Posted by: bellissimanh | September 12, 2007

Pictures of Salvation

I love that each time I pick up God’s Word, He can show me something that I didn’t notice before. A passage I have read over and over can suddenly come to life once again and give me new reminders of God’s love and faithfulness, even if I’ve read it a hundred times and not seen it.  

That happened to me this week. I was studying Genesis chapter 40. Here’s the scene: Joseph has been thrown into the prison in Potiphar’s house.  While there, he is given charge of the cupbearer and the baker, two of Pharoah’s servants who have also been jailed. You know the story. They each have a dream, Joseph interprets the dreams, and his interpretation comes to pass: the cupbearer is released in three days time, and the baker… meets his Maker.

I was really struck by the picture of salvation found in this one chapter. Each man was guilty. In verse one it says they had “offended” their lord. The Hebrew word is “hate’u”, and it literally means “they sinned.” These men were not unjustly imprisoned… this was a clear cut case of disobedience or misconduct, and both men had rightfully incurred their master’s wrath. Just as all men have sinned and fall short of God’s glory.

Both men were brought to the banquet, presumably on equal footing (verse 20). Both men were deserving of condemnation.  As his dream had foretold, the cupbearer was pardoned and granted a restoration of fellowship and service at the hand of his master. And, as the baker’s dream predicted, he received the punishment that he was due and paid with his life.

We all stand guilty before a holy God (Romans 3:23). As guilty sinners, we deserve nothing less than death and separation from God, and yet God in His mercy reaches down and extends a pardon. Just as with the cupbearer and the baker, none of us deserve His forgiveness, and yet through the provision of Christ, there it is. “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” (Rom. 6:23)

I am constantly amazed by God’s Word. Here in the middle of this familiar tale I found something new. The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don’t know! How many times have I read this passage and not seen God’s plan of redemption woven throughout the verses? How many others are there? More than I can imagine, I know… and I will remain in awe of Him and filled with wonder each time I stumble across one more.. and another… and another. 

I praise Him for making His love for mankind and His offer of forgiveness and eternal life so clear, and for repeating it over and over throughout the pages of Scripture. Joel said it best this afternoon… “Every time I pick up His Word, I find Him reaching out to me.”  Exactly!

Responses

  1. So true! I love Joel’s line! God never disappoints… when we reach out to talk with Him, He always has something valuable and right on time to tell us. Thank God for salvation! I pray it never becomes a common tale to me.

  2. Amen, Gina!

    Searching sinners will always find a seeking Savior!

    (Jeremiah 29:13 and Luke 19:10)

  3. We knew your story but never good have imagined how hard it must have been for you with Jasmine, but the miracle is that she is growing into such a wonderful girl that we all love.
    Jessica will be okay, she has the Lord on her side
    and of course her parents and Christian family.
    God Bless you and your family.

    We love you all.

    Pat & Barbara

  4. Pat & Barb,

    Awwwwwwwwww… I love you guys, too! God has blessed me with such awesome Christian friends. What a privilege to be part of the body of Christ!

    ((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))))

  5. I was just browsing around and i liked your slogan at your header , I have been experiencing rejection since my childhood and only whe i kew the love of the father and ihave discover my identity in Christ that ifelt worth and beautiful and important and….
    God is good


Leave a Reply

Categories

