Posted by: bellissimanh | August 26, 2007

Worship, or Service?

Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “A person will worship something, have no doubt about that. We may think our tribute is paid in secret in the dark recesses of our hearts, but it will out. That which dominates our imaginations and our thoughts will determine our lives, and our character. Therefore, it behooves us to be careful what we worship, for what we are worshipping we are becoming.” Wow.

We sing it often: “I will give You all my worship…”, but do we really mean that? Romans 12:2 says, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God – this is your spiritual act of worship.”

“Living Sacrifices” – I’ve heard it said that the problem with living sacrifices is that they can crawl off the altar, but the truth of the matter is that although God may call some of us to physically die for Him, He asks all of us to LIVE for Him.

Ray Stedman gives a practical definition of worship:

“Worship is really nothing more or less than being what you were made to be, and doing what you were made to do. When a flower blooms, it is worshipping God. When a bird sings, it is worshipping God. When a plant grows, fulfilling its appointed task with its leafy arms outstretched, it is worshipping God. When a man, right in the midst of his daily life, right where he lives and where he works, right in the midst of those circumstances is being flooded with God Himself, he is worshipping God. The worship of a Christian isn’t confined to those moments on Sunday morning when he gathers with others at church — that is just our corporate worship — we worship God all day long. When in some small, or even obscure, way we become the visible manifestation of God to someone — then we have worshipped.”

Worship is an act of love… and the great thing about love is that no two people express it exactly the same way. When we offer God the best of ourselves, regardless of where our giftednes lies, we bring pure worship… and what a beautiful thing that is!

God has prompted me to look at my life recently and discover exactly what it is that I’m really passionate about. Am I truly worshipping Him alone? Am I using the gifts, strengths and abilities He’s given me for the sole purpose of bringing glory to Him?

Father, thank You for the blessings You have bestowed upon my life. Thank You for loving me, for using me, for desiring my worship. Help me to surrender every part of my life to You, and to give back to You out of what You’ve given me… may my life bring glory and honor to You alone. Amen.

Responses

  1. What a sobering reminder. Thank you for being the messenger today and delivering the message that we are truly suppose to worship Him with our very lives.

  2. I really like your blog and writing style. I am adding you to my blogrool. Keep on keepin’ on!

    “That which dominates our imaginations and our thoughts will determine our lives, and our character.” -Amen.

    -Sarah

  3. I really love your quote about I am worthy because I am loved. Beautiful!

  4. Aww.. thanks, Sarah!

    I’m just now finding names to add to my blogroll. I’ll put you on mine as well. Thanks for the link 🙂

    I enjoy your writing style as well as your thoughts. Kindred spirits, I think. Well… ones with the same teacher, anyway (John 16:13). 🙂

    Have a great time at Campmeeting!

  5. Thanks for the linkage. Good words. Rick Warren’s “Purpose Driven Life”‘s chapter on Worship says a similar thing. He adds that when we are doing what we were made to do, that gives pleasure to our creator, and anything we do that pleases him, or gives him pleasure, is worship.

    That made washing my dishes a whole new act.

    Great thoughts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

