Posted by: bellissimanh | September 20, 2007

From Tantrum to Trust

“I hate this!”

“You can make me accept it, but you can’t make me like it.”

“But I don’t want to.”

“Just leave me alone.”

Ok. enough. I’m done.

I’ve been behaving like a petulant child, and it’s time to get over it and get on with it.

God’s plan is drastically different than mine. I get that. And now I’m done crying over it, whining about it, and wishing it were different.

It’s time to grow up and, as Elisabeth Elliot says, “do the next thing.” And here I sit, ready to embrace the future. Ready to revel in what God has for me. Ready to not only step into the future, but to do it with joy and enthusiasm, encouraging those beside me in the journey. I’m not the only one rattled by change; there are many others just like me. We need each other, now more than ever. I have never craved fellowship with my brothers and sisters in Christ quite like I have this past week, and I can’t be the only one.

I don’t know what the future holds, but I do know that it’s in much safer hands than mine. Today I choose to trust. I choose to place my hope in the One who IS my hope. I choose abundant life because really… why would I want anything else?  This is exciting stuff!

I have no idea what will transpire over the course of the next several weeks, months, years…. but that’s ok. All I need to do is keep walking — one step of faith at a time — and do the next thing.

Elisabeth Elliot relates:

In one of George MacDonald’s novels, he has a dialogue between two men, where one man is very puzzled about what he is supposed to do next. And his friend says, “Well, you just take whatever one step God is asking you to take. Whatever it is that God requires of you right now, do that thing and then you will be given clear guidance.”And the man says, “But nothing is required of me right now.” And his friend said, “Oh, but there is. The greatest thing that can be required of any man.” “Pray, what is that?” says his friend. “Trust in the living God.” That is the one thing required at every moment.

“And the LORD, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.”  Deuteronomy 31:8

“The LORD is my strength and my shield;
         My heart trusted in Him, and I am helped;
         Therefore my heart greatly rejoices,
         And with my song I will praise Him.” Psalm 28:7

I came across a line this morning that struck me as clever, and it really sums up what I feel the Lord speaking to me today:

“The Lord kneads you.”  I’m not saying that God is powerless without us. I know that He doesn’t NEED us, but He chooses to work through us. At the same time, I thought of how in this time of transition, my church fellowship really needs to come together and be there for each other. The Lord is going to use us to minister to one another, and as He does, He will be shaping and molding each of us through the process. According to Romans 12, each member of the body is valuable — “needed” if you will. I pray that as we are also “kneaded” we will continue to be shaped into the image of Christ, having our impurities pressed out and rising to the challanges that lay before us, giving glory to our Father.

So tantrum over. I’m ready to be kneaded. Are you?

“Doe the Next Thynge” (Do the Next Thing)

From an old English parsonage down by the sea
There came in the twilight a message to me;
Its quaint Saxon legend, deeply engraven,
Hath, it seems to me, teaching from Heaven.
And on through the doors the quiet words ring
Like a low inspiration: “DOE THE NEXTE THYNGE.”

Many a questioning, many a fear,
Many a doubt, hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from Heaven,
Time, opportunity, and guidance are given.
Fear not tomorrows, child of the King,
Thrust them with Jesus, doe the nexte thynge.

Do it immediately, do it with prayer;
Do it reliantly, casting all care;
Do it with reverence, tracing His hand
Who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on Omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing,
Leave all results, doe the nexte thynge

Looking for Jesus, ever serener,
Working or suffering, be thy demeanor;
In His dear presence, the rest of His calm,
The light of His countenance be thy psalm,
Strong in His faithfulness, praise and sing.
Then, as He beckons thee, doe the nexte thynge.

                                                               –Anonymous

Responses

  1. I heard a testimony at church last week from a man that participated in a 28 Mile Bike Race. He is a middle aged man and couldn’t keep up with the young people in the front. He got to a “Y” in the road and ended up taking the wrong turn and going 2 miles out of his way. He eventually ended up at a “T” in the road and couldn’t figure out which way to go. This is where he realized he was off the path. To turn either direction at the “T” would have taken him nowhere because he made the mistake at the “Y”.

    My point: Sometimes we can’t receive direction from God because we are at a place we never should have been in the first place. We have to go back to the place where we took the wrong turn and then He can give us direction.

    Just wanted to share that with you. I enjoyed your blog; Keep on keeping on. Keep your hand to the plough and HOLD ON!!!!

  2. Laura, interesting thoughts.

    Thanks for the encouragement and for stopping by. God bless you!

  3. Truly to be loved is to be kneaded….

    Awesome post!

  4. Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog! I am truly enjoying the Esther study, and now that Christine is logging off for the time being, I have a new bloggity friend to visit for encouragement!

  5. I like the idea of God kneading us. So true!

  6. I loved Tinas comment!! Great thoughts to start my day of with. My husband Ernie and my favorite scripture is Deut 31:8 we plaster it everywhere we can. The Lord spoke it to us both in such a beautiful way when we really needed Him. (Or was it when He was kneading us? lol) Its SO weird, (or we are just floating in the same channel and have been since we met!) but I just posted on my friend Tinas blog and told her it was ok if we thow a tantrum every now and then, that He understands. Then I click on your blog and its Tantrums to Trust. Praise the living God! He is so wonderful to speak to us in these little confirmations through our day. Because everything in this life should lead to one thing=TRUST. Everything we face is to make our trust in HIm grow. THATS IT. And whats even more beautiful, we already know the end of this story! The good guys win! WE WIN! Its like a choose your own adventure book and we get to skip way ahead to the end, now we just have to get there. The real stuff is in our everyday walks. anyways, GREAT blog, thank you! -S

  7. Loved that poem… anonymous sure knew what he was talking about;) seriously though, this was as everyone’s said a great post. I want to remember today as I go about, that little phrase – am I going to throw a tantrum or am I going to trust God and do the “right” next thing? Awesome thoughts:)

  8. Tina, yes indeed! A beautiful way of putting it!

    Xandra, I’d like that!

    Sarah, I have missed you SO the last couple of weeks! So glad you’re back! Yes… we do tend to be on the same page lately, eh? How cool is that? 🙂 Thanks for the awesome encouragement to trust, and for reminding me that it’s just the daily warfare we have to contend with (and even that in HIS Spirit!)… the battle is already won! Hallelujah!

    Gina, now if I can only maintain that mindset! “Tantrum or Trust… make the choice!” Great thoughts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

