Posted by: bellissimanh | August 31, 2007

The Giver of Good Gifts

This line from Blackaby’s devotional today — “Are we asking for far less than God wants to give?” — made me think of the sketch Joel and Marilyn did once about “Jenny’s Pearls.” You can read the story here if you wish: http://tpranch.org/pearls.htm.

In Jenny’s tale, it wasn’t so much a case of her not asking for much, but rather one of her holding onto what she thought was good, and refusing to let go of it so she could receive what her FATHER wanted to give her.

I wonder how often I’m like Jenny… how often I get so wrapped up in what I already have that I can’t see the things He wants to give me. My vision is clouded by my own perceptions. My mind works overtime and I tend to analyze things to death. Perhaps God is calling me to simplify… to get out of my own way so that He can step in and grant me things unimaginable. I need to unclutter my heart and make room for the changes that He wants to make in me. There is so much He wants to give me.

Looking back over my life, I can see many times when He asked me to give up something that was precious to me. After initial reluctance (ok… there might have been some kicking and screaming involved too), I gave up. I gave in. I gave it all to Him. And then, in His mercy and love, He took what I gave Him and gave me back something so much richer and more incredible than what I had before. Sacrifice isn’t easy, but when I am able to surrender everything to Him, holding nothing back, He blesses in ways that go way beyond anything I could fathom.

“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” (1 Cor. 2:9) 

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” (Eph. 3:20-22)

“Every good and perfect gift is from Heaven above and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” (James 1:17)

Responses

  1. Isn’t it just like God to give us 100000000000% return on what we give Him? And the funny thing is that we don’t “own” anything; everything and everyone belongs to the Lord in the first place! Good thoughts today. I heard my former pastor always say that the Lord told him to “work with his hands open” – that is don’t hold too tightly to anything, but instead just be a vessel where you can receive and give as God moves.

    I appreciate your thoughts today:)

  2. That is so true… that we don’t own anything. Even our children.

    There was a time when we didn’t know if my daughter was going to live or die. She suffered 3rd degree burns over 90% of her body, and I held so tightly… I couldn’t bear the thought of letting her go. When I reached a place of acceptance, and of realizing anew that it wasn’t my position to question God, or what He allows into my life… the way He blessed through the buffeting went way beyond anything I could have ever imagined. I did NOT want to go through that trial… but had I not, I wouldn’t have the same relationship I have with Him today. In the depths of my pain and fear, He reached out to me and sustained me. He taught me that even if He should call her home, He would carry me through it. He loved me passionately and showed me that as tightly as I was hanging onto her… He was grasping me, and He would never let me go. It was an amazing experience. Trading what I want for what He wants is sometimes a struggle… but His will is always so much more magnificent than what I envision for my life. His ways and thoughts are so much higher than mine… I can’t even fathom. All I can do is trust.

  3. Wow; I didn’t realize that you had been such a heart-wrenching test of your trust in God. But like you said, we wouldn’t have the same close relationship that we have with Him had it not been for the suffering and hardships He has carefully crafted for us to go through.

    Amazing testimony, Heather. God bless and keep you.

  4. wow, that is a great story. Puts it all in perspective! Thanks for the blog today.

    “All we can do is trust.” -Amen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

