Posted by: bellissimanh | September 16, 2007

Goodbye and God Bless

My pastor announced today that he and his wife are leaving our church. They are bound for warmer climates and a new adventure. I know God is calling them there (we’ve heard the story of how he was led to this decision and there’s no doubt this has God’s fingerprints all over it), but it doesn’t make the profound sense of sadness and loss any less.

It’s funny. I was just telling my hairdresser yesterday that the one constant in my life is Christ. I’ve lived long enough to know that nothing in this life is certain. All of it can be taken away within a breath. My only anchor… the only thing that can never be taken away from me is my relationship with Him. Little did I know that I would be vividly reminded of that within 24 hours.

I have grown so much under Bob’s teaching. While I know that part of that is God’s timing in my life and that ultimately the Lord Himself is responsible for deepening my faith, Bob was a powerful tool that He used to bring that growth about. Next to my husband and my father, I have more respect for this man than almost anyone I know. I am going to miss him immensely.

My head knows that God knows what is best for my church (and my family) and that He has something even better in store for us. My head knows that Bob is being obedient to the Lord, and that I’m blessed to have had a pastor who lives what he preaches. My head knows that even now, God is preparing the man who will eventually take the pulpit of our church and that He has great things planned for us, abundantly exceedingly more than we could ever ask or imagine.

But for now, my heart is breaking.

Bob and Dawn, I know the Lord is going to use you mightily in the days to come. Our hearts go with you, and you will constantly be in our thoughts and prayers. Thank you, Bob, for being the stand up man of God you are, and for loving on this fellowship the way you have for so long. We will always thank God for the investment you’ve made in our lives. We’ve been blessed more than you know, and we’ll miss you more than you can imagine. God bless you, my friends.

“For God is not unjust to forget your work and labor of love which you have shown toward His name, in that you have ministered to the saints, and do minister.” Hebrews 6:10
 

Responses

  1. Yes Heather our hearts are breaking, yes we are loosing a great friend and a great teacher of the Lord’s word. Remember Bob will always be in our hearts knowing he is being obedient to God and moving on where God is leading him. That may be the best thing to remember him by how he taught us how to be obedient to God and the church fellowship.
    In Matthew 14 v 26-31 NKJV it say’s:
    Mat 14:26 And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.
    Mat 14:27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”
    Mat 14:28 And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”
    Mat 14:29 So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.
    Mat 14:30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous,[fn2] he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”
    Mat 14:31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”
    In other words we need to keep our eyes focused on Jesus no matter what is happening in our lives.
    “God Bless your brother in Christ”
    Robert Budroe

  2. How ironic, Bob! I just replied to Sue’s email and said the exact same thing… that we need to keep our eyes on Jesus during this time. Thanks for sharing that passage! I know that God is doing what’s best, both for Bob and for us… and I want to be sure that we keep our focus on Christ and bring God glory during this time of uncertainty. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by! Nice to “see” you!

  3. Wow, this is interesting to read the other side of this. My husband and I just walked away from the church we pastored for 6 years. It was hard for us, but we knew it was God’s plan.

    We left last spring and just went back to visit this past Sunday. It was so wonderful to see everyone and to hear the powerful message that the interim pastor preached and to see that God has them in good hands. At the same time it is very difficult for us to step back into the church after having led it for so long- we actually planted it.

    God is faithful, He works all things out.
    I would encourage you to have a thankful-encouraging heart (as you do) towards your pastor. Most people did to us, but some took it almost as a personal rejection and that was very painful for us.

    God bless,
    Sue

  4. Sue,

    God bless you for your faithfulness as well, and for your insight.

    My Dad pastored the church I grew up in for 20 years, and then God led him elsewhere. I was an adult by the time he left. While we knew it was God’s will, it was still very difficult.

    I was just telling my husband yesterday that people will have one of two reactions. Most will be very sad, but rejoice at seeing our pastor be obedient to the Lord… but that there are others who will feel almost betrayed by his departure and will not respond well. I pray that won’t be the case, but as I said above… lived through this once before with my own dad, so I know how it can be. I’m so sorry for the hurt that you suffered through your experience. I pray that the love fo the Lord and the love of those who were in the majority helped to ease the hurt of the few who just couldn’t understand. And I pray the same for my pastor.

    Thanks for sharing your experience! I’m so thankful that God seems to send just the right word, just when I need it, through just the right vehicle. 🙂 God bless you, my friend!

  5. Hey Heather!

    I found you! It is hard to say goodbye to a pastor. We’ve had several part-time worship ministers over the past few years and it is a tough adjustment, but each time I can see what God was doing when he placed that particular person there. He is faithful!

  6. Hi Alana! Thanks for stopping by!

    Yes, it’s hard to see him go, but I know that God is doing a work in our church, as well as in his life, and that if we will be patient and wait on the Lord, he will put everything into place. Just wish, in this moment, that I was on the other side of the next six months, looking back. It’s all good, though. God is good… all the time… and He will teach us and grow us through the process.

    Thanks for the perspective. Yes, God definitely has a plan for each of the people He allows into our lives, and our pulpits. Thank you for the encouragement!

  7. “Deep inside this armour”…

    Humbled by your commitment today to join 90 days. Wow. Good warrior company…good company.

    Maggie

  8. Okay, so that was just sad ofme. It was the comment next to yours doing 90 days. Okay, so your still a good warrior and good company!

    LOL 😀

    Thank you so much for those precious words today, Friend!

    Maggie

  9. our pastor left about 6 weeks ago… this was a rattling time for our church body……. and a loss for many of us. but the LORD has already given us an incredible interim pastor and our church body is miraculously growing right now…..
    all that to say, “the Lord directs a man’s steps”. so we’re trusting that the Lord has a plan for your pastor’s move as well.
    blessings
    oh – & i so loved your comment on WW about your husband. that was amazing and wonderful!

  10. LOL, Maggie! I was like… hey… did I sign up and not realize it? Did I post to the wrong thread? *grins* I admire you for taking the challenge, and wish I felt up to it. Will you do it again? Wow. Totally blows my mind!

    Mandy, thanks for the encouragement. It’s nice to know that someone else is experiencing the same thing right now… and that God is blessing in the buffeting. 🙂 And Joel… yes, HE is amazing and wonderful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

