Posted by: bellissimanh | October 11, 2007

I Am – 3 Times a Lady

Ok, so that’s not the original title, but “When Things Don’t Work Out Like You Planned, Part 1” just wouldn’t fit in that subject line! 🙂

This week’s lesson took a look at how, over the years, the Lord had been preparing Moses for the task of leading his people out of bondage. The Lord gave him experiences that shaped his thinking, his abilities, and his compassions for this people, and molded him into a man God could use in a mighty way.  He does the same with us! In looking back over my life, I can see how the Lord used all of my past, to make me into the woman I am today… a woman He can use… and I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that He will continue to shape me and recreate me into the daughter that He has designed for me to be. How amazing is that!

Lisa pointed out that we are “three times a lady”, because God has:

     1. Placed us in time

     2. Saved us by His lovingkindness

     3. Given us a deep desire to accomplish what He intends in our lives

It’s so exciting to know that not only has the Lord created me for a specific purpose, for this particular time in history… but that He has also spent years preparing me for the tasks He’s purposed for me to do! He has given me the desires… the talents necessary… and built my life on experiences that He knew would work together to bring me to the place of obedience to His call on my life.  “It is God who is at work in you both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” (Phil. 2:13)  And I am so glad of it!

Discussion Questions:

1. It was stated in the Lesson that God has made you “once, twice, three times a lady.” Where are you in this progression? Obviously we have all been physically born, but are you ‘twice a lady’? Have you been born again spiritually? This may be a private matter you’d like to discuss confidentially. If so, email me. If you have already received this gift, write a brief prayer of thanksgiving or testimony.

I am so thankful that I am definitely “Three Times a Lady”!  It’s amazing to look back over my life and see how the Lord has brought me through different experiences that have gradually molded and shaped me into a woman He can use for very specific purposes. He has brought me through tough times of testing which taught me to trust… and I can encourage others with conviction that when it seems hopeless, GOD is enough.  He has remained faithful to me as I walked through painful times of disobedience, and showered me with His grace. I am able to proclaim to those who feel so unworthy… HE is worthy, and His grace is enough to cover any sin!  I have experienced two… yes TWO divorces. I have compassion for women walking through this devastating time… and I know that there is light at the end of the tunnel. There is restoration and healing… and they are NOT alone. I know because I’ve been there. 

 

2. Are you three times a lady? Has God given you a stirring deep within your Spirit to be a ‘deliverer’? Do you have a desire or are you already meeting a need in the life of the church, a particular ministry (such as jail ministry, food ministry, etc.) or perhaps individuals who share common issues?

See #1!

 


3. Do you ever get tired of waiting for that opportunity to do something
worthwhile for God? Do you ever feel God is using someone else instead of you?

There have been times that I have felt this, yes. The Lord had put in me a desire to serve in a particular ministry, and it seemed that time after time… doors were closed. I just didn’t get it. I knew God was calling me to minister in this way, and yet it seemed as if the opportunities just evaporated and He used someone else instead. In hindsight, I can see that while I wasn’t mistaken about the general calling, I just didn’t understand the specific way in which the Lord wanted to use me. Once I found that niche… and began serving Him with my whole heart and confidently, knowing I was exactly where He wanted to be… He blessed beyond my comprehension. 🙂

 

4. What do you consider ‘worthwhile ministry’? Are you like me and sometimes find yourself mistakenly thinking it has to be Big to be Important?

I have such respect for those who serve in “behind the scenes” ministries. EVERY ministry is worthwhile. Honestly, I have never had to struggle with this because it seems that God has consistently used me in ministries that are very visible. Leading worship, leading drama, leading Bible Studies… these things naturally lead me to be in the forefront of church life. Yet I know that there are so many who DO struggle with feeling that their purpose or calling isn’t “big enough”. I guess I would encourage them and tell them that although they may feel that no one is watching… there ARE people who are grateful for their service and consider it to be just as important (if not moreso) than those who work “front and center.” Most of all, know in your heart that the Lord sees everything… every move, every thought, every kindness. It is most important to hear “well done” from an audience of One.

 

5. Have you ever taken a spiritual gifts test? If yes, what are yours? If no, here’s a good one from Ephesians 4 Ministry. Will you take it and come back with a response? Knowing some of you like I already do, I can almost pick out what your gift is before you say it. I can’t wait to see if I’m right!

I have done spiritual gifts inventories over the years. Generally, I am strong in discernment, leadership, and lean toward pastoral gifts (now before I get jumped on, I don’t believe in female pastors – I just mean that I tend to be concerned with shepherding hearts *s*). One of the ways God has used me over the years that I have truly enjoyed is discipleship. I love coming alongside other sisters and helping them grow closer in their walk with the Lord… teaching them how to study God’s Word and apply it to their lives. All the biblical knowledge in the world is useless if it doesn’t transform us and draw us closer to Christlikeness. One of my favorite quotes (I’m ashamed to say I don’t know who said it) is:

“We must remember that the goal of Scripture is not to be learned but to be lived. God intended his Word to be practical truth — a gift that prepares us to do every good work.”

Responses

  1. I love this. I am so glad you are sharing your thoughts during this study.

    I loved your thoughts on the lesson overview. I read, When life adn beliefs collide” a year ago and these same feelings lifted my heart.

    God is in control. He has prepared me for EXACTLY where He has me. Nothing can throw of His plan for my life. There is no plan B!

    I know we so often see this so clearly as we look at the people in the bible because we can see the “whole picture”, but we need to claim these truths for our own lives and where we are today!

  2. I love the title! 3 times a lady… it’s so true! How amazing is our God to have such a purpose and shape to our lives… it just boggles my mind when I try to comprehend it; but as the Scripture says “such knowledge is too high for me, I cannot attain unto it”.

    I am enjoying the study as well and I think this one may have struck a chord enough to be written about;)

    And you can definitely tell you have a ministry in encouraging others to go on to a full life in Christ:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

