Posted by: bellissimanh | March 14, 2014

Brick by Brick

bricks

Sin has a crushing effect on us. It is such a weight to bear. Brick by brick, we pile on the guilt and shame and wonder if we’ll EVER be free. When we truly recognize the evil that lurks in our hearts, and how abhorrent it is to our God, we can easily become overwhelmed with grief.

Psalm 38[a]

A psalm of David. A petition.

Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger
    or discipline me in your wrath.
Your arrows have pierced me,
    and your hand has come down on me.
Because of your wrath there is no health in my body;
    there is no soundness in my bones because of my sin.
My guilt has overwhelmed me
    like a burden too heavy to bear.

My wounds fester and are loathsome
    because of my sinful folly.
I am bowed down and brought very low;
    all day long I go about mourning.
My back is filled with searing pain;
    there is no health in my body.
I am feeble and utterly crushed;
    I groan in anguish of heart.

All my longings lie open before you, Lord;
    my sighing is not hidden from you.
10 My heart pounds, my strength fails me;
    even the light has gone from my eyes.
11 My friends and companions avoid me because of my wounds;
    my neighbors stay far away.
12 Those who want to kill me set their traps,
    those who would harm me talk of my ruin;
    all day long they scheme and lie.

13 I am like the deaf, who cannot hear,
    like the mute, who cannot speak;
14 I have become like one who does not hear,
    whose mouth can offer no reply.
15 Lord, I wait for you;
    you will answer, Lord my God.
16 For I said, “Do not let them gloat
    or exalt themselves over me when my feet slip.”

17 For I am about to fall,
    and my pain is ever with me.
18 I confess my iniquity;
    I am troubled by my sin.
19 Many have become my enemies without cause[b];
    those who hate me without reason are numerous.
20 Those who repay my good with evil
    lodge accusations against me,
    though I seek only to do what is good.

21 Lord, do not forsake me;
    do not be far from me, my God.
22 Come quickly to help me,
    my Lord and my Savior.

It’s clear from this Psalm that our sin doesn’t just affect our relationship with the Lord, it also affects those around us. David’s enemies were seeking his destruction, but he was also abandoned by those he considered friends. Ever been there? Felt the sting as the people you just knew you could count on to carry you through difficult times turned their backs and walked away?

Yet tucked into the middle of this Psalm full of suffering and sadness is a gem…

“Lord, I wait for you;
    you will answer, Lord my God.” (v15)

I’ve been there. I know the depths of the sin in my own heart, and I know the reality of how it can destroy lives. And if that weren’t enough, there are often others who would love to see me fall, even without cause.

Yet I also know this: my God hears my cries. He captures every one of my tears and stores them in His bottle (Ps. 56:8). He is faithful and just to forgive my sin when I confess it (1 John 1:9) and rescue me (Psalm 50;15).

And He’ll do the same for you. Whatever your struggle – sin, loneliness, sickness, financial trouble – cry out to Him. He may remove the struggle, or He may choose to walk with you through it… but either way, He will answer. Wait for Him.

www.shereadstruth.com

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing — you have a beautiful take on this psalm.

  2. This is such a beautiful post! I love what you said about how sometimes He removes our struggles, but sometimes He walks with us through them. Gosh, I need that reminder so much.

  3. “He may remove the struggle, or He may choose to walk with you through it… but either way, He will answer. Wait for Him.”

    He uses the struggles to refine us, and He always walks with us if we draw near to Him in our times of sorrow. Great post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

