Posted by: bellissimanh | October 23, 2007

Randomness

It’s been days since I’ve had time to write, and so of course there’s a collection of things rattling around in my head begging to be expressed. So here are some snapshots of the view from my world this past week… forgive the randomness. 🙂

First I should tell you that there has been an addition to our family. Her name is Cynthia, and if I simply told you, you wouldn’t believe it, and so I’ll include graphic evidence. No, no, no… NO. I am NOT pregnant!  A dear friend has just sold her business, and upon liquidating her inventory, saw fit to bless our family with Cynthia. Check her out…

c1.jpg

c2.jpg

I thought for sure that Jasmine had outgrown playing with dolls, but she is having such a blast dressing up Cynthia. We’re all having fun with her, as a matter of fact. The current game around our house is to place Cynthia somewhere so that she will startle the other family members. One evening Jessica came home exhausted, and when she climbed into bed found Cynthia sleeping beside her. Joel walked into the house one night and jumped about two feet because he leaned over to set something on the floor and saw someone sitting on the sofa in the dark living room. Cynthia strikes again! Thanks, Patti… for the laughter and fun this week. We love Cynthia!

***********************************************

Tara was kind enough to bestow upon me the

award! Thank you so much, Tara! That you are blessed by the ramblings of my heart and mind blesses me! The “Change Begins at Home” award is designed to honor people who walk the walk with regards to what they “preach” in their blogs, and who are trying to start in their own homes with making the changes they’d like to see in the world. This is my first ever bloggy title thingy, so I’m not quite sure about protocol and all that, but I understand that I am supposed to pass the award along.  Tara, I’m honored that you think of me this way… you are so sweet! I pray that I will live up to the award’s distinction 🙂  Without further ado, I am thrilled to have the privilege of passing this award on to four women who, through their own writings, have encouraged me and inspired me to live out my faith authentically. They are, in no particular order:

Maggie

Jennifer

Tina

Xandra

Enjoy the awards, my sistahs! Thank you for being who you are, and for letting Jesus shine through you so brightly! How I wish you all lived closer so we could sit and chat over coffee and the Word! 🙂

***********************************************

A couple of weeks ago I read about “Seeds Family Worship” CDs while visiting Alana. After reading her review, I purchased two of these CDs. She had promised they were not corny or cheesy… and that even a mom would love them. She was right! We ALL love them! What a joy it is to listen to your children repeating Scripture word for word… and to have the opportunity to discuss its meaning when you hear them singing… or even humming. These songs have been reverberating in our heads for the past couple of weeks, and it’s such a blessing!

Noah’s favorite: “Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks.”

Jasmine’s favorite: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.”

My favorite: “God, You are my God, earnestly I seek You. My soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land, where there is no water. I have seen You in the sanctuary, and beheld Your power and Your glory. Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You. I will praise You as long as I live, and in Your name I will lift up my hands.”

Ok… so maybe it’s not as catchy without the music, but I’m tellin’ you… these CDs ROCK! 🙂 Check them out… Seeds Music. Good stuff!

**************************************

There is nothing quite like Autumn in New England. The photo at the top of this page was taken about three miles from my house and as beautiful as it is, the colors just don’t pop the way they do in reality. This time of year in our town, it’s as if everywhere you look there’s a scene just begging to be captured on film! Although these photos taken near my home are beautiful, they don’t even begin to do justice to the breathtaking portraits the Lord has painted against the North Eastern sky. That said, won’t you share with me in rejoicing over this day that the Lord has made? He has blended so many colors together to make this countryside beautiful… won’t You join me in worshiping our magnificent Creator today?

 

ne6.jpg

Oh Sing to the LORD a new song!

Sing to the LORD, all the earth.

Sing to the LORD, bless His name;

Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day.

Declare His glory among the nations,

His wonders among all peoples.

ne1.jpg

For the LORD is great and greatly to be praised;

He is to be feared above all gods.

For all the gods of the peoples are idols.

But the LORD made the heavens.

Honor and majesty are before Him.

Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary.

ne2.gif

Give to the LORD, O families of the peoples,

Give to the LORD glory and strength.

Give to the LORD the glory due His name;

Bring an offering, and come into His courts.

Oh, worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness!

Tremble before Him, all the earth.

 

ne3.jpg

 

Say among the nations, “The LORD reigns;

The world also is firmly established,

It shall not be moved;

He shall judge the peoples righteously.”

 

ne4.jpg

 

Let the heavens rejoice, and let the earth be glad;

Let the sea roar, and all its fullness;

Let the field be joyful, and all that is in it.

Then all the trees of the woods will rejoice before the LORD.

For He is coming, for He is coming to judge the earth.

He shall judge the world with righteousness,

And the peoples with His truth.

 

ne5.jpg

Psalm 96

 

 

Responses

  1. Oh how I wish that I could meet with you over a hot mug of coffee too! The things we would talk about…thank you so much for my award. It means a great deal to me coming from you. You have been such an inspiration to me and I am pleased that some of the things I write about touch you as well. It’s good to have such wonderful sisters in Christ!

  2. What a funny thing to do as a family! I am sure you are getting good belly laughs thanks to Cynthia.

    Those trees are amazing! Ours are just starting to turn. They aren’t as pretty as yours yet. I anxiously await the red leaves.

  3. I want to come to New England for Autum! lol We havent had THAT pretty of a fall- yet. Im hoping it gets better, but I have heard the drought we had makes for not such a pretty fall. Im bummed, its the best time to be in the south. Anyways, Cynthia is a hoot! That is so funny, about the startling the family members game. LOL love it! Great, beautiful blog, worshipping the creator today. Have a great day!

  4. The pictures are glorious! I love them interspersed with scripture. Praise the Lord!

  5. Cynthia struck me as a child with a plastic personality… ha ha! BUT I only saw that in the second pic… she looks so .. REAL.

    What if we as believers went beyond just looking real… and climbed out of our self manufactured plastic skin???

    Hmmmm… just an early morning thought.

    And thanks for the award. If we had coffee together, it would be at your house… WHAT A VIEW!

    Bless you, Heather!

  6. LOVE Cynthia!

    Those fall pictures are stunning!!! We have a little color here in Atlanta, but nothing as beautiful as those!!!

    Blessings!
    steph.

  7. Congrats on your award!

    I love that doll – that would have scared me silly if she was in my bed.

    I wanna come see the trees up there.

  8. Thank you! What an honor.

    Great pics! Wow! The one with the fence, red, and church was my fav!

  9. Okay, Cynthia is freaking me out a little bit, too 😉

    Congrats on the award…well deserved!

    I am so glad you are enjoying the CDs. Your favorite is one of my favorites, too.

    I was singing along as I read those, so it translated with music to me 😉

  10. I’m a native New Englander and I’ve been so homesick for the North this year. These pictures do not help! How beautiful!

    Kate


Leave a Reply

Categories

