Posted by: bellissimanh | October 1, 2007

Psalm 139

 

“O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.  You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.  You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.”

Father God, You know me more completely than anyone else. You see me as I sleep and know the stuff my dreams are made of. In the early morning light, I rise and stumble to the kitchen, putting the kettle on for tea. I reach for Your love letter to me and Your gaze is upon me. I search out its words, finding glimpses of You there… but my grasp of who You are is absolutely nothing compared to Your knowledge of me. You know my thoughts and my feelings… my joys and my sorrows… my pain and my struggles… and the things that make my heart sing. You put the songs in my heart, Lord, and they seem to meet each and every need. When I am sad, Your song of love lifts my spirits; when I am happy, a song of praise rises up within me; when I am weak and wounded, Your song is my strength.

Lord, You are indeed familiar with ALL of my ways. You’ve seen me at my best, and You’ve seen me at my worst. It still blows my mind that You love me just as much in the disappointing moments as You do when I am bringing You the most glory. Thank You for knowing me, and loving me.

 “Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.  You hem me in–behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.”

Thank You, Father, for going before me AND behind me. You prepare the way for me. In Your sovereignty You have ordained the steps that I would walk… and You go behind me, picking up the pieces when I fall, steadying me with Your Almighty hand. I am in awe of Your presence in my life, Lord. I am utterly amazed by the fact that You don’t see me from a distance, but You are completely involved in my life. Your hand is upon me… You are active and powerful in the midst of my circumstances. May I bless Your name for all my days.

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?  If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.  If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.  If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.”

Lord, it is so reassuring to know that there is no escaping You. I know there have been times in my life where it seemed as if I were running away, and perhaps I was… but I am so thankful that You pursued me with a love that would not let me go. It’s comforting to know that not one moment of my life has been hidden from You… that You had Your hand on me no matter where I wandered. In spite of my selfishness, my pride, my self-effort, my rebellion… You continued to draw me to Yourself, to woo me. Your faithfulness and Your love have no bounds. I will be eternally grateful.

 

 

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

You have a plan for me… for my life. You’ve known all along everything about me. You knew that I would be born to a preacher and his wife. You knew that I would grow up in a loving home, surrounded with Your truth. And You knew that I would turn my back on all of it for a time, in some desperate attempt to “find” myself. Sometimes I wish that hadn’t been my road, Lord… that I could have just accepted Your love for me and lived in it. And yet I know that You have used my missteps to mold me into the woman You wanted me to be. Thank You for seeing me, not as I was… but as I could be, with Your touch. So thank You, Lord. Thank You for the loving Christian parents. Thank You for the broken pathway, littered with past mistakes. Thank You for reconciliation and restoration. Thank You that all the rest of my days are written in Your plan for my life. Thank You for whatever they bring. You are amazing, God!

“How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!  Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you.”

Your thoughts toward me. How incredibly unfathomable that You have thoughts toward me at all… but that they are immeasurable? I’ll never understand it, Lord. When I think of even one beach… one small beach… and the grains of sand there… it boggles the mind. The depth of Your love for me is something I’ll never quite grasp. To know that when You were on the cross, I was on Your mind… wow. Thank You for Your promise to never leave me or forsake me. It’s one that I cherish. I love You, Lord. Not nearly as much as You love me, and not nearly enough, but I offer to You all I have to give — my heart… jaded though it may be, tainted by my sinful self, yet filled with the song that You taught it to sing. I will sing Your praise forever, and love You as best I know how. From my humbled heart to Your magnificent one. All my love.

Responses

  1. I love Psalm 139. Our pastor actually referenced that passage during his sermon yesterday. Love your thoughts on how that passage speaks to your heart.

  2. Definitely putting Psalm 139 on the “Scriptures to Memorize” List. I seem to forget how awesome God’s love is for each one of us. And just yesterday in church someone was mentioning how amazing it is that “when He was on the cross, [we were] on His mind”. How good is God?! Always confirming His voice and His messages of love to us.

    Thank you for sharing your prayer and song.

  3. Beautifully written, worthy of repeating.
    Thank you.
    Jen

  4. What a blessing to me this was today. Thank you for touching me with not only His words, but yours.

  5. I love Psalm 139. Its like the Lord speaks it to you and makes it sp personal. Isnt that beautiful? He is doing that to all of us-at the same time. Thanks for the heartfelt blog! -S

  6. Beautiful! I memorized this Psalm once with a mentor; that has been one of the more fruitful exercizes of my walk. It had minister to me and others many times!

  7. It’s my favourite too 🙂 It leapt off the page at me the first time I saw it, perhaps because elements of it have featured in christenings that I have been to. I find it challenging but also reassuring. In fact it gives me shivers down my spine, even just to think of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

