parents by showing what we were capable of as adults. I’m seeing the same from my kids, it’s exciting and rewarding to watch.

  2. I pray that I will be able to write similar words about my boys at that point in our future. What a way to honor your daughter. Beautiful!

  3. Yes, Jessica is growing up. While I miss the young girl she once was, I am so looking forward to continue to see the young woman she is now becoming. What an exciting time for both of you.

    The transformation in the making, while hard at times, is always worth the wait for those whose hope is the Lord. She, while sometimes hard on herself, should know by now how proud we all are of her. May she continue to be a blessing to her mother and those around her. May she always follow the God of her mother making him more and more the center of her life as this metamorphosis continues to take place.

    God Bless Heather and Jessica……. aka Ruby

  4. Oh isn’t it beautiful to see it come full circle! I pray daily that my own children will enter adulthood with the same reverence and enthusiasm for God and His Word.

  5. We are so proud of you both. We have watched Jessica grow into this beautiful
    young women and know that her mother
    has been guided by Jesus, our Lord to be
    there for her and to guide her when it
    was needed, even it was it was rough
    sometimes. Bringing teens up now
    is extremely difficult and only with our
    Lord’s help do parents make it.

    Our love and prayers go out to you both,
    and of course Joel too for being the type
    of women and man you are, we are proud
    to be part of your Christian family.

    We are here anytime you need us.

    Love ya,
    Pat and Barb

  6. Beautiful words.

  7. *tears*

    What a beautiful tribute to Jessica! You have been such a shining example of being a Christ honoring woman to her it is no wonder she has turned out so strong in her faith and love of the Lord HC. You have always been diligent in trying to be the best mother you can be. You took your job and responsibility seriously and it has paid off with having a Christ honoring daughter following in your footsteps… May God bless you as you take your mother\daughter relationship to the next level and add friendship to the mix..

    I love you!

  8. That is so weird…I emailed you about how blessed you must be to be such a blessing before I read this.

    What a beautiful post of scripture interspersed with life…I just have to try that. What a diligent worshipper you are in all you do!

  9. She sounds like a gift from God. What a tender memory regarding the grandfather. I can relate to what your daughter was feeling. Sometimes I don’t “feel” what I see others feeling.

    Great post!

  10. Wow – what an amazing tribute to your daughter. It must bring such joy to see God calling her to Himself as a woman. May God continue to work in her as she grows. Enjoy watching as he does!!!

  11. This was the sweetest things ever! How encouraging to hear such wonderful success and maturity for your oldest daughter. This blog truly did strengthen my heart to hear of such a one so young becoming so passionate about God. What a beautiful start to her adulthood.

  12. Belle, It’s awesome to reaed about how you have slowly seen Jess grow into here “womanhood” both spirtitually and physically. She DOES take after her mother. Brea loves being in her SS class. Thank you and our Father for her.

  13. I love you too <3<3<3


Leave a Reply

Categories

